We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trip review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Good location for central Bath and surrounding area, Hotel itself is very tired and needs a lot of refurbishment, although clean and the bed was very comfortable, the food was Ok , nothing special, The staff were really friendly and helpful, especially the restaurant staff who were all from other countries........they provided the best hospitality service that is quite often lacking from 'British born' employees !!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Tricia58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear 2Tricia58
Thanks for taking the time to post a review.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 751 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

Lovely staff who bent over backwards to accommodate us. We did have an issue but upon having a chat with staff and letting them know the problem existed, it was sorted immediately. We were really impressed.
The grounds are gorgeous and the lamb shank is to die for!!
Thankyou for everything!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dominique A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Dominique A
Good to see your issue was sorted out quickly. Will pass on oyur comments about the food to Charles the Head Chef and his team.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My husband and I spent a lovely weekend in Bath at the Lansdown Grove hotel recently.We found the hotel to be clean and comfortable, the food good and the staff excellent. Everyone without exception was very friendly and helpful, particularly the lovely Anetta in the restaurant. Admittedly the hotel is dated in parts but we felt this added to its character and charm. Would definitely recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Jo B B
Its great to see you would definitely recommend the Lansdown to your friends and family. Thank you. I will pass on your fab comments to all the staff especially the lovely Anetta.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Made a last minute booking for a single en suite room on a Sunday evening.......how bad could it be? The hotel looks like it is caught in an 70's time warp......patterned carpets, dralon furniture you get the gist.......was not prepared for the smallest room I have ever seen, more patterned carpet, disgusting stained bath and plumbing that came off the ark. The single bed has no mattress protector and there was just a thin sheet, suspicious looking duvet and one pillow. The room was next to a fire door which was enthusiastically slammed every five minutes or so and the best......checkout at ten in the morning.......so why would housekeeping knock on the door at 7:30 a.m. asking to clean the room? The whole night was a disaster......avoid this place like the plague!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank smile64_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear Smile64_13

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am however disappointed that you feel that you had to describe the hotel in the way that you have. After speaking with my Deputy he had informed me that you were not happy upon your checkout, you had mentioned that the toilet made a noise when flushed and that you were knocked on by housekeeping in the morning at 8.30am (by mistake). It was at this point that the Deputy Manager apologised and refunded you in full.
I will look into your comments, however feel that I must suggest that if in future you are not happy with any aspect of your stay that you approach our staff, who are more than willing to do all they can to ensure that your stay is an enjoyable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We arrived at the Lansdown Grove hotel in Bath directly from staying at the Imperial Hotel in Tenby. Wow what a difference at check in. (see review of the Imperial if interested) We were greeted very warmly by a gentleman receptionist and after some banter we were very kindly given an upgraded room with a balcony.

The hotel is quite an old mansion style building and even after using the lift to your floor you will have to negotiate several small sets of stairs with your cases.

The room itself was lovely with a really comfortable bed and the view that we had over Bath was most enjoyable. We were very lucky with the weather and could sit out on the balcony even fairly late in the evening but even if you are not lucky enough to have a balcony there are some nice garden areas to sit in.

The standard of the food was superb as was the service by the staff in the restaurant. We had a drink in the bar one evening and the barman certainly also added to a pleasant atmosphere with his sense of humour.

The hotel is situated near the top of a hill so if you are fit you could probably walk down into the town but a bus or taxi back is probably a must. There is no entertainment at this hotel but we can recommend an evening at the The Bell in Walcot Street if you do like live music. We had a great night there on a Monday. Check their web site for other nights with music.

Really there are no negatives to say about this hotel unless you want to start looking at every minute aspect of the decor. It is probably one of the best that we have stayed in through the Shearings Group. In fact we have often paid far more for much less at some hotels both in the UK and abroad. It is a great hotel with excellent staff at a great price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dagetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

What a fantastic review Dagetu ,Thank you we really appreciate getting great comments like the ones you have posted. I am so glad you enjoyed you stay with us and hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Recently stayed on 4 night break with shearings. Avoid room 310, needs a total refurb. Bathroom was a disgrace - dripping taps, rust running from pitted chrome fittings, shower a joke, basin with 3 cracks. Carpet only fit for the tip, upholstery on chairs and couch in need of a deep clean. We paid £24 each for room with a view, might have seen more of it had the windows been cleaned. Beds were comfy and clean. We found breakfasts very good but evening meals were poor. Jane (manager) stop resting on the fact you have good staff and clean the place up - after all a new bathroom would cost a few hundred pounds - get down to B&Q!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Dagetu
Thanks for posting a review , as you said I have excellent helpful staff which I am very lucky to have a such a great team of staff. Yes the hotel is tired in places but the Lansdown is a grand old lady. As mentioned before we have an in house refubishment programme which we put into place where and when we can.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

just had 5 days at this hotel. cannot find fault with anything, 1 of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. from arriving to the day we left every thing was spot on. we are retred couple and have travelled a lot but this was one of the best hotels ever.food lovely, staff helpful and friendly, room of a good size and very clean. would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anneu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Anneu
Thank you for posting such a fantastic review. It is great to see you though everything was spot on and would have no hestiation in returning. I have passed on all your comments to our team here at the Lansdown.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
7.7 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#32 of 34 in Bath
198 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Bath City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
3,010 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lansdown Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdown Grove Hotel

Address: Lansdown Road, Bath BA1 5EH, England (Formerly Coast & Country Lansdown Grove Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: £59 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdown Grove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdown Grove Hotel, Bath is part of the architectural history of Bath and one of the oldest hotels in the city, dating back as far as 1770. Bath itself has been designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, and contains some of the finest architectural sites in Europe, most within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is a stone built, grade 2 listed mansion, typical of the period, described in The Times of Friday 13th July 1860 as "one of the most delightful houses in Bath." The Hotel is in a magnificent location, just 15 minutes walk from the historic town centre. The hotel enjoys delightful views over the Georgian part of Bath and wooded hills beyond. The interior boasts high ceilings and elegant plaster work, with 56 bedrooms over 3 floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lansdown Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdown Grove Hotel Bath
Lansdown Grove Bath
Lansdowne Grove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing