We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tasburgh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tasburgh House
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First class”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I have stayed here before and it just seems to get better. It is located within walking distance of the centre of Bath. The staff are excellent - extremely polite and at tentative. Many other hotels could learn from Sue and her team's attention to detail. The room was a good size, with plenty of space for bags, a desk and comfortable seating. Importantly, a comfortable bed and pillows, so a good night's sleep. Lovely view over the gardens and down to the canal. Breakfast was relaxed and ticks all the boxes - plenty of cooked options for a supplement but worth it. I'll definitely be staying again and will continue to recommend to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    114
    36
    15
    9
See reviews for
181
437
38
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here in late september and it was a great hotel. We chose it because of the placement just outside the city so we could enjoy the walks down through the plentiful gardens and then along the canal right into the heart of the city. We were greeted by a couple of members of very friendly staff when we pulled up into the car park and then shown the layout of the hotel by the owner Sue. We were given maps of the grounds and the city, given directions and info on taxis and local services. Very comfy room and, although basic, the breakfast was very enjoyable - they were even able to offer Gluten Free toast which was very good for me! Very friendly, very approachable staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank admow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knebworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed two nights at The Tasburgh last week. The hotel is very well situated, in beautiful gardens,a short walk along the canal from Bath.The house itself is beautifully maintained and tastefully decorated; in keeping with the cultural ambience of Bath. Our rooms were very clean ,comfortable and a good size.The publc areas were also lovely with many persoal touches.
Our breakfast was excellent as was the service.
We found Sue and her staff very helpful and pleasant ; all keen to ensure that our stay was memorable. Thank you to all of them.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boyle, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We arrived early at Tasburgh House & were greeted by the friendly proprietor, Sue, who gave us a wealth of information & advice on the area. The house is beautiful with lovely gardens & an orchard.

Our room wasn't big but well laid out & very cosy & comfortable. It was our anniversary & we were greeted with a glass of wine & a lovely welcome card. The staff were exceptionally polite, especially the lovely Dahlia. Tasburgh is ideal for a romantic couples weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My husband and I just spent two nights at the Tasburgh House and truth be told, it was hard to leave! This was our first visit to Bath and we found the city charming, peaceful and full of history. The Tasburgh was the perfect complement to this city. It is an easy walk from the main part of Bath (there is the option of walking along the canal during the day which is really peaceful), kept clean and tidy with great attention to detail. The staff, including Susan and Alex, were exceptionally hospitable and really make the House feel more like Home. We can't wait to return for another visit :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkp03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My husband and myself spent 2 nights at Tasburgh House. All the reviews are correct, we couldn't find any thing wrong (not that we were looking). Sue is a brilliant host, what a lovely Baileys, delivered to the room to finish the evening. The staff are all very attentive. The breakfast was all fresh and tasty. The towels in the room were outstanding, we have never had such luxurious towels. We hope to return in the summer to enjoy the lovely garden, we would thoroughly recommend a stay.

Room Tip: Had a very good night sleep as the beds are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed here recently for 4 nights after reading Tripadviser reviews and were not disappointed. We had a small double room on the ground floor at the back as my husband is not good going up stairs, but as the house is built on a slope the room was actually on a higher floor at the rear and we had an amazing view of the gardens and surrounding countryside . We tried the walk into Bath along the canal once which although v pleasant was a bit too uneven for my husband and we went on the bus other
days (bus stop just outside hotel). Sue and all the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful and we would highly recommend Tasburgh House to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenjay65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
2.6 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
1,202 reviews
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
1,318 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 35 in Bath
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tasburgh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tasburgh House

Property: Tasburgh House
Address: Warminster Road, Bath BA2 6SH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#5 Family Hotel in Bath
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#8 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tasburgh House 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, Tasburgh House offers idyllic countryside tranquility, with the liveliness of Bath just on it's doorstep. The five star Victorian Boutique Hotel boasts stunning accommodation and the views over the rolling Somerset hills are equally as magnificent. Guests can walk through the seven acres of beautiful gardens and terraces and access the canal tow path, leading into the Heritage City of Bath. Tasburgh House is the home of affordable luxury, where no request is too much for the friendly and welcoming staff. You arrive as a guest and leave as a friend. A light and seasonal supper menu is served daily. Evening meals can be taken in the restaurant or out on the terraces (weather permitting!) The hotel offers free WiFi, and stocks an impressive range of drinks to be enjoyed anywhere on the premises. Your stay at Tasburgh House is guaranteed to be a peaceful and memorable one. All rooms host extremely comfortable beds, powerful showers and luxurious towels. Staff are always on hand to offer advice, book taxis or recommend restaurants. Call direct for the best available rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tasburgh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tasburgh House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing