We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“england trip”
Review of Tasburgh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tasburgh House
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“england trip”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The location was excellent, an easy walk to Bath. We have been travelling around England for three weeks and this was the most we have paid for any accommodation so even though the place was lovely, I'm not sure it was worth the price we paid for.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jta427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    119
    37
    15
    9
See reviews for
185
452
40
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed in the Austen room for two nights on the top (attic) floor at the back of the house --.
Yes there are views of Bath and the lovely house garden but through a very small window in the hallway near the bathroom and small window in front of the bath tub. Lots of manoeuvring required to see the view.... So not sure if the added cost for the view is really worth it in this particular room.
Others mention the train that runs through the back of the property and yes we could hear it with the windows closed but it was not overly disturbing --- not sure when it's hot though and windows need to be opened (given it being an attic room) what it would be like.
Room décor just ok , found beds a bit soft, carpet a bit tired in a couple of spots, but not too bad. Nice newer bathroom with lovely shower and large tub. Bottled water and teas nice touch. Main areas pretty and very clean. Continental breakfast that was included very nice, staff and proprietor friendly and helpful. Nice, but longish walk into town along the canal. Good to have parking for car included.

Room Tip: Ask lots of questions about the rooms to make sure you get what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
361 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

What an unexpected surprise, booked this on Booking.com. Sue the owner was a delight and very informative and helpful. Nothing was to much trouble. Our room on the top floor (no lift) had great views of the gardens and Bath. Our room was a delight with a very comfy bed. On hearing it was my husband's birthday a card was waiting in his room, how sweet. The gardens are very pretty and we walked through the gardens and along the canal to bath approx 20 minutes. Very pretty stroll. In the evening we ordered drinks on the beautiful terrace and watched the hot air balloons overhead. Breakfast was great served in the conservatory. The staff are so polite and helpful. I would stay there again if ever in Bath. Parking is tight not to many spaces but still worth the visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samrox5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Our family stopped for one night in this wonderful hotel during our travel across England.
The situation of the house is found and elegant. The house has an interesting story. Indoors, on a terrace and in a garden everything is executed with magnificent taste. Hostess Susan - charm and benevolence. From a garden the magnificent view on the city opens.The only thing that broke idyll of our rest is the highway which is passing nearby. It was a little noisy.

Room Tip: Rooms goes on riverside are quieter and lighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmitry-Tatyana_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I recently stayed here with my son for a short break. The rooms were clean and although the bathroom was slightly cramped it had all the amenities you could want. Wifi throughout is a definate bonus as is the on site parking.The staff were pleasant and very helpful. My only gripe is the cost of the breakfast....the full English was lovely and reasonable value for money but 2 poached eggs on toast at £6.50 was outrageous particularly as the slices of toast were merely small rounds cut out of a slice.of bread. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others but just felt that the cost of extras, such as a cooked breakfast a bit steep.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMA1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We booked on a whim, and got a really good deal through the hotel web site. The public spaces, especially the garden are really beautiful and the bed was super comfortable. The only minus was that we were in a triple room on the top floor facing the road (they claimed we had booked a triple, but there was no evidence of this in my Paypal correspondence). It was quite hot so we had the window open and the road was very busy with big trucks all night. Also there was an annoying light that seemed to be motion operated located on the roof that would switch on intermittently and shine in our eyes. So, definite recommendation for price, public spaces and the generous continental breakfast, and probably the other rooms, but this room was a bit difficult really.

Room Tip: Unless there are three of oyu and oyu have no choice avoid the triple at the front on the third floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wülfrath
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Very friendly welcome at Tashburg House. Wie got all the informations to visit Bath.
The rooms and the garden are quite nice with stunning views. Charming walk in the garden and along the canal into the town. Continental breakfast contented all you desire.

Room Tip: Thema rooms with the gardenview are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 30 in Bath
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
1.0 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
1.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bath
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tasburgh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tasburgh House

Property: Tasburgh House
Address: Warminster Road, Bath BA2 6SH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#2 Family Hotel in Bath
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#5 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tasburgh House 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, Tasburgh House offers idyllic countryside tranquility, with the liveliness of Bath just on it's doorstep. The five star Victorian Boutique Hotel boasts stunning accommodation and the views over the rolling Somerset hills are equally as magnificent. Guests can walk through the seven acres of beautiful gardens and terraces and access the canal tow path, leading into the Heritage City of Bath. Tasburgh House is the home of affordable luxury, where no request is too much for the friendly and welcoming staff. You arrive as a guest and leave as a friend. A light and seasonal supper menu is served daily. Evening meals can be taken in the restaurant or out on the terraces (weather permitting!) The hotel offers free WiFi, and stocks an impressive range of drinks to be enjoyed anywhere on the premises. Your stay at Tasburgh House is guaranteed to be a peaceful and memorable one. All rooms host extremely comfortable beds, powerful showers and luxurious towels. Staff are always on hand to offer advice, book taxis or recommend restaurants. Call direct for the best available rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tasburgh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tasburgh House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing