We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly and stylish”
Review of Tasburgh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tasburgh House
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly and stylish”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A substantial, beautifully furnished and decorated Victorian house, with lots of period features, which is also immaculately clean and very comfortable. I stayed in the 'Dickens' room, one of the smaller rooms, but well laid out and with ample space, including a folding desk. Arriving late, I was pleased to find a couple of spare parking places. I was warmly welcomed and I appreciated the fresh milk for my tea. Sue and the staff were very friendly and attentive throughout my stay, with helpful tips on enjoying the area, where to eat etc. The large conservatory and terrace overlooking the very extensive gardens are lovely, and the continental breakfast was very good, and set me up for the day. I look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    118
    37
    15
    9
See reviews for
185
452
40
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Have stayed at Tasburgh House 4 times and will certainly return.
Everything about this hotel is great. Sue, the owner, is very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Her staff are attentive, courteous and pleasant. There are splendid views across Bath, from the garden rooms and the terraces. On our last trip, we had the continental breakfast but the fresh salmon and scrambled eggs are delicious and filling.

Room Tip: Have always stayed in a room overlooking the beautifully laid out garden. The 'Tennyson room'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here for just one night while touring around the Cotswolds. It was a lovely stay. Everyone was very helpful. The building is beautiful. Rooms are clean and the best of modern and period touches. We stayed in the "Austen" room upstairs, which made me smile - genuine skeleton key lock!

I would only note for travelers who have mobility issues that there is no lift and it is about a 1mile (lovely, riverside) walk into the city center. Taxi's are also readily available.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisLaughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The view is absolutely perfect - something from a movie. Utterly beautiful gardens overlooking Bath and able to be enjoyed for breakfast, evening drinks, and from the hotel room. The walk into Bath is lovely. The whole hotel is very tastefully decorated and the rooms are extremely comfortable.

The staff couldn't have been any more helpful, kind, genuinely nice people. Especially Sue and the breakfast waiter.

I couldn't recommend staying here enough. It is the best place to stay in Bath without a doubt.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Gardens - it is definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Phil_W_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

A group of my girlfriends and I stayed here for the weekend. The hotel made our stay in Bath extra special. We had a picnic by the canal (blankets provided), beautiful rooms, the service was fantastic.We all said we'd like to come back with our partners because not only did it work for a hen party, but a romantic weekend away too. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amelia o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed at Tasburg for 12 days. I was all by myself, so Sue kindly taught me everything I need to stay comfortably. The view of her well-organized garden itself is attractive, and over it and Avon river, sweeping view of Bath valleys spread, which were breathtakingly beautiful, which I will never forget in my life. This guest house has every merit which private run hotels have. Sue taught me local restaurants, which turned out to be excellent,which leads me to have totally changed my opinion about poor 'English food'!  I had a hired car. when I asked Sue where to go, she recommended me some nice attractive villages not described in a guidebook.
I prefer staying at this kind of friendly hotel rather than those organized giant corporations. I will make it a rule to visit her at least once a year. Thank you Sue! from Nori

Room Tip: Any room is cute and attractive, but one who likes view might better book a room on the garden side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moo2012980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel is in a very scenic location with a fantastic view.

Service was excellent, as was the breakfast spread. The rooms were well appointed - perhaps a little on the small side, but packed in everything we needed.

It was a most enjoyable stay, with absolutely no hiccups. Perhaps the only downside is that Tasburgh is a short drive outside central Bath - making it necessary to jump in taxis/buses to go back and forth.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelvincasing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
2.6 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,240 reviews
1.0 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
1.2 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 34 in Bath
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tasburgh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tasburgh House

Property: Tasburgh House
Address: Warminster Road, Bath BA2 6SH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#4 Family Hotel in Bath
#7 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tasburgh House 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, Tasburgh House offers idyllic countryside tranquility, with the liveliness of Bath just on it's doorstep. The five star Victorian Boutique Hotel boasts stunning accommodation and the views over the rolling Somerset hills are equally as magnificent. Guests can walk through the seven acres of beautiful gardens and terraces and access the canal tow path, leading into the Heritage City of Bath. Tasburgh House is the home of affordable luxury, where no request is too much for the friendly and welcoming staff. You arrive as a guest and leave as a friend. A light and seasonal supper menu is served daily. Evening meals can be taken in the restaurant or out on the terraces (weather permitting!) The hotel offers free WiFi, and stocks an impressive range of drinks to be enjoyed anywhere on the premises. Your stay at Tasburgh House is guaranteed to be a peaceful and memorable one. All rooms host extremely comfortable beds, powerful showers and luxurious towels. Staff are always on hand to offer advice, book taxis or recommend restaurants. Call direct for the best available rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tasburgh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tasburgh House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing