We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look No Further”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tasburgh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tasburgh House
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver British Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Look No Further”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Tasburgh House for one night. The property, the magnificent views of Bath and the staff exceeded our expectations. The owner "Sue" was very welcoming and took the time to answer the many questions we had about Bath. Continental breakfast was ample and served in a beautiful dining room. The bed was by far the comfiest we experienced on our whole vacation. Don't miss out on their home made granola.
We would definitely stay at Tasburgh House again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    114
    36
    15
    9
See reviews for
181
440
38
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We first stayed here some 18 years ago returning for a birthday treat. We were warmly greeted by the owner Susan who showed us around describing the extensive changes that she has made since taking over the hotel 16 years ago.
Our room was very comfortable overlooking newly landscaped gardens with stunning views across the valley.
The continental breakfast served in the conservatory was superb with top quality produce on the menu.
The overall décor and attention to detail gives the hotel a five star feel. (Home made Brownies to die for !)
Staff were both courteous and helpful throughout our stay.
We have no hesitation in recommending Tasburgh House and will be returning.

Room Tip: The bathroom in room 7 (Bronte) was rather small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

My sister, daugher and I came to England for a family wedding. Our cousin said Bath was their favorite place to go. So the 5 of us took a trip to bath and stayed at the Tasburgh house. We received a tour of the house. The solarium is beautiful. Our rooms were amazing and the view from anywhere and everywhere on the grounds is breath taking. The breakfast was 5 star quality both presentation and taste wise. BTW the homemade granola is AWESOME! Tasburgh House is beautiful, comfortable, convenient. We walked to the center of town thru the fields and along the canal to a park/garden near the center of town. We will be back.

Jacquie, Tiffany, Colleen, Derek and Cathy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquieQ403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

We had a lovely time in Bath and staying at the Tasburgh House was perfect. No complaints at all. We all really enjoyed the house which felt like home.....garden is beautiful. Definitely recommend. Thank you very much Sue, Charlie and co. xxx

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reems_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

My wife and two teen aged girls stayed in the house very recently. We found our quad room to be quite large. The pictures don't do justice to how much sitting room there is in addition to the bed area. Four fit very comfortably. The views from the terrace make heading in to Bath city center feel optional as one wonders "How can it get better than this?" It is a short, nice walk into town tho. Susan and her staff did an excellent job making us feel welcomed and special. She has a great talent for making folks feel at home. My girls commented on how "cool and trendy" she was. Couldn't agree more. A great place, nice breakfast, reasonably priced. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andygriffith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

We loved Tasburgh House. In Susan's own words "anything is possible here"....We checked in well after midnight, but was welcomed with the best chocolate brownies in the whole of England and glasses of port waiting in our room.
Our room was beautifully decorated with the owner's personal touch clearly visible. A big super king bed with luxurious cotton linnen and teddy bear on top.
Breakfast was delicious and well presented. The famous orange juice machine is worth the fuss....
We enjoyed the walk into town along the canal, or Susan will get you a taxi (fare about £6 to the centre of Bath).
This is not a hotel for someone wanting the usual all look alike chain hotel commodities. It is for people who are as individual and interesting as Susan herself.... If you don't like a teddy on your bed or someone to know your name, look elsewhere...
We will be back... we need more brownies!

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms have great views. All rooms are individually decorated, so ask Susan what you li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GS_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

My wife and I spent our 40th (Ruby) Anniversary at Tasburgh House for 2 nights and we were not disappointed. My wife did not know where we were going or the hotel booked, but Susan was very helpful, arranging a bouquet of flowers for my wife in the room on arrival. I asked for the Eliot Room on the ground floor after viewing on-line and we loved it, very comfortable, with everything we needed in the room and bathroom. Continental Breakfast had a good choice with a friendly and helpful waitress. Walked through the lovely gardens to the canal tow path for 25 minute popular walk to Bath, but steep walk back through the gardens was overcome with a pot of tea on the terrace enjoying the views. Italian restaurant recommended by Susan (Sotto Sotto) in Bath was excellent in terms of location, food and friendly staff. If we visit Bath again we will definetly stay at Tasburgh House.

Room Tip: Look on-line to select the room of your choice (if available)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
2.6 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#10 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tasburgh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tasburgh House

Property: Tasburgh House
Address: Warminster Road, Bath BA2 6SH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#5 Family Hotel in Bath
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#8 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tasburgh House 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, Tasburgh House offers idyllic countryside tranquility, with the liveliness of Bath just on it's doorstep. The five star Victorian Boutique Hotel boasts stunning accommodation and the views over the rolling Somerset hills are equally as magnificent. Guests can walk through the seven acres of beautiful gardens and terraces and access the canal tow path, leading into the Heritage City of Bath. Tasburgh House is the home of affordable luxury, where no request is too much for the friendly and welcoming staff. You arrive as a guest and leave as a friend. A light and seasonal supper menu is served daily. Evening meals can be taken in the restaurant or out on the terraces (weather permitting!) The hotel offers free WiFi, and stocks an impressive range of drinks to be enjoyed anywhere on the premises. Your stay at Tasburgh House is guaranteed to be a peaceful and memorable one. All rooms host extremely comfortable beds, powerful showers and luxurious towels. Staff are always on hand to offer advice, book taxis or recommend restaurants. Call direct for the best available rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tasburgh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tasburgh House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing