We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
Review of Highways House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highways House
Ranked #59 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay and would recommend this B&B to all, very clean food plenty and wonderful excellent choice something for everyone. The Bus was a bit dear take a taxi much cheaper. Looking forward to a retun visits.

Sheila and Jim

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 7 in the annex lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    75
    30
    14
    7
See reviews for
27
94
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Highways House is fairly central to Bath, with a free car park which is a plus as many B and B's you would have to pay extra for parking. The room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was hearty and cooked to a high standard. Very reasonably priced - I as other reviews was a little anxious to stay here after reading on trip advisor but was pleasently surprised. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Set back from busy main road, on a slope, bus stop into town immediately outside the house. The 10 (down)-15 (uphill) minute walk from/to town makes Highways House fairly central.

We had a 'superior double room' in the annexe, which was a bit dark but at least away from the traffic noise. Narrow shower cubicle. The 'courtesy' tray offered one pack of three small ginger nuts for two people and no hot chocolate.

The bed was comfortable, but the advertised 'wireless internet access in all rooms' did not materialise, and when taken up with the proprietor, he reduced the bill by £10, saying he would amend his website. However, on checking today, I find the same is still advertised! I have since come across another review where £10 had been 'knocked off' the bill, which leads me to suspect that Dr. O. counts on his guests' reticence to challenge him over his advertised terms.

The breakfast room was a bit dark and stuffy, the breakfast good with a good quality sausage. The guest lounge bright and comfortable with a tray of port for guests' use to unwind in the evening.
Good on-site parking, but I am not sure this house can claim to boast a four star AA rating as per their website.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights from 7/4/14. After reading some of the reviews I was a bit anxious about staying here. I needn't have worried, the house was fine. It was clean and comfortable. We were made most welcome and the breakfast was great. It takes about 10 mins to walk into Bath and the hill is not too bad on the way back. Would stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vivieneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leic
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We had a lovely stay in Bath at the Highways house. It's a B&B don't expect a boutique hotel. What you get is a personal service. On arrival we were given a friendly welcome, explaining housekeeping breakfast etc. Lovely touch having port to drink after an evening out although we didn't partake. We had the annexe room at the end with a large double and a single. It was well appointed with bottled water, tea and coffee facilities as well as complementary toiletries. My two minor niggles would be the single bed had a single duvet which I never find adequate for a grown up! The other would be that as this room is accessed from the outside and despite there being a mat for feet wiping the carpet does not feel clean and a wood floor would perhaps be a better option for such a room. Beds were comfy! Breakfast next morning-plenty to choose from including cooked breakfast. Free parking-great bonus esp as we were able to leave the car all next day. Walk to town is lovely and just right distance-coming back uphill will be a good workout! Hope to return!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IloveholsLeic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in February 2014. Location is quite good (although you have to be fairly fit to manage the steep incline from Bath to the Guest House) - and about a 15 minute walk into town. Guest House, we weren't as impressed with. In dire need of modernisation! Room extremely small (wasn't able to open the chest of drawers fully as it was up against the wardrobe) and furnishings very old fashioned. Ensuite in desperate need of refurbishment. Shower facility inadequate - very poor flow and shower head very grubby. Ensuite also very cold as there was no radiator in the bathroom - a heated towel rail wouldn't have gone amiss!! Breakfast a little better and I enjoyed the fresh fruit salad and a good selection of food on offer. Having said this, I asked for a croissant on the Sunday and this was dry and still frozen in the middle and the full English breakfast was quite good on the Saturday morning but on the Sunday morning was swimming in grease and unappetising. The proprietor was quite welcoming but in general we feel that for the price we had paid (£85 per night) we would have expected something a bit better (think we will stick to a travel lodge next time as it would have been cheaper and the room and facilities better!!)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We saw this hotel on line last January, can't believe my husband + I looked forward to it for almost a year.
What an enormous disappointment .
The building itself looks not only old ( we knew it was ) it's almost dilapidated.
The greeting on arrival was friendly. So far so good.
We were told breakfast was from 8.30 - 9.30 on a weekend , quite late in my opinion, not much time.
The room itself was small + tired looking ,bathroom a disgrace, shower curtain extremely stained , rusty mirror! broken light pull above the mirror,. A disgusting looking toilet brush, who uses those filthy germ ridden things ?!! Toilet seat kept coming off, + that's what I can remember!
It says on the website that there's free wifi in every room, no there isn't.
On asking the owner , he said 'it's only in the lounge '( another very tired looking room)
He knocked £10 off our bill, big deal.
There's thick dust all over, including the lampshade in our room, fabric flowers all over the house were thick with it.
The dining room itself is dirty, walls, seat cushions, radiators etc..
I asked for poached egg on toast, I receive ONE egg , + one slice of toast.
I did ask for another one + got one,
The full English my husband had was fine, but why only one egg for me I can't work out.
Price was appalling on reflection, £180 for two nights, yet we saw a bill for the family room (4 people) for £125 , how do you work that out ?!!????
Do not stay here, a travel lodge would have been better, at least they're clean.

Room Tip: I don't suppose there are any good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#45 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astor House
Astor House
#64 of 154 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grays Boutique B&B
Grays Boutique B&B
#10 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dorian House
Dorian House
#19 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
1.5 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oldfields House
Oldfields House
#27 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highways House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highways House

Property: Highways House
Address: 143 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Highways House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highways House, built in 1874, is a 5 room (all en suite) guest house. We are ten minutes walk into the city centre (Roman Baths, Bath Abbey, etc) and the return journey is a little uphill towards the end. We are on a main bus & cab route, and well away from the city centre's noisy pubs and clubs that are so busy at weekends. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and friendliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Highways House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highways House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing