We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tremendous value”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Had 5 day (4 night) coach break in this hotel in January at a remarkably low promotional price.

The hotel has lots of character and is situated half way up a steep hill and is about a ten minute walk into the town centre but it does seem a lot further on the way back. (But the steep walk is good for you, well that's what the lady on reception told me!). There are regular bus services which stop just outside the hotel (5 or 6 an hour) so no real problem.

Had large well decorated and maintained room and although unable to control the central heating (quite cool) an additional electric radiator (stored in the wardrobe) ensured that the room was always at a comfortable temperature. The bathroom was large, clean and bright. The daily housekeeping was friendly and of excellent standard.

The service in the dining room was excellent, the food and menu choices were more than acceptable. It is noticeable in all Shearings Hotels that a rather mean portion control system has been introduced and main courses are shrinking alarmingly. However if asked for larger portions of potatoe and vegetables were willing provided.

The bar and lounges are comfortable and welcoming with reasonable prices. The bar manager Abdul (?) is an experience not to be missed, very entertaining but super efficient at the same time.

All the staff encountered were extremely efficient and friendly.

A highly recommend hotel, especially if you can get a good deal.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stonehengedeweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Stonehengedweller
Thanks for taking the time to post a lovely review. Great to see you tackled the walk into the city not only down but back up as well.
I have passed on your gtreat comments to all the staff concerned including Abdel our Bar Manager.
Thank you
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    309
    119
    36
    17
See reviews for
84
419
43
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Found this hotel last minute and although used to paying a premium to stay in Bath this hotel felt excessive for the quality you get. Small room, musty smell in corridors and in need of some fresh paint. On the plus side the staff were friendly and the location is good.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Jamie S
This is an unusual one as we pride ourselves on being a competitively priced hotel in Bath.
Its good to read you found the location good and the staff friendly.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We have used all the grades of Shearings hotels over the last 10 years. Although this one features in their higher category, we found that the food quality (dinner) and restaurant service were well below the standard we have experienced in, say, Windermere and Harrogate. It was all OK, but more like the lower tier of their hotels. (Breakfasts were good.) Parking (paid for) was good and sorted out well on arrival. We found all staff courteous and efficient, although it seemed to us that staffing levels were lower than normal. Our room was spacious, but a little "worn" looking. The hotel seemed a bit cool to us, which is odd - we generally find them too hot! However, the lounges and bar were very good, with nice fires. Bar prices were very reasonable. We went as two couples and really enjoyed our long weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J0hn1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear John 1950

Glad to see you enjoyed your long weekend with us. Sorry to hear you didnt enjoy your dinners with us this is a comment I dont see very often but I will look in to it. Hope it wont put you off booking with us again.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We arrived into Bath after dark and because it was peak holiday period, we couldn't find any accommodation at all in city or even out of the city. We finally went to this hotel and the night porter ( we couldn't remember the kind man's name unfortunately ) went all the way out to help us and call every other hotel he could think off. He did this because he can only offer us the only available room which has 1 double bed and quite expensive but there were 3 of us and we wanted at least 2 beds. As there were no other hotels available, we had no choice but to take the room he offered. He showed us the room which we would never have found without his guidance. We felt so terrible for him as he is quite old and tripped over in the hallway while guiding us to the room. The room was huge with 1 double bed but the furnishing was rather dated and the bathroom was not really in good order which we didn't mind at all as he did really try to help us out. Despite of our not so nice room, this hotel is worth the stay as it one of the most unique hotel that we have come across in many of our travels. The place is full of character and very interesting to explore. We had breakfast in the morning room as from listening to many conversations amongst the guess which is almost 90% older people, we heard nothing but positive comments especially about the friendly and very helpful staff. Normally I'm very neutral in my comments and reviews but I feel this hotel deserves special mention for all the reasons I've given. We were traveling in the UK for a month and have met many people but this night porter left a very positive lasting impression.

Room Tip: Must explore the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Textbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Shereen
Thanks for posting a review. I have passed on your lovely comments to Sid our night porter who helped you out.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My wife and myself stayed here for 4 nights from Monday 13th January 2014 through to Friday morning the 17th January 2014, and enjoyed 4 nights on a bed and breakfast and evening meal basis, together with a £25 per person spend for the duration. The room number 322 was a front facing room which was most comfortable, and after a hitch with our main radiator in the bedroom itself, and a quick word with Abdel, who had a quick look at it, could not resolve it, but the fetched in a local Plumber who soon sorted out our problem. All was well then. The food in the Restaurant was perfectly adequate considering the prices we were being charged for the 4 night stay, and the staff waiting on us were all very efficient and friendly, in fact everyone in the Hotel were marvellous. The Manageress who we met on our first morning was very nice and pleasant, and I would commend her on having a good team on board and the Hotel just flowed smoothly. Well done Shearings, with whom we have had our moments over the years, but this time we both felt they excelled themselves.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 322 which was very good, front facing room,excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BALI2007BALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Bali2007bali
What a great review Thank you. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully you will come back soon.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed in early January when there were few customers, but still plenty of staff. The service was quick and friendly and the public rooms were very well appointed. Our bedroom and on-suite bathroom were spacious, clean and of good quality, although the old timber sash windows were a little draughty. The room was quiet with no outside noise or noise from within the hotel.
The breakfast and evening meals were of good quality and with a wide selection to choose from.
Although the hotel had lifts it was necessary to use some stairs for many of the rooms.
The hotel is positioned just out of the city centre with approximately 15 minutes walk to the centre. The walk into town is comfortable but it is rather a steep hill when returning. There is a bus stop immediately outside the hotel with frequent services to the city centre.
The hotel has a car park for which there is a charge, but it is almost impossible to find a parking space outside the hotel.

Room Tip: People with mobility problems, need to check that there are no stairs to negotiate to access their r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathedralguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Cathedral Guy
Thanks for taking the time to post a lovely review. Glad you had a good time, I have past on all your comments to all the staff concerned.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My husband and I visited this hotel last week and had a fantastic time. All of the staff were very helpful and extremely pleasant . The food was excellent and the service in the dining room was great. Our room was very large and comfortable . Haven't got a bad word to say about this hotel and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Linda H
Great review thank you, hope to see you both again in the not too distant future.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 30 in Bath
1,240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 30 in Bath
1,346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bath
1,369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.5 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lansdown Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdown Grove Hotel

Property: The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Address: Lansdown Road, Bath BA1 5EH, England (Formerly Coast & Country Lansdown Grove Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdown Grove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdown Grove Hotel, Bath is part of the architectural history of Bath and one of the oldest hotels in the city, dating back as far as 1770. Bath itself has been designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, and contains some of the finest architectural sites in Europe, most within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is a stone built, grade 2 listed mansion, typical of the period, described in The Times of Friday 13th July 1860 as "one of the most delightful houses in Bath." The Hotel is in a magnificent location, just 15 minutes walk from the historic town centre. The hotel enjoys delightful views over the Georgian part of Bath and wooded hills beyond. The interior boasts high ceilings and elegant plaster work, with 56 bedrooms over 3 floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Lansdown Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdown Grove Hotel Bath
Lansdown Grove Bath
Lansdowne Grove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing