We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful anniversary celebration”
Review of Tasburgh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tasburgh House
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful anniversary celebration”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed at Tasburgh House in Bath as part of our 1st year wedding anniversary and the hotel was exactly as we had hoped it would be. Sue and her team were superb, very hospitable and the location was ideal, just a stone's throw away from Bath city centre - along the rather pleasant canel side. Our room was as comfortable as one could expect, resulting in two very good nights' sleep. The breakfast too was great, although cooked breakfast was an additional expense. We've had an amazing 12 months since getting married and it was great to round off the year in comfort and style.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemontjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    120
    37
    15
    10
See reviews for
187
455
40
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Tasburgh House is a nice change from chain hotels. The countryside location is lovely; it is only a short walk to town. Sue and staff were welcoming and attentive to our every request. The house is very unique with each room decorated tastefully and comfortably, This is a "little piece of heaven" in the hills of Bath and we recommend it highly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 134Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed here on route to Devon for one night. Hotel is beautiful. The rooms are gorgeous, we were in the Bronte room. It was quite small but perfectly formed. A lovely breakfast was served the following day. Sue and the rest of the team were very attentive. We will definitely stay here again if we return to Bath.

Room Tip: For one night the Bronte was great. If the others are larger I would ask for one for a longer stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed at the Tasburgh House for three nights and truly enjoyed it. The hospitality is excellent, we were feeling as visiting our best friends, not less. We were welcomed by Dalila, she showed a room and made us feeling relaxed and comfortable. The next morning we had an opportunity to make an acquaintance with Sue, the owner. What a lovely person she is! Herself and staff work a lot to make everybody's stay perfect. When we decided to extend our stay, they made arrangements so we could enjoy one more day in Bath. We definitely will recommend the Tasburgh House to our friends because when visiting such a magnificent city as Bath one wish to spend a night in a place with a bit of grandeur, a bit of splendour, to be treated respectively... and please, don't miss the breakfast as this is also - must be - experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toff737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterberg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in Tasburgh House and we enjoyed the wonderful house and beautiful garden very much. The room was clean and lovingly furnished. Breakfast was rich and special requests for glutenfree toast was available without any problemes. Sue helped us with recommendations for dinner and visiting places in Bath. The walk from Tasburgh House to the center of bath went through the wonderful garden and along the Kennet-und-Avon-Channel and required approx. 40 minutes. We will stay again in Tasburgh House, if we come back to Bath.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I spend two nights at the Tasburgh House while I was in Bath. This place is great. Sue and the staff are extremely helpful and friendly, The location is great with the gardens and the view. It is about a 20 minute walk to the city center by taking a path in back of the Tasburgh House along the river to Bath. The rooms are spacious and they have free WI-FI. Parking is free as well. The place has a literary theme to it and is extremely nice. I would definitely stay here again the next time I visit Bath.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheEpic1Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We have just returned from a short break in Bath celebrating my wife's birthday. For us this was a return visit to a hotel that we have stayed in a number of times over several years. Once again we were made most welcome by Sue and her team and found the standard of our room and the service to be excellent with great attention to detail in all aspects of our stay. A large gin and tonic on the lawn of this hotel, in the sun, is the perfect start to a stay in the Tasburgh. The walk into the city via the meadows and canal is part of the attraction of the location and is well worth the effort. Sue was most helpful in organising a table at a really good restaurant and a taxi to take us there. Breakfast was a treat.
We plan to return in the Autumn.

Room Tip: The Tennyson is a good choice, with a large bed and good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.0 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,246 reviews
2.6 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tasburgh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tasburgh House

Property: Tasburgh House
Address: Warminster Road, Bath BA2 6SH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#3 Family Hotel in Bath
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#6 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tasburgh House 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated on the doorstep of Bath, Tasburgh House offers affordable luxury and idyllic tranquility. The five star Victorian Boutique Hotel boasts stunning accommodation and the views over the rolling Somerset hills are equally as magnificent. Guests can walk through the seven acres of beautiful gardens and terraces and access the canal tow path, leading into the Heritage City of Bath. A light and seasonal supper menu is served Tuesday-Saturday evenings. The hotel offers free WiFi, and has a fully licensed bar for drinks to be enjoyed anywhere on the premises. Your stay at Tasburgh House is guaranteed to be a peaceful and memorable one. All rooms host extremely comfortable beds, powerful showers and luxurious towels. Staff are always on hand to offer advice, book taxis or recommend restaurants. Call direct for the best available rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tasburgh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tasburgh House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing