We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel but with some hic cups”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel but with some hic cups”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

First impressions of this charming hotel were great. Good location, 15 minute walk downhill to town. Nice decor, warm fires, friendly staff, excellent food, no need to update to al a carte.
The hic cups - Our room wasn't serviced for two days. We mentioned it after the first day to reception and also told the maid when we saw her. Next day still no maid.
The radiator in our room didn't work. Man came to look at it, nothing. There was a mobil radiator in the wardrobe which we used and this was efficient if we kept the bathroom door open to allow heat from there. We wouldn't have minded if we had just been told that we had to use the mobil heater as the radiator didn't work. Also they charged a single supplement for my sister who had booked a single room. £5 per night, surely you only pay a single supplement if you are the sole occupant of a double room!.
Apart from that everything was fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear Angela T
Thanks for you review I am glad you had a good time. Sorry to hear about the hiccups that you had during your stay we have changed the servicing of the rooms slighty to ensure this doesnt happen again.
Hope you will come again.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    301
    112
    34
    17
See reviews for
83
406
40
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I have given an average rating as I have not actually stayed at this hotel, however I met a friend recently who was staying and we had a meal at the hotel. I cannot fault the staff they were very attentive and went out of their way to give good service. But the food was unbelievably bad......I haven't paid to eat such a bad selection of food for ages..I had mushrooms to start, well one large soft item with little flavour covered in some sort of bread crumbs.....then the chefs special which was cottage pie..which my friend also had........well it was a dollop of some dark coloured sauce with little sign of any meat or identifiable potato or 8 mange tout, same number of carrot batons and a couple of white sliced things which I couldn't even identify

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear Blubblebut
Sorry to hear you didnt enjoy your food. I am currently looking in to this. As you can see from the many previous reviews many of our guests enjoy the food served here at the Lansdown this is a very rare ocurrence.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2013

A very enjoyable visit to Bath and staying at the Lansdown Grove put the icing on the cake.
Also in the hotel were some people we met last year in Llandudno comparing our view of both hotels the Lansdown came out on top. It was nice to speak to other guests a quiz on the Sunday night also a highlight of the weekend and helped us to converse with other guests.

Geoff n Carol Bonsall

Room Tip: All round we were well placed for all exits and no night noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Dear Geoff B
I am glad you enjoyed your trip not only to Bath but to the Lansdown Grove Hotel.
Franck's quiz is becoming quite a hit with all our guests.
Hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton,hampshire,england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Husband & I went to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The first room we got was small and quite shabby looking, rotten window frame, wallpaper peeling in parts with a nasty 'smell' from the bathroom. After complaining to the manager we were given another room, this was better although again in need of some TLC. A general air of tiredness about it, but no 'whiff'. We decided to accept this room. A few minutes later the Manager then offered us one of the refurbished rooms which we looked at and accepted. However, although this room was lovely, clean and warm the bathroom, again was a disappointment as some of the tiles on the floor and round the bath had grouting missing and the grouting round the bath was horrendous. The second floor had a very overpowering smell of air freshener. The food was adequate but not FINE dining and we felt very rushed in what is a beautiful dining room. The staff were helpful and courteous. The whole building, could do with refurbishing. Would not stay here again which is a shame because it could be a beautiful hotel. Shearings, do something about it !!!!!!!

Room Tip: Go for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akd1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Dear Akd1002
I take some of your points onboard but as you said we were happy to move you when you told us you were unhappy.
Here at the Lansdown we have an in house refurb programme where we maintain and upgrade where and when we can. If it is fine dining you after there are some great restuarants in the city centre where we would be happy to recommend.
As in previous reveiews we offer a value for money break.
Hope you enjoyed your break in Bath and saw some of the great sights the city has to offer.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

I have been to the Lansdown Grove twice & both times I have thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I read the Trip Advisor comments before my second visit & I think it is a pity that some are negative, as the hotel is one of the best I have stayed in. The staff were very helpful & friendly (from the cleaner to the Manager!) The room was spotlessly clean & the food was superb. The hotel maintains its character by being "old-fashioned." I hope that it stays that way, because it is comfortable & has charm - whereas some newer hotels may have the comfort...but lack charm.
Thank you to all who work there for making my stay so good.

Room Tip: Ask for a front-facing room. Excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avrilmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Deat Avrilmann

Thank you so much for your kind comments. Its great to see you are one of our many returning guests who leave very positive comments on Trip Advisor.
The lady in the last review said the Lansdown is like a gracious dowager lady of which I think you would agree with. Hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Thank you
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

A bit worried when we read some unkind reviews before we arrived. However we had no cause for alarm. Reception was swift and the staff very pleasant. The food good in a lovely large nicely decorated dining room with a splendid chandelier. Our room was very comfortable and clean and the water in the bathroom was very hot at whatever time we needed it. There were several little lounges all with a real fire in which to enjoy a free coffee after dinner or lunch . The Lansdown Grove is rather like a gracious dowager lady - not ultra smart but relaxing and certainly a welcoming place to stay.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem to you you need to ask for a room near the lift otherwise it can be a long w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruthjohn19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear Ruthjohn19

I love the title you have given our hotel "A Gracious Dowager Lady". The lansdown has
a very long and interesting history of which guests can read about when at the hotel.
Just ask at Reception. Thank you for your great comments I have passed them on to all the team.
Hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our 5 day midweek break.
As other reviewers have said, the rooms are a little tired, and ours being next to the road was a little noisy at times. But they were spotlessly clean.
The meals were excellent, lots of choice, served promptly by very courteous and helpful staff.
We didn't mind the walk up the hill each day, after eating so much good food we needed the exercise to walk it off!
Would thoroughly recommend and return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocoholic49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Elliemay69
I am really glad to see you and your husband enjoyed your midweek break with us.
I have passed on your great comments to all staff concerned. Hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
1,318 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
1,201 reviews
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lansdown Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdown Grove Hotel

Property: The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Address: Lansdown Road, Bath BA1 5EH, England (Formerly Coast & Country Lansdown Grove Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdown Grove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdown Grove Hotel, Bath is part of the architectural history of Bath and one of the oldest hotels in the city, dating back as far as 1770. Bath itself has been designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, and contains some of the finest architectural sites in Europe, most within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is a stone built, grade 2 listed mansion, typical of the period, described in The Times of Friday 13th July 1860 as "one of the most delightful houses in Bath." The Hotel is in a magnificent location, just 15 minutes walk from the historic town centre. The hotel enjoys delightful views over the Georgian part of Bath and wooded hills beyond. The interior boasts high ceilings and elegant plaster work, with 56 bedrooms over 3 floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lansdown Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdown Grove Hotel Bath
Lansdown Grove Bath
Lansdowne Grove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing