We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday bliss”
Review of Tasburgh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tasburgh House
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Birthday bliss”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I stayed at Tasburgh prior to my birthday in April. I booked 2 rooms between 6 people (a triple and a quad) which is often difficult to do as some hotels say that you must have 3 rooms - and obviously pay more! I booked over the phone and gave my email as well - I received comprehensive instructions and confirmation of the booking almost immediately via email.
The next day I received an email asking if they could help with any restaurant bookings or things to do in Bath.
When we arrived Susan was incredibly helpful with maps, restaurants and general info on Bath and advice as to whether we go to the Roman Baths on Sat or Sun. We had a personalised welcome in each room which were both incredibly spacious. It's those sorts of details that make a trip away so memorable.
The attention to detail and the whole staff's attentiveness was truly superb. It's a long time since I've experienced customer service like it. I've stayed in some much more pricey hotels with quite frankly shoddy service.
All the staff at Tasburgh need a jolly big pat on the back for excellent customer service. Thank you so much and we will be back. I've recommended Tasburgh to lots of our friends already!
Casey, Marcus, Louie, Ollie, Mia Scott and Lynn Parker.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaseyScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    121
    37
    15
    10
See reviews for
191
459
40
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Heaven is a sacred place and usually appears in myths and legends of cultures around the world. Heaven has often been described as a paradise of some kind, located above or beyond the limits of the ordinary world, perhaps high on a mountain peak or floating on a distant island.

Well actually it's in the only heritage city in the world "Bath" and is situated on the waminster road. Do not squint at a few coppers when you view The Tasburgh House on tripadvisor. We did the first two times staying in bath the first the Wentworth house which is literally a hell hole run by trolls (avoid like the plague). The second the Duke which was fine and dandy but lacks any real speciality of being in bath barr next to Pultney Bridge (gorgeous) but i have stayed lacks hospitality. The third trip we went the extra for the Tasburgh and boy was it worth it. Lovely hotel, rooms, location and most of all the staff Sue and Delila couldn't of been more helpful caring and sweet. Genuine smiles and consideration from them made us feel like we where ment to be in bath somthing we had not till then felt. We will be back to bath and we won't stay anywhere but the tasburgh in fact we will wait till it has availability before visiting again.

Room Tip: Are you in bath? stay at THE TASBURGH
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in during some 40 years of travel on and off. They all try very hard and nothing is too much trouble.Well worth the cost if you want the best! Breakfast was exceptional and woth the small extra cost.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms at the back have an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I could go one about about how great Tasburgh house its Host and staff are for ever but im afraid i haven't the time,So ill say what i truly think this place deserves 5*, I was actually very lucky to be able to stay at Tasburgh house but at the same time unlucky because i had paid to stay at another hotel that was awful called wentworth house witch i had paid for and left without being reimbursed a penny,Ater being recommended Tasburgh house by two other independent hotels that were fully booked, i managed get a late cancellation at Tasburgh house, (Thank you God) From our approach and walking into the hotel i knew id lucked out! The host and owner of this wonder hotel and home is a very charming funny and witty lady Susan, who made our stay even more enjoyable firstly by offering us a glass of very nice Reoja also a reserva i was happy!! even better served in lovely fine cut crystal wine glasses, We were then asked to view the room to see if it was to our liking all of this before being asked for any monies unlike wentworth housel, I immediately asked if we could stay another night and Susan said yes and also moved us to a larger room the following day as the room we had stayed in was really for single use not charging us any extra by the way,We had amazing views over bath and the hillside that was so lovely in the evening when it became dark and all the towns lights were on, The room was a good size huge bed lovely decor,This property is truly amazing im sure the very fussiest of people could not be less than very happy with there choice, Breakfast was great the best muesli i ever had eaten........dam forgot to ask were i could get it though i would not be surprised if it were home made, You do not need an alarm clock as you were gently awoken by the most wonderful aroma of freshly baked croissants being prepared for breakfast, I could see that Susan had this wonderful gift with people making all her guest feel so very welcome well done to you and your staff first class, Makes me not want to stay in a large chain hotel again! That's it i'm finished but i shall be back!. Ps it really annoys me that someone left negative feedback that did not even stay at the property,And after booking it nearly seven months prior to cancelling only 1 day before arrival date all because they were charged a cancellation fee, surely this is standard practice to my knowledge ive been charged ful thel amount for such short notice who likes it! but its what i would do if i owned a hotel.

Room Tip: I only stayed in two but choose one over looking bath its views are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 70AWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My wife and I just stayed a weekend at Tasburgh House. It is an old beautiful property in the hill overlooking the city of Bath. Breathtaking view and surroundings. Service by the staff, lead by Sue Keeling, was just more, better and friendlier than we have ever experienced before.
A sensational weekend !
Sincerely,
Espen Lund

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Espen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I had the great fortune to be booked into Sue's nice hotel for three days and had a great experience. She was so accomodating, even doing some laundry for me over a weekend since I was on a three week trip and running low on clean clothes. Very nice breakfasts, comfortable room, great service and of course, right in Bath. 25 minute walk into downtown. I would stay there again for sure!

Room Tip: i stayed in #5
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jalampi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I booked a weekend break for my Husband and I in October, but unfortunately due to him being in the army and his circumstances changing, I had to cancel. I was charged a fee of over £80.00 even though I cancelled within 24 hours of booking the room. I spoke to the owner who was so unhelpful and unreasonable. I hope she never needs to call on the army in a crisis.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Hellsbells154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan K, Owner at Tasburgh House, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
I am so very sorry that our cancellation policy offended you but the policy was made clear at the time of booking. It was also made clear at the time of cancellation, as a gesture, that your deposit would be deducted if you were able to stay on another occasion. I see that you mention you stayed in April 2013 but in fact you have not taken up our offer and have never stayed here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.0 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.4 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tasburgh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tasburgh House

Property: Tasburgh House
Address: Warminster Road, Bath BA2 6SH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#3 Family Hotel in Bath
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#6 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tasburgh House 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated on the doorstep of Bath, Tasburgh House offers affordable luxury and idyllic tranquility. The five star Victorian Boutique Hotel boasts stunning accommodation and the views over the rolling Somerset hills are equally as magnificent. Guests can walk through the seven acres of beautiful gardens and terraces and access the canal tow path, leading into the Heritage City of Bath. A light and seasonal supper menu is served Tuesday-Saturday evenings. The hotel offers free WiFi, and has a fully licensed bar for drinks to be enjoyed anywhere on the premises. Your stay at Tasburgh House is guaranteed to be a peaceful and memorable one. All rooms host extremely comfortable beds, powerful showers and luxurious towels. Staff are always on hand to offer advice, book taxis or recommend restaurants. Call direct for the best available rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Tasburgh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tasburgh House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing