We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bath Priory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bath Priory
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Yatton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Just Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

My wife and I were married in the Drawing Room at the Bath Priory Hotel in February. The day was made perfect for us in every way by the subtle attentiveness of all the staff. From the wedding co-ordinator to the waitresses and waiters, nothing was too much trouble.

We opted for a buffet lunch and the food was delicious, particularly the array of beautiful desserts. My wife and her bridesmaids stayed the preceding night in the Freesia suite which made the occasion all the more luxurious as they could use the Spa. The Suite and guest rooms were beautiful and there was obvious attention to detail, creating a very welcoming and homely feel.

The hotel lends itself to weddings and we were lucky enough to have sunshine on the day which meant we could go out into the stunning gardens for photographs on the terrace.

We cannot recommend the hotel and staff highly enough. We and all our guests fell in love with the venue and we have been back for lunch since!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stagman86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    892
    214
    90
    26
    14
See reviews for
224
777
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

This hotel is excellent. The service was incredible, attentive but not intrusive. Staff ere briefed that it was my partner's birthday and then assisted in arranging the perfect day.

The eggs benedict is incredible.

We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staplefunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

We stayed at the Bath Priory as a birthday treat for myself. I have never been so dissapointed especially with our room the Azelia Guest room, I notice there is not a picture of this room on hotel website. This was not the only problem, we had arranged to spend a day using the spa facilitys. Unfortuniately the floor was very slippy and I slipped and cracked my head and bruised my left elbow. I was very distressed and this ruined our stay. The staff offered some assistance, we had to asked for the accident book to record this incident it was not offered. I had a long drive home with a sore head and aching arm. The manageress did explain thye had previously had problems with the slippy floor. As a jesture we were given a half bottle of champagne, this was thoughtful but our stay was let down.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfiemillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager68, Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, 7 April 2011
I was able to catch up with these guests during their stay with us, it was really very unfortunate that the lady slipped over by the pool. Very occasionally the water on the stone created by guests coming out of the pool does create a potential hazard. We have checked with the stone federation to confirm that this type of stone is wholly appropriate for use as a pool surround and they have confirmed that it is fit for this purpose. Our sincere apologies are once again extended to the guest. Azalea has recently been refurbished and new photography has just been commissioned, the image will be on the website very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

Only came for dinner--chose the Simply Supper option (available between 6:30-7:30 PM), which was a very good value. While enjoying our cocktails in the lounge, we felt like we were visiting relatives at their country house. The chef sent a biteful of creamy chicken liver pate and a mushroom croquette. The l'amuse bouche was a thimbleful of soup that had very subtle flavorings--Thai/coconut milk based, perhaps. Started with an excellent mushroom risotto and smoked salmon. Being from the U.S., my daughter and I really appreciated the bread. Each type had a thin, crispy crust, not the dense too-chewy bread we encounter back home. I had the sea bream and daughter had smoked pork for our main dishes. For dessert, my Cointreau souffle with Triple Sec sorbet was heavenly and my daughter enjoyed the cheese trolley, which had many choices, all from artisinal farms in the UK and France. Our servers were young, and French or German. They were delightful. The sommelier was off the night we were there, but a young man made several recommendations and they were spot-on. We never would have chosen Portugese wine, but we were very pleased.
The dining room decor was quite dowdy. Maybe so the food would take the spotlight? It was the only disappointment.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueeMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

I have stayed with my partner in all the quality hotels now and I can safely say this is the best experience we have had. Yes it may not be as superficially grand as the Bath Spa,or as noted as the Royal Crescent, but for a romantic stay, great food, lovely decoration, great service and a lot more.

Some reviewers seem not convinced, but like all hotels they are not for everyone, but if you are looking for that special stay in a great city, stay here!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zenman1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

Nice place, visited with our 14th mont old, most staff were great, some (reception staff on Sunday didn't bother to ask if we enjoyed our stay - all she was interested in was taking our money).
Spa was good, rooms nice - though way too warm, made for not a very comfortable nights sleep. Restaurant food was good - though quite pricey.
Overall - nice stay, but average for the price - nothing that would make me want to return.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAMGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 643 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

Bath maybe a World Heritage Site but it isn’t looking at its best right now. Indeed, it’s looking pretty scruffy and unloved. Even houses right by the architectural showpieces of Royal Crescent and The Circus are suffering from neglect, mainly because of the high costs of maintenance. And just walk behind Royal Crescent and you see another, slummier side to Bath altogether.

So it’s nice to slip back to The Priory, a solidly traditional hotel whose large garden makes it a sort of oasis within this busy, traffic-choked city. It’s now a sister hotel to Gidleigh Park in Devon where we stayed once about ten years ago . That hotel felt like a funeral parlour and the speed bumps on their driveway cracked the exhaust on my Maserati, so I’ll never go back. But The Priory - where we have also stayed before - reminds us most of Hambleton Hall, another creaky old building that probably costs a fortune to maintain and where the lounges are bursting with overstuffed sofas and more paintings than the National Gallery. It’s dreadfully old fashioned yet somehow reassuring and the atmosphere here isn’t dead as it can be at other similar places. Good heavens, the restaurant was even busy.

Our room - Marigold - was in the cheapest category and cost £195 B&B, booked by phone that morning. It was a dullish room, but generous in size with a good if plasticky bathroom which had a tub and a step-in shower. The only thing we didn’t like was the enormous and heavy duvet on the bed and the six cushions which we had to stack somewhere. There was a turndown service which is always a plus with us, as was the complimentary water and free wi-fi.

Gidleigh Park’s chef, Michael Caines, oversees the cuisine here, though the actual cooking is done by Sam Goody and, my word, he’s a talented bloke. Now, I’ve had so many disappointing dinners at fancy Michelin-starred restaurants - for example, Le Champignon Sauvage in Cheltenham on this same trip - that it doesn’t bother me in the slightest that Mr Goody hasn't any stars. It probably bothers him, though, as most chefs these days are enslaved to the little red book and no longer cook English food or French food. They cook Michelin food which is quite different. Goody’s menu is priced, though, as if he already has two or even three stars under his toque - expect to pay about £250 for dinner for two with a decent bottle of wine, such as our excellent Portuguese red from CARM, suggested by the sommelier. To eat I had some tasty scallops with couscous, cumin and cauliflower, followed by a ‘plate of lamb’ which contained loin, shoulder, kidney and sweetbread with a tapenade, and to finish a wonderful assiette of rhubarb. A truly great dinner in a room that - commendably - is much more contemporary than the rest of the hotel.

The buffet breakfast was by far the best we have encountered outside London for a long time - cold meats, smoked salmon, fresh fruit and good pastries. Service levels were very high throughout the hotel. I would give it five stars if they lighten things up a bit.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pausanias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.9 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bath Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath Priory

Property: The Bath Priory
Address: Weston Road, Bath BA1 2XT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bath Priory 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within four acres of mature award-winning gardens and spacious terraces, The Bath Priory sets itself apart as a peaceful haven in a bustling city. The Georgian house of honey-coloured Bath stone enjoys a tranquil location just a short walk through Royal Victoria Park to Bath’s city centre and is proud to hold the city’s only Michelin Star for its exceptional cuisine. The award-winning spa has a selection of luxurious treatments, an indoor pool, pool-side sauna, elliptical steam pod and shower. From the moment you enter The Garden Spa by L’OCCITANE, fragrances transport you to Provence; the escape begins with scent. Every gesture, every ingredient, every ritual is drawn from a page of the L’OCCITANE grand herbarium, a resource of hundreds of essential oils and natural ingredients. Steeped in Roman history, the city of Bath is a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Roman Baths, Pump Rooms and Theatre Royal are noteworthy highlights alongside the city’s architectural merits including the Royal Crescent and The Circus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bath Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing