We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great birthday present”
Review of The Bath Priory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bath Priory
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2011

My wife took me to The Bath Priory to celebrate my Birthday and it was amazing. The welcome was very warm, the room was beautiful and the meal...we enjoyed so much. I would like to thank Caroline for a lovely birthday card and a little present and also to all the staff which made my Birthday so special.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCH1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,141 - 1,147 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2011

Having eaten here for lunch and afternoon tea over last few years, my wife and I decided that we'd like to stay here in December for our joint 40th birthday treat.

We were lucky enough to find that Michael Caines and Sam Moody (along with Guillaume, the sommelier) were holding one of their quarterly dining experiences. What a delight! The food was amazing, the wines perfectly partnered and the service exemplary. You only have to think about wanting something and a member of staff is on hand to provide it. It was not a cheap stay by any measure, but when you hear from Micael Caines about all the effort that goes into creating the food, you can almost believe that it's actually a bargain!

We arrived before the check-in time and treated ourselves to a massage and swim in the spa. Highly recommended and a great way to relax before the main event!

We stayed in Poppy; well-appointed and with a super view over the gardens. There was even a birthday card and a small gift waiting for us, which was most acceptable!

The beds are comfy and the hotel was quiet. Breakfast was, needless to say, delicious and check out was easy, apart from the bill!!!

We will definitely be back soon.

Room Tip: Try and get a view over the garden, rather than the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duvetdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

a real treat, poss night away!! i stayed here when i lived at home with my parents, is lovely for a romantic weekend away with my fiance!! thank you

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chantelle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

From my first contact with the hotel on the phone to when we left, we could not have asked for a better experience. It was an anniversary event and our spacious and well decorated room was lit with electric candles and there were rose petals in the bath. The welcome was very warm and each member of staff was friendly and wanted to be helpful in their various roles. Our evening meal was exceptional with excellent service from the sommelier and our waitress. Our only critism was that the rooms were too warm at night despite the radiators being off and the window open.

Room Tip: Use the web site to view each room in advance,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

A beautiful hotel with fantastic spa facilities. The grounds are gorgeous and each room has a unique feel. It is easy to walk into the centre of Bath from the hotel. The food is outstanding, but you certainly have to pay for the quality! Good for special occasions.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vtyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Two nights at the marvelous Bath Priory Hotel and our stay was perfect from the moment we were greeted on the gravel drive to the friendly goodbyes at the end of our stay. Of particular note was the very kind attention paid to our 3 year old son who was treated with great kindness and humour. Our room was very comfortable with a separate bed made up for our son and a basket full of toys and other goodies to keep him occupied. The spa and pool, the meals (including a great lunch menu that saved the day when Bath was overrun by Christmas shoppers), the gardens (which, even in November, were enjoyable to explore), the decor and furnishings and beatiful paintings, and an immediately trustworthy babysitter all helped to ensure a stay that was perfect. All members of staff were very well presented and performed their jobs with a smile and just the right degree of friendliness. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mattonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We recently stayed at the Bath Priory for the first time and wished that we had come here earlier rather than other over rated hotels in Bath. From the minute we arrived we were warmly welcomed by the reception staff and this set the standard for all the staff, every member of the hotel team are polite, friendly and quietly efficient, always hitting the right balance of attentive service. We were in the Heather room which is a good size with an excellent bathroom and lovely views over the gardens at the rear, they must look spectacular in the summer!.

We had 2 simply fantastic dinners in the Restaurant. My wife and I have been to some excellent restaurants, but this is the absolute finest. Every course was exquisitely prepared with such a great balance of flavour, the chef Sam Moody must get a Michelin star soon. Special mention for the sommeliers who advised so well with wines to perfectly match our food selections.

Cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hlf_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.7 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bath Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath Priory

Address: Weston Road, Bath BA1 2XT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: £156 - £422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bath Priory 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within four acres of mature award-winning gardens and spacious terraces, The Bath Priory sets itself apart as a peaceful haven in a bustling city. The Georgian house of honey-coloured Bath stone enjoys a tranquil location just a short walk through Royal Victoria Park to Bath’s city centre and is proud to hold the city’s only Michelin Star for its exceptional cuisine. The award-winning spa has a selection of luxurious treatments, an indoor pool, pool-side sauna, elliptical steam pod and shower. From the moment you enter The Garden Spa by L’OCCITANE, fragrances transport you to Provence; the escape begins with scent. Every gesture, every ingredient, every ritual is drawn from a page of the L’OCCITANE grand herbarium, a resource of hundreds of essential oils and natural ingredients. Steeped in Roman history, the city of Bath is a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Roman Baths, Pump Rooms and Theatre Royal are noteworthy highlights alongside the city’s architectural merits including the Royal Crescent and The Circus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bath Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing