We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Country Living Lansdown Grove Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$342
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$302
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$367
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Bath(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Harington's City Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Abbey Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (759)
Filter reviews
759 results
Traveller rating
222
335
139
42
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
335
139
42
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep hillambassador roomshearings hotelshalf boardcoast countryshearings holidaybus passeslovely old hotelfront facingbus servicecity centreunderfloor heatingnumber busnight porterrestaurant staffper daycar park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
452 - 457 of 759 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We visited Bath at the end of March, spent 4 nights at the hotel. Very nice, although there are a few niggles. Car parking is now charged at all the hotel car parks, the "free" one at the back is now £5.00 per night, and the only option is street parking at best between 4.00p.m. and 11.00a.m. This is despite the manageress stating on Tripadvisor last November that parking was free of charge in the rear car park, and even on 22nd December somebody gave a review saying it was free, and she failed to state that was now no longer the case. So, add the car park charge to the bottom line of the overall charge.
We stayed in Room 324, and paid for the view (£14.00 per night), which was frankly not that good. A row of terraced houses blocks the view to the centre of the city, and although you can see across to the hills the other side of Bath, there isn't anything attractive or interesting about it. The room itself was very spacious and quite large, but there was one problem in that from late evening and right through the night there was an irritating noise - it sounded like somebody trying to get their key into the keyhole next door. This happened about every 30 seconds, and obviously wasn't the sound of some poor guest who couldn't unlock his door. We did report it, so maybe the problem has now been corrected. My guess was that it was something to do with the heating system.
On a positive note, the staff are really friendly and efficient, the meals were very good, and served in a lovely dining room (shame about the pop music that was piped through - maybe bland 'musak' would be more welcome?). The hotel building is quirky, and we really needed a SatNav to help us find our room - but we sorted out a route after the first day. It all adds to the charm of what is a very pleasant hotel.
It is well situated, only 10 minutes walk down to the city centre - half an hour back up the hill, or catch the frequent bus service.
We will certainly go back, and next time we will combine it with a visit to Bath Races, for which the racecourse is situated only a mile or two along the road.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerrySuttonColdfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at Country Living Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Terry Sutton Coldfield
Thanks for taking the time to post a lovely review its good to see you enjoy your stay with us.
Yes that's correct I did say last November that the rear car park was free however from the 1st January 2014 we now charge for all car parks ,this is proving to be very positive as guests tell us they have a stress free break and can relax when arriving at the hotel as they are guaranteed a car park space. This is all detailed in your booking confirmation as well as on our web site.
Its a great day out at Bath racecourse especially if you win!!
Hopefully see you again soon.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have just returned from another good holiday with Shearing's to the Lansdowne Grove hotel in Bath It is a beautiful hotel and excellent value for money. We were very impressed with the hotel ,the Public lounges bar and dining room were very nicely decorated and the food was very good we were on half board but It was nice to be able to order from the al cart menu for a small supplement. Which we did a couple of time. There was always plenty of hot water and the power shower was great. We were in Room 235 and it had a French door opening on to a terrace with a nice table and chairs. I would recommend this hotel.

Thank you to all the staff who were all very pleasant and helpful.

Bath is a beautiful city with lots to see especially the Roman Baths and the bus runs from just outside the hotel every 10 mins too the town centre if you don't want to walk down the hill and back.

Mrs & Mrs Tate Leeds.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pigletns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at Country Living Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Pigletns

Great photo of you relaxing in one of our patio areas! Thanks for a lovely review ,its great to read you both enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you both again soon.
Thank you
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Landsdown Grove hotel on a Shearings short break. First impressions of the Hotel were better than expected after reading some of the earlier reviews. Although a solo traveller I was allocated room 207 which had a double bed. The room was comfortable and although it is overlooking a busy road the traffic noise did not affect my sleep. Lots of hot water and a powerful shower. The food was good and the waiting staff were friendly and extremely efficient. Special mention to Franck on reception-great personality.Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay in a lovely hotel within a beautiful city.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank Molie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at Country Living Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Molie20il
Franck is pleased to receive a special mention. I am glad you had a lovely stay with us and hope you visit us again soon.
Thanks
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Just returned from our first visit to Bath and our stay at the Landsdown Grove Hotel, we had a room on the top floor which was warm and comfortable but the view was a little lacking of the internal courtyard. (there were other rooms which could be reserved with a fantastic view over Bath). On the plus side the food was great, the staff more that pleasant and accommodating and Frank went out of his way to be helpful. When booking please remember this is an old building and therefore can appear tired in places but our stay was much more of a personal experience than one gets in the multi-chains. Thank you to all the staff for a lovely relaxing stay.
Do remember to take a taxi to town as parking is a nightmare!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at Country Living Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Alan D
Thanks for taking the time to post a great review. I have passed on your lovely comments to Franck.
Thanks
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I was a member of a Costume and Textile Society, visiting Bath to go to the Costume Museum and the American Museum. We stayed two nights for dinner, bed and breakfast at the Lansdown Grove Hotel. It is a beautiful hotel situated half way up a steep hill. I had a room on the top floor and the views over the City were fantastic. The room was very clean and comfortable with a nice bathroom, also spotless and refurbished. The meals were excellent with lots of choices, and all the staff were efficient and polite. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. A number 31 bus stops just outside the hotel to go the short distance too and fro the City for those who find steep hills difficult.
My only negative comment would be that the lift only takes three people at a time and only goes to the 3rd floor - we had a flight of steps up to the next floor. If you have any mobility issues I would suggest you talk to the reception staff when you book to ensure a room to meet your needs. We were fine, but others may not be, although I appreciate the access problems within such a beautiful historic building.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have lovely views over the city Ask for a room on the first floor if you have mobility issues
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at Country Living Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Veronica B
Thanks for the lovely review will pass on all comments to all staff concerned.
Thank you
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews