We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further for a Bath BnB”
Review of Tasburgh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tasburgh House
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Our family of four stayed here for one prescious night in the midst of a two week campervan adventure. We chose it initially because it is one of the few BnB with a large enough room for a family. But utlimately, the experience was enhanced so much by the house, Sue, her staff, the amazing breakfast (yes, we are the family who used all the oranges one morning in the juicing machine!). The walk into Bath proper is a beautiful stroll along the canal, 20 min. Be forwarned that getting to the path way requires some "off roading" through damp grasses and lovely gardens. Don't wear sure you wouldn't want to get wet and bring a flashlight for the night time return! We wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhtchk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (950)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

690 - 696 of 950 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

Our family stayed at Tasburgh House on 16th August. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay - the accommodation was first rate - really clean, and beautifully decorated. Every room was decorated and furnished beautifully, we had the Wordsworth room, Jane Austin room and Keats room. All the staff we met were friendly, helpful and professional. The house is lovely, and we enjoyed an early evening drink in the lounge, we all slept well in comfy beds and enjoyed a super breakfast. Myself and my daughter had the continental, really good value as included in the price, lots to choose from (we particularly enjoyed the variety of fresh fruit and the warm croissants!). The others had the cooked breakfast, and they felt they really had their monies worth, good choice, lots of it and nicely cooked. All in all we had a great stay, would definitely recommend Tasburgh House and would hope to visit again. Also worth noting that very easy to get into centre of Bath - we walked in in the afternoon. Alex organised us a taxi in the evening, reasonably priced and got there in no time. Excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMary6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

My husband and I along with our 11 year old daughter stayed at Tasburgh house for two nights during our two week trip though England. We knew as soon as we walked through the door that we were in for a wonderful stay. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. My husband and I sat out on the beautiful terrace with a glass of scotch for him and wine for me. Sue came down and gave us recommendations for restaurants and things to do. We walked through the seven acres of gardens down to the canal path and into town several times. Both restaurants sue recommended were fabulous with wonderful service! Our daughter loved this place! Breakfast was delicious, the room was extremely comfortable and clean and we couldn't have been happier with this place! Thank you to Sue and her staff for making us feel at home!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathyL1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

Most hotels in the Bath area seem to be quite expensive and Tasburgh is no exception. We stumbled across this hotel when driving past and had not pre booked We were offered the Wordsworth on the first floor at £140 a night (should have been £150 but because we booked two nights it was reduced). Sue made us feel very welcome and was happy to store our cycles in her garage. We were asked if we would like a cup of tea which we enjoyed on the terrace in the late afternoon sunshine with lovely views over the gardens. The tea was well presented with delicious chocolate brownies. Little did we know that the privilege would cost £4.15 each!
Our king sized bed was very comfortable but the room was too warm, and opening the windows made little difference except the traffic noise was enhanced. Sue happily supplied us with a small fan which did help. The bathroom was very small and a bit tired with floor covering that had seen better days and the ceiling paper needed attention. The extractor fan was very dusty with cobwebs.
Felt too much attention was paid to teddy bears, cushions and fancy headboards instead of more practical issues like a clock!
The free WiFi was excellent and worked
well in the room and throughout the hotel.
The continental breakfast was fine with a tasty home made granola muesli. A cooked breakfast would have cost extra which came as a surprise and a dissapointment after paying £140 a night. The staff were all pleasant and helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble. The hotel was mainly quiet but noise from the room above could be a problem as would young children.
Overall the hotel is in a good location but just too expensive to entice me back.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scorpio111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan K, Owner at Tasburgh House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Thank you both for having written this review and I am glad that you were generally happy with your stay. You may be surprised to learn that we are most grateful for your comments even if they are negative ones. I'm afraid that things occasionally get overlooked and I am grateful that you mentioned the dust in the ventilator which, of course, has been cleaned immediately. I have had the bathroom flooring replaced and with regard to your comments about noise from the room above, I take it that you meant footsteps? All the floors above bedrooms have been lined with noise reducing plywood and extra thick 5 star quality underlay which has now eliminated any sounds from above all the rooms. On the point about clocks in rooms, you may not have noticed that the telephone displays the time, however, I can understand having a more obvious facia would be preferable. As result of your comments, I have purchased some lovely clocks to hang on walls. Such a good idea! We really appreciate comments from our quests , like yourselves, but if there is anything wrong we would ask that it is brought to our attention at the time of your stay. That way we can deal with it immediately. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

During our trip to Bath, we stayed at the Tasburgh House. The staff were very friendly and attentive, and ensured that we had everything that we needed. We were surprised by the space and luxury of the rooms as each was named after different poets and the rooms were decorated to the highest standards. The garden was breathtaking and lead to a canal walk into the centre of Bath. This hotel had a very great location, as you could easily walk into Bath City Centre and were not too far from other ammenities. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to experience everything that Bath has to offer, in luxury accomodation.

Room Tip: It is better to be on the first floor rather than the second as to get to the second floor there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahKE_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Myself and 3 other girlfriends stayed at Tasburgh House last Friday before our day on a narrow boat in Bath and had a fabulous time thanks to Susan and her team.

We could not fault this B&B at all , the hospitality was amazing nothing was too difficult , the touches to the decor and food were superb and the surround gardens just lovely.
This is a truely idelic place to stay .
I will now only ever stay at the tasburgh when visiting Bath, excellent value for money.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms we viewed were unique and lovely !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magpieangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

After seeing Tasburgh on the Hotel Inspector we finally got round to staying and we weren't disappointed. We were instantly made to feel welcome and given a tour of the public areas before being shown to our room. The free room upgrade was most welcome. One thing we hadn't expected was the beautiful gardens and grounds which in the summer sunshine looked amazing.

Everything in Tasburgh was clean and well kept. We had breakfast in the conservatory, we especially liked the machine to squeeze your own orange juice. We didn't have a cooked breakfast as it was so warm but it looked very tempting and we will be trying this on our next visit.

We left the car in the car park and walked in to Bath which was an experience in itself as you can walk through the grounds down to the canal and then along the towpath, through the park and you are in the centre.

Sue and the team are excellent hosts and we were made to feel very welcome. We can't wait to come back and stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,324 reviews
1 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tasburgh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tasburgh House

Address: Warminster Road, Bath BA2 6SH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#6 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £113 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tasburgh House 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated on the doorstep of Bath, Tasburgh House offers affordable luxury and idyllic tranquility. The five star Victorian Boutique Hotel boasts stunning accommodation and the views over the rolling Somerset hills are equally as magnificent. Guests can walk through the seven acres of beautiful gardens and terraces and access the canal tow path, leading into the Heritage City of Bath. A light and seasonal supper menu is served Tuesday-Saturday evenings. The hotel offers free WiFi, and has a fully licensed bar for drinks to be enjoyed anywhere on the premises. Your stay at Tasburgh House is guaranteed to be a peaceful and memorable one. All rooms host extremely comfortable beds, powerful showers and luxurious towels. Staff are always on hand to offer advice, book taxis or recommend restaurants. Call direct for the best available rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tasburgh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tasburgh House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing