We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday at Lansdown Grove Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Holiday at Lansdown Grove Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We have just spent a great week at the hotel, before we travelled I read several reviews so arrived with mixed feelings. However the score is 10 out of 10, we were lucky to have room 309 with fantastic views day and night over the city, beds and room facilities were excellent maybe a little dust in corners but nothing to worry about. The food for breakfast and evening meal was first class, nice to try different dishes. The staff were really tremendous so kind and friendly. We walked down the hill several times but got no 2 bus back very good use of bus passes. If we come to the area again we would have no hesitation in booking at the Lansdown.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front facing the city offer fantastic views and are reasonably quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 173HilaryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear 1731HilaryW
What a lovely review, thank you. I have passed on your lovely comments to all the staff concerened hope to see you again in the future.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    301
    113
    34
    17
See reviews for
83
406
40
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed for a weekend recently and was very impressed with the service from the staff as well as the décor in the communal areas. The evening meals were great quality and the choices were balanced. Breakfast was average for a 3 star but there was nothing really to complain about food wise.

Although quite nice the room was dated as per other reviews, there were stains on a lamp and part of the bath panel was falling off as well as peeling paint on the windows. These little things could be easily fixed and therefore really should not have been overlooked.

However, we had an excellent time and the staff really made it, giving us maps and directions to local pubs. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear RFrances20
Great review thanks.I will look into the points you have raised.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Rooms were clean and beds were comfy. The food was pretty good in the mornings and staff were lovely. Yes the place does need a good update and the decor is rather dated and tired but its still a nice central hotel and couldnt really fault it for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b3cky79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thanks B3cky79 for taking the time to post a review we do try and upgrade where and when we can as well as offering value for money which is something everyone wants nowadays.
Hope you will come again.
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Even though our room was in need of some updating, the hotel in general was nice and clean, food was fair and every day there was something for everyone. Staff was very helpful indeed, they would do their upmost to please you and this made our stay more enjoyable. Location is perfect for getting to the City centre, with a bus stop a few steps away, or a 15 mins walk downhill, or a taxi, no excuses.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariB134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear MariB134
I have passed on your lovely comments to all the staff concerned. Many people do walk back up the hill as well they see it as an achievement when they manage it, I may need to start handing out certificates!! But as you said there is a local bus service the numbers 31 and 2 that will take you down as well as back up.
Thanks
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

spent 2 night solo from the 15th July. very friendly helpful staff.
It is an old hotel with a bit of damp marks on the ceiling but clean.
On a steep hill ( most of Bath is) but even me being unfit managed to walk up from town twice albeit straight to the bar! walk not suitable for aged or invalids but taxi and bust near to hotel is available. ample car parking during week which was a winner for me as it is limited in Bath. Food was great! I would not hesitate in going back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 111aussie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear 111aussie111
Thank you ,I have shown all the staff concerned your lovely review . I am happy to see you enjoyed the food.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penryn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

1st thing to mention is the friendly staff who made our stay enjoyable. Dated hotel but clean and would not hesitate to stay again. 10 minute walk downhill to town, £5 in a taxi to get back up.
Roman baths interesting . Bath spa nice way to spend a couple of hours. Great stay, hope you appreciate your hard working staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxTerrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear MaxTerrell
Its great to read you not only enjoyed your stay but you though all the staff were friendly, rest assured they are all apppreciated as I know hard they all work.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed at the Lansdown Grove from 24 to 28 June, 2013. We were booked in for bed, breakfast and evening meal. We had also upgraded to a front facing room and £5 per day for reserved car parking. Our room was large, quiet and comfortable, with a very pleasant view across the city, but the room decor and furniture was very tired. There were 3 comfortable chairs in the room but they were almost threadbare on the front seat edges. We had a comfortable, old, four poster bed, flat screen television and plenty of wardrobe and storage space. The bathroom was clean, but also needed updating. Although our room was very quietly located within the hotel, when we went down for breakfast, or our evening meals, the dining room was always very very busy. Being a Shearings hotel, coach parties were there throughout our stay. Breakfast was adequate but the help yourself cereals were set out in open bowls with a lot of tiny crushed pieces in the bottom. We would have preferred the cereals to be in dispensers and not open bowls. The standard evening meal menu was fairly basic, however, It was possible to upgrade to the a la carte menu and a £3 allowance was offered for starters, a £3 allowance for desserts and a £6 allowance for main courses. We upgraded to the a la carte menu every night for the main course, and on all occasions it was very good, although the £6 allowance seemed a bit stingy. The staff, although very busy at meal times, were courteous and friendly.

On leaving the hotel and turning left onto Lansdown road, a 15 minute steep downhill walk leads straight to the abbey. The Roman baths are almost next door. We walked into the city every day but caught the bus back. Number 2 and 31 buses run regularly and stop outside the hotel.

We would certainly return to this hotel but would try and get a more up to date room.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room, front facing if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeandMoColeford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Mike and Mo Coleford
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We try to offer all our guests a value for money product and upgrade rooms where and when we can.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lansdown Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdown Grove Hotel

Property: The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Address: Lansdown Road, Bath BA1 5EH, England (Formerly Coast & Country Lansdown Grove Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdown Grove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdown Grove Hotel, Bath is part of the architectural history of Bath and one of the oldest hotels in the city, dating back as far as 1770. Bath itself has been designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, and contains some of the finest architectural sites in Europe, most within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is a stone built, grade 2 listed mansion, typical of the period, described in The Times of Friday 13th July 1860 as "one of the most delightful houses in Bath." The Hotel is in a magnificent location, just 15 minutes walk from the historic town centre. The hotel enjoys delightful views over the Georgian part of Bath and wooded hills beyond. The interior boasts high ceilings and elegant plaster work, with 56 bedrooms over 3 floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lansdown Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdown Grove Hotel Bath
Lansdown Grove Bath
Lansdowne Grove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing