We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Herts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 5 September 2008

We have just returned from a long weekend at this lovely hotel. It is conveniently situated 5 mins from the Royal Crescent and 10 mins from the city centre.
There is a local bus which stops outside to take you up and down the steep hill to the city centre which saves trying to find somewhere to park in Bath. The hotel has a small car park outside with an overspill one over the road.
The food was excellent and the staff were all very pleasant and efficient. There was a wonderful pianist/ organist playing in the bar on Friday and Saturday which we loved but if you want bingo and a dance this is not the hotel for you!
In Bath we did the open top bus, Roman Baths and the river cruise which we took from the village of Bathampton into Bath and back as you can park in a free carpark there.
In Bristol we parked at the SS Great Britain which we visited and caught the open top bus from there.
Altogether a great weekend staying in a lovely hotel which we will visit again.
Lynn Platt

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TiaTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    309
    119
    36
    17
See reviews for
84
419
43
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2008

I recently stayed at the Lansdown on a 4day break I had read
reviews that ranged from terrible to good so iI decided to go with an open mind.

Upon arrival we were allocated a room that overlooked the back and I requested a change for a very reasonable £20 I was given
an upgrade.
The room was bright clean and nicely furnished the bathroom very clean large and spacious.

You have to keep in mind that this hotel is somewhat old but the communal areas bar and lounges are clean and comfortable.

The staff are very helpful and the dining room is bright and the
food throughout our stay was basic english cuisine or to say
it better good old fashioned home cooking with a good choice
on every evening the breakfast was multiple choice and the food was always fresh and hot.

I got as I say a pleasant surprise the bar prices are not in
my opinion over the top exactly what you will pay in a pub

Its an ideal location for going into downtown Bath and a regular bus service is literally 30 yards down the Road I went by car
and unlike a previous reviewer I never had any problem parking
the car park hold about 10 cars but directly accross the road is another overspill car park so parking is fine.

I would go there again no worries at the price it was a bargain break

  • Liked — the staff friendly service good food price
  • Disliked — no leisure facilities
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chickenstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2008

I stopped here on a Shearings holiday with my mum. This hotel was very very good value for the money. The room was an excellent size, although please note we did pay extra for a front facing room and for £16 I would recommend other travellers to do the same. The room was very clean and kept nice by the staff. The meals were very good, with a hearty cooked breakfast and a great selection from the menu each night all excellently cooked. There were set meal times at 6.30, 7.00 and 7.30 and we were at 6.30 whereas I would have preferred slightly later but it was full when we booked in, so get to the reception first when you arrive. The service was excellent and speedy. The only downside to the hotel was the entertainment, this was provided in a tiny bar with about 4 tables which soon filled up. Also the bar had a very small selection of drinks, so it was not really somewhere where we would have wanted to spend our evenings. We did walk down the hill and found two good pubs, the Pig and Fiddle a lively student pub and The Green Man, a small intimate pub, both of which were nice. However the walk back to the hotel was up a very steep street, not for those not so good on their pins. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to any traveller for their stay in Bath.

  • Liked — The restaraunt was excellent
  • Disliked — The walk back up the hill every night
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Level Contributor
172 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2007

We've stayed at a good Shearings Hotel in Tenby, so thought we'd venture further afield. Had a really good impression on arrival, because we had a personalised welcome. We booked a premier room, which was excellent and had a very good en suite. The hotel was very full, but the service was efficient and the food as good as you can expect from a bargain holiday break (and that's quite good). Most guests were old codgers, but so are we and it's really nice to find a hotel which isn't full of loud young people. Lovely soothing music in the bar and the town centre close by - but it is a steep climb to come back. No complaints from us.

  • Liked — Quality of premier room
  • Disliked — When it's full you might have to eat in the annex and that hasn't got the same atmosphere
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2007

After seeing some reviews of the Lansdowne Grove we were not expecting much but we were pleasantly surprised. We received a polite welcome and upon reaching our room were delighted by the cleaniness and decor of the room. The bathroom was modern and bright and we even had our own patio doors opening out onto a terrace. A downside was the dated corriders which were like something out of The Shining and the up and down steps were difficult with suitcases.

We went down to the bar before our evening meal each night and the barman was wonderful. He is a real asset to the hotel, full of banter and humour and got everyone in a jovial mood. The evening meals were excellent. Fresh cooked and extremely varied food, combined with polite and attentive staff, meant we left very satisfied. The breakfast was simple with a choice of juice, yoghurt or cereal and a cooked meal but of a good quality and value.

The only problem with the hotel is the lack of parking as there are only 2 small carparks to the front and rear of the hotel. Extra parking is available across the road but we were a little nervous leaving our car away from the hotel. However, it remained safe and secure.

Overall our stay was great and we would definitely recommend the Lansdowne Grove to anyone visiting Bath.

  • Liked — Wonderful staff
  • Disliked — Car parking
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Oann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2007

Positive -
nice location, not too far from the centre, as long as you're happy to walk up a steep hill back from the centre of Bath. Comfortable, large rooms. Cosy warm bar.
Negative -
peeling wallpaper and battered paintwork. Disorganised breakfast - tea/ coffee & toast was hard to get, buffet food not replenished quickly, very cold breakfast room
Ripped off for drinks - eg £5 for Martini & Lemonade
Not very close to any inexpensive bars for late night drinks.
Overall - fine, but would choose to be more central another time as Bath is lovely, safe and peaceful.

  • Liked — Large rooms
  • Disliked — Tatty
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2006

I stayed overnight at this hotel, with work colleagues, for a midweek business meeting.
The building itself is very imposing, being placed on a hill overlooking the city and it is only about a 10 minute walk from the centre, making it ideal for anyone wanting to visit Bath and its many attractions.
Inside, the hotel has lots of character, with wooden staircases and ornate mouldings and door frames in keeping with its Georgian style, but the decor and some of the furnishings looked a little tired in some of the public rooms.
Overall, the staff were very helpful and tried hard to please, although some patience was required, for example at check in and at lunch on the first day, when there were some delays, I guess because we were a largeish group arriving all at the same time.
My bedroom was in the main building, overlooking the road down the hill. It was large and clean, with a good bathroom and excellent shower. There was some traffic noise in the morning, which might stop you sleeping in, if you were able to!
Service at dinner wasn't particularly good, with several people finishing their first course before others on their table had received theirs. The food was included in our 'package' and was of a reasonable standard, though not exciting.
Breakfast was buffet style, with a limited choice of continental and cooked food, again OK but not exciting.
On the whole, I had no major gripes and my stay was comfortable and enjoyable, but I confess to feeling a little disappointed. Does the Lansdown Grove rely too much on its looks and location and not enough on its reputation?

  • Liked — The location, friendly atmosphere and helpful staff.
  • Disliked — Limited parking and the food was a bit of a let down.
  • Tips/Secrets — Ideal for touring the city of Bath on foot if you can manage the hill!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Lindy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 30 in Bath
1,240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 30 in Bath
1,346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bath
1,369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.5 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lansdown Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdown Grove Hotel

Property: The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Address: Lansdown Road, Bath BA1 5EH, England (Formerly Coast & Country Lansdown Grove Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdown Grove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdown Grove Hotel, Bath is part of the architectural history of Bath and one of the oldest hotels in the city, dating back as far as 1770. Bath itself has been designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, and contains some of the finest architectural sites in Europe, most within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is a stone built, grade 2 listed mansion, typical of the period, described in The Times of Friday 13th July 1860 as "one of the most delightful houses in Bath." The Hotel is in a magnificent location, just 15 minutes walk from the historic town centre. The hotel enjoys delightful views over the Georgian part of Bath and wooded hills beyond. The interior boasts high ceilings and elegant plaster work, with 56 bedrooms over 3 floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lansdown Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdown Grove Hotel Bath
Lansdown Grove Bath
Lansdowne Grove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing