We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, homely feel with exceptional service”
Review of The Bath Priory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bath Priory
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cosy, homely feel with exceptional service”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Everything about the Bath Priory is well-appointed, from the sitting rooms downstairs, the dining areas and fitness centre to the bedrooms. The service was first class from the moment we arrived to a warm welcome. The restaurant, which seemed to attract a lot of non-residents, was excellent, again with good service, well-executed and original dishes and notably fine bread! Going in January it was a shame not to have the opportunity to enjoy the gardens in their pomp, but we were able to appreciate them from the warmth of indoors. The one minor issue to point out is that Bath Priory is about a 20 minute walk from the centre of Bath, but that walk can take you past the Royal Crescent and nearby Circus and in fact a stroll is just what you need after enjoying the fine cuisine of Bath Priory!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    944
    230
    97
    29
    15
See reviews for
238
834
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Very short review to say this is the best restaurant i have ever eaten in. From start to finish the experience was faultless, food & service were exceptional and it really was an excellent experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maybe-Harsh-But-True
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Pushed the boat out and stayed 2 nights at Bath Priory to celebrate my husband's birthday. The bed was very comfortable, lovely quiet room with a fantastic bathroom ( we stayed in Lavender). Enjoyed the spa and had excellent massages. Great food and lovely surroundings - we particularly enjoyed the sofas near the open fire. The stand out for us though was the staff - they were very friendly, made us feel very welcome and looked after us very well without ever being intrusive.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inzaghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We did leave it rather late before we decided that it would be nice to go away for New Year. All the places we know were already booked so we started to look a little further afield. Having the same owners as Gidleigh Park we knew we were onto something good when we found that The Bath Priory had availability for their James Bond themed New Year Event. We opted for the 2 night package which on reflection seems to have been remarkable value for money based on the level of accommodation, the included extras and the extraordinary amount of champagne that flowed on New Years Eve!

The hotel is an older building but was warm, clean and welcoming and the staff were more than helpful and eager to ensure that everything was to our liking.

The food in the restaurant was excellent, breakfast relaxed and yummy!! The gala dinner on new years eve was executed brilliantly and the dining room decorated creatively along the James Bond theme. The marquee outside was heated and warm, leaving the hotel lounge free for those who didn't want to dance non stop. Whoever planned this knew what they were doing and did it well!!

Bath is a beautiful city and only a 15 minute walk from the hotel. I disagree with the previous reviewer who said you need a taxi to get round. The walk from the hotel takes you through Victoria Park and past the iconic Royal Crescent. Granted the city is built on a hill, but this adds to it's character (and helps make room for afternoon tea when you've virtuously walked back to the hotel)!!!

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Bath Priory - we had a truly memorable new year but won't necessarily wait until next new year to visit again!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Firethorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at Bath Priory for two nights at the end of November, taking the benefit of the special Christmas market offer which offered good value compared to the standard rates. We stayed in Peony which is a pretty room overlooking the garden and has an oversized arm chair, perfect for curling up in with a good book! We ate in the restaurant on the first night and enjoyed a delicious meal. I had warned the hotel that my husband cannot eat nuts and when the canapes were brought to us the waiter highlighted that one contained pesto without us having to ask/remind them. We were also extremely impressed by another waiter who, having seen I was pregnant, came back after I ordered the souffle and explained that it wasn't cooked at a high enough temperature for the egg yolks to be completely cooked and asked if I still wanted it. I didn't and was very grateful that she had pointed this out, especially as I hadn't even thought to ask the question. We enjoyed relaxing in the sitting rooms at various points during our stay, particularly as they both had log fires burning away. We also enjoyed using the Spa - the pool is relatively small (about 20m) but we actually had it to ourselves which was great. It's worth pointing out that the hotel only allows children to use the pool at certain times which is great for adults wanting a child free experience as we did. We both had treatments in the double treatment room and found them to be very relaxing (my husband actually fell asleep during his massage!) Breakfast offered the usual buffet plus some extras eg superb French cheese before the option of something hot. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly return.

Room Tip: The hotel website has a room tour so you have the opportunity of choosing your room in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murphyshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The beds were cozy and the room service for breakfast was fabulous. Loved the grounds and the fireplaces roaring. Great stay all around. Friendly and professional service. Grand accomodations. Lavish spa. Stayed in the Rose room. VERY floral and country, but suits the hotel well. Recieved an email after check out that I left some valuable jewelry in the room and they are in the midst of returning it to me now. That is great service!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nolaoriginal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed for 4 nights, 3 of which was part of the hotels New Year package. We have twin babies so had one of the family suites which are due to be refurbished the first half of 2012.

I agree with the previous reviewer regarding the mattress as ours wasn't great but we still slept well. Assuming the new family rooms get new beds this shouldn't be a problem again for these rooms anyway.

Although not right in the centre of Bath it is very close and we had no trouble walking into the centre.

It was our second stay and we enjoyed it every bit as much as the first. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The food and service throughout was superb. The spa isn't huge but we used the pool everyday with the babies (set times for children) and there was always plenty of space.

We had a great time and will definitely return.

Room Tip: The family suites are great if you have children. Otherwise a main house room as big as you can affo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
1.7 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bath Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath Priory

Property: The Bath Priory
Address: Weston Road, Bath BA1 2XT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bath Priory 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within four acres of mature award-winning gardens and spacious terraces, The Bath Priory sets itself apart as a peaceful haven in a bustling city. The Georgian house of honey-coloured Bath stone enjoys a tranquil location just a short walk through Royal Victoria Park to Bath’s city centre and is proud to hold the city’s only Michelin Star for its exceptional cuisine. The award-winning spa has a selection of luxurious treatments, an indoor pool, pool-side sauna, elliptical steam pod and shower. From the moment you enter The Garden Spa by L’OCCITANE, fragrances transport you to Provence; the escape begins with scent. Every gesture, every ingredient, every ritual is drawn from a page of the L’OCCITANE grand herbarium, a resource of hundreds of essential oils and natural ingredients. Steeped in Roman history, the city of Bath is a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Roman Baths, Pump Rooms and Theatre Royal are noteworthy highlights alongside the city’s architectural merits including the Royal Crescent and The Circus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Bath Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing