We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Old Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Old Hotel.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Really great Service from Reception, bar and Breakfast Staff. Had a lovely four poster bed room with great views over Bath. Breakfast was lovely!. Only 10 minute walk down hill to the centre, bit of a trek on the way back but a bus stops right next to hotel, if you think it's too much. Will definitely return!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annekm26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Annekn26
Its great to read you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Lansdown.
Several buses run up and down the hill the number 31 and number 2.
If you like a walk off the slighty beaten track just ask at reception for an alternative route to town.
Hope to see you again soon.
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    314
    125
    37
    18
See reviews for
84
424
43
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I stumbled into the reception after walking up the hill from Bath as we had decided to go into Bath and have lunch before we checked in. The receptionist was lovely, a big smile and was patient while I managed to get my breath back. We joked about the hill and I decided that this long weekend was going to get me fit. The receptionist gave us a great parking space which was literally two steps from the entrance around the back and right by our room. So no lugging luggage about.

The room was lovely. It was a large spacious room with a balcony and a nice size on-suite. They had three chairs on the balcony but no table which I think would have been nice but it wasn't the end of the world. The bed was huge and on inspection it was actually two singles put together so if you rolled in the middle could be a little uncomfortable but sheets felt nice and crisp. The room was cleaned everyday for us and always felt nice and fresh again after they had finished. The views were great from the room (oh except for the gas station but you can't help that) and we were very lucky with the weather. The hotel was clean and a wonderful building. We sat out in the gardens and walked around the building admiring it on several nights.

Breakfast was good, had a good choice and plenty of it, as much toast as you can eat. Pots of tea and coffee. I loved the ham and poached eggs that was my favourite and my hubby had a full English and it lasted us all day till dinner time. We only dined for dinner once at the hotel and I must admit was the only let down of the weekend. The meal was ok, felt like it was standing around for a while and a bit dry and the service seemed rushed but I think that may have been to do with the football. Service at breakfast seemed much better.

Now would I stay there again is always a question one asks and my answer is yes I would. If just for the lovely room the friendly reception staff and views plus you get to get fit walking up and down that hill :) There are buses if you don't fancy the walk and Bath is just a wonderful place to visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Paula B
Thank you for posting a great review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Although it could do with sprucing up this Hotel is in a great location. The food is Ok but there are plenty of good places to eat nearby. The walk into town is all down hill and you can get to most places in 30 minutes ( Abbey, Roman baths, Royal Crescent,shops.) bath is best seen by foot and this Hotel has good parking facilities. Just remember the Hill ! I always get a Taxi back!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Steve S
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Hope you will visit us again.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed her on a short break in mid-June, during a heat wave. We had already upgraded to one of the ambassador rooms prior to arrival, which I can heartily recommend, the rooms had adjustable heating which was needed. We had room 231, which had a small outdoor patio area, with patio furniture, which was lovely to sit an relax in after a hard day sightseeing. The size of the rooms and bathrooms are fantastic. The hotel is obviously going through a refurbishment programme at the moment, but this caused no problems for us. And as it is an old Georgian building there are several stairs (up & down) to navigate around the hotel.

The hotel is a coach holiday hotel, so a lot of the client group are older people, but that doesn't detract from the hotel and at least you don't have drunken stag & hen parties roaming the corridors.

The staff were very helpful, pointing out places to go and visit and allowing us extra time in the car park on our day of departure so we didn't have to go straight home.

The food was excellent, a good choice every evening, with the restaurant staff being very attentive.

There are only two minor issues that stop me from giving a full five star rating. The bed was VERY soft and not very supportive, so took a few nights to get used to and although our room had been recently refurbished, the painting on the architrave to the bathroom, hadn't been finished off properly- doesn't stop you enjoying the hotel though!.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Ambassador Rooms if you can. They are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Jane P
Glad to see you enjoyed your stay here at the Lansdown I will pass on all your comments to the staff.
Thank you
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My soon to be father-in-law, who lives in Bath, told us about this hotel and on his recommendation, I booked it for my fiancé and myself.
Glorious looking hotel, with very friendly reception staff. We stayed in room 335 which is a bit of a trek, and not always on one level (several stairs, up and down, to negotiate), which is something to consider if you can't manage stairs well. However, the room itself was lovely and spacious. The bed was very very comfortable, and the bathroom large with lovely big fluffy towels. The shower was also amazing - a lovely, forceful, power shower, just as we like it. It may be a tad too forceful for some people, but there is a choice of a bath too. However, the shower was perfect for us.
We were out for most of the evening and returned expecting to find the bar open and looking forward to a nightcap. Unfortunately, and rather surprisingly, it was closed! Only a minor gripe, really, but was a little disappointing for such a large hotel. Might be something to consider for future?
Breakfast was fantastic; choice from the continental items, and choices of cooked breakfasts, including kippers! I hadn't had kippers for ages, so that was my choice and delicious it was. Once again, the waitresses were lovely, warm and friendly, and very speedy with the drinks and breakfasts.
We come to Bath very often, not always staying overnight, but we will definitely be using the Lansdown Grove Hotel again. Excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the lifts if you cannot negotiate stairs very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank probodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Probodie
What a brilliant review,Thank you.
Sorry to hear you didnt get a drink when you came back late at night ,this is unusual ,I will be checking this out.
Hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare, South Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We enjoyed our two nights at the Lansdown Grove Hotel. Close to the city of Bath, wonderfully friendly staff, large room and bathroom, free wifi. Our balconied room allowed for fresh air nd breeze.
There was a bit of a trek from the slow lift to our room that required a few steps up and down. That might be an issue for some, but didn't worry us.
The morning we left we asked for a suggestion as to where we could park our car while we went to the Roman Baths. We were immediately offered the options of leaving our car in the hotel car park while we went into the city. A wonderful offer which we accepted.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trenny13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Trenny13
Thank you,glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Enjoy the rest of your trip and have a safe journey home.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just back home after an excellent weekend break at the Lansdown Grove. We had a lovely room (331) which appeared to be an upgrade to an ambassador room. One nice touch was the portable fan which proved very useful in the hot weather. The food was extremely good and the service very attentive. Also a very nice reading room on the ground floor. We will return later in the year.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Steve T
Its great to see you had a good time on your trip to the Lansdown and Bath. Make sure you say hello the next time you visit.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,798 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,397 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lansdown Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdown Grove Hotel

Property: The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Address: Lansdown Road, Bath BA1 5EH, England (Formerly Coast & Country Lansdown Grove Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdown Grove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdown Grove Hotel, Bath is part of the architectural history of Bath and one of the oldest hotels in the city, dating back as far as 1770. Bath itself has been designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, and contains some of the finest architectural sites in Europe, most within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is a stone built, grade 2 listed mansion, typical of the period, described in The Times of Friday 13th July 1860 as "one of the most delightful houses in Bath." The Hotel is in a magnificent location, just 15 minutes walk from the historic town centre. The hotel enjoys delightful views over the Georgian part of Bath and wooded hills beyond. The interior boasts high ceilings and elegant plaster work, with 56 bedrooms over 3 floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lansdown Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdown Grove Hotel Bath
Lansdown Grove Bath
Lansdowne Grove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing