We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2013

1st thing to mention is the friendly staff who made our stay enjoyable. Dated hotel but clean and would not hesitate to stay again. 10 minute walk downhill to town, £5 in a taxi to get back up.
Roman baths interesting . Bath spa nice way to spend a couple of hours. Great stay, hope you appreciate your hard working staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxTerrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Dear MaxTerrell
Its great to read you not only enjoyed your stay but you though all the staff were friendly, rest assured they are all apppreciated as I know hard they all work.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed at the Lansdown Grove from 24 to 28 June, 2013. We were booked in for bed, breakfast and evening meal. We had also upgraded to a front facing room and £5 per day for reserved car parking. Our room was large, quiet and comfortable, with a very pleasant view across the city, but the room decor and furniture was very tired. There were 3 comfortable chairs in the room but they were almost threadbare on the front seat edges. We had a comfortable, old, four poster bed, flat screen television and plenty of wardrobe and storage space. The bathroom was clean, but also needed updating. Although our room was very quietly located within the hotel, when we went down for breakfast, or our evening meals, the dining room was always very very busy. Being a Shearings hotel, coach parties were there throughout our stay. Breakfast was adequate but the help yourself cereals were set out in open bowls with a lot of tiny crushed pieces in the bottom. We would have preferred the cereals to be in dispensers and not open bowls. The standard evening meal menu was fairly basic, however, It was possible to upgrade to the a la carte menu and a £3 allowance was offered for starters, a £3 allowance for desserts and a £6 allowance for main courses. We upgraded to the a la carte menu every night for the main course, and on all occasions it was very good, although the £6 allowance seemed a bit stingy. The staff, although very busy at meal times, were courteous and friendly.

On leaving the hotel and turning left onto Lansdown road, a 15 minute steep downhill walk leads straight to the abbey. The Roman baths are almost next door. We walked into the city every day but caught the bus back. Number 2 and 31 buses run regularly and stop outside the hotel.

We would certainly return to this hotel but would try and get a more up to date room.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room, front facing if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeandMoColeford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Dear Mike and Mo Coleford
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We try to offer all our guests a value for money product and upgrade rooms where and when we can.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Weekend in Bath in the July heatwave (phew). A nice old characterful hotel, helpful polite staff, excellent size room with good furnishings and the usual amenities (ambassador suite), but, the en-suite was a disaster zone, bathroom heater thermostat was broken and stuck on max! (a waste of power) the sink had no plug, extractor fan didn't work, the entire en-suite needed updating, In summary, the hotel was good in parts but in dire need of refurbishment. Would happlily stay again if the owners spent some real money on the place, rather than just patch and mend in places.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear Sofitesouth
It was very hot weekend when you stayed and continues to be hot. Its lovely.
Its great to see you were happy with the staff in the hotel. Not sure about the thermostat situation as the heating has been off since the end of May. Will investigate further the issues you have raised.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

It is hard to find a good quality hotel in bath for one night during a weekend period, so we were really pleased to find the "The Lansdown Grove Hotel" who enabled us to have this one night stay. Beautiful georgian house, in a fairly central location of Bath. Tastefully decorated, clean and tidy and with very friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Remember this is an old building, and there are long and windy corridors on different stair levels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buttonsarah222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear buttonsarah222
Thanks for a lovely review ,I will pass on all your comments to all the staff concerned. Hope you visit us again soon.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Just had 4 days at the Lansdowne Grove. Second time there. May I say that every member of staff is excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for them answered all my questions with a smile. As I am allergic to onion I had to tell them in the dining room and they made sure that I had an enjoyable evening meal without being ill. By the way the Lamb was fantastic hope I get it when I go back again. I stayed in room 304 which had the most amazing views so thanks Francc( on reception for all your help. Also thanks to Chris our driver for a very entertaining mystery tour of Bath.

Room Tip: Room 203 if you like a 4 poster and lots of room. Room 304 if you want stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wombat_666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Wombat_666
Its great to see we were able to sort out your dietary requirement and that you though the Lamb was fantastic. I have passed on your comments to the chef.
Franck says thank you and I will pass on your lovely comments to Chris the driver.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We have just spent 4 nights at the Lansdown Grove and were very pleased with the service. Our room was pleasant, we did pay a supplement for a room with a view. The view could have been slightly better for the money as we seemed to be half way behind the main building so part of the view was obscured. The shower in our room was faulty when we arrived but on reporting it to reception repairs were carried out while we were out for the day. Excellent.
Hotel very nice and clean. Decoration well up to scratch. Staff excptional, freinfly and could not do enough for us. Breakfasts were excellent and a good variety of dishes available on the dinner menu every nightevery night.
We would certainly stay at the Lansdown again

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Peter W
Thank you for a great posting. It was lovely to see you though the staff were exceptional I will past this on to all the staff concerned.
Hope to see you agin in the future.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

When booking the break we were informed,that due to limited parking space we could reserve a space at a cost of circa £6 a day. On arrival there is a car park for the hotel at the back which was virtually empty. It would have meant a walk down the hill of around 50 yds but no great trial.
All of the staff were excellent,however, although the hotel states that it has undergone a major refurbishment our room had damp patches on the ceiling and walls, we were unable to move around the room at the same time due to the size. The dinner menu did not vary a great deal and one of the main courses,for which we paid extra, was so small it was ridiculous.
Travel to and from the hotel into Bath is excellent as it is on two main bus routes.
I would suggest that this hotel is ok if nothing else is available.

Room Tip: Do not get a room on the main road I met two guest from different rooms who had been unable to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear Graham L
It is correct that we have reserved parking at the front and a free car park at the back ,When booking you are offered the reserved parking at the front at the cost of £5 a day , there is however a free car park at the back of the hotel but cannot guarantee a space .
At weekends the hotel does get very busy with cars and this takes the pressure off some of our guests who want stree free parking.
I am not sure where it states that the hotel has undergone a major refurbishment I would love to say yes to that one however we have an in house refurb programme that we put in place where and when we can. We pride ourslves on offering value for money here in Bath. Great to see you thought the staff were excellent.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.6 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lansdown Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdown Grove Hotel

Address: Lansdown Road, Bath BA1 5EH, England (Formerly Coast & Country Lansdown Grove Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: £78 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdown Grove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdown Grove Hotel, Bath is part of the architectural history of Bath and one of the oldest hotels in the city, dating back as far as 1770. Bath itself has been designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, and contains some of the finest architectural sites in Europe, most within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is a stone built, grade 2 listed mansion, typical of the period, described in The Times of Friday 13th July 1860 as "one of the most delightful houses in Bath." The Hotel is in a magnificent location, just 15 minutes walk from the historic town centre. The hotel enjoys delightful views over the Georgian part of Bath and wooded hills beyond. The interior boasts high ceilings and elegant plaster work, with 56 bedrooms over 3 floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lansdown Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdown Grove Hotel Bath
Lansdown Grove Bath
Lansdowne Grove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing