We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly hotel”
Review of The Bath Priory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bath Priory
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We spent the weekend in bath and the hotel was lovely, our room was very comfortable and the staff were very helpful. We had a lovely view and the hotel was in a very good location. Thank you for making our stay special.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Jo1213

Thank you for your very kind review. We do pride ourselves on delivering a five star standard in a relaxed and informal way so our guests can enjoy and relax in the hotel, I am delighted that you found the hotel to be so friendly.

We do hope you'll come back to visit us soon.
kindest regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,005 - 1,011 of 1,438 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed her for three days after walking in the Cotswolds. This is a very special place. Staff are incredible, and they make everything so easy. Not a detail was missed. For example, we blew out one of our electric converters, and the front desk located a store that sold converters, found out they were out of stock, located another store within walking distance, made sure that it had what we needed, and had them set one aside, it was waiting for us when we got to the store. Rooms are large, and the beds are incredibly comfortable. If possible ask for a room on the second floor overlooking the four acre garden. Location is great, not in the middle of the town, but certainly and easy walk or cab ride into town. Restaurant was very good for dinner, beautiful, tasty food. Apparently it has been awarded a Michelin star, well deserved. If you are looking for a five star luxury experience with some of the best service you have ever experienced, stay here. Highly recommended!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Markandrobin2

Thank you so much for your kind review, it was lovely to read that the team at the Bath Priory delivered an experience you will not forget in a long time.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

kindest regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My husband and I stayed for three nights at the Bath Priory last weekend and we could not fault anything about it. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly,our suite was very comfortable and well appointed, even a nespresso machine! The food was amazing and the service second to none.i could not recommend this hotel more highly

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Jackie M

Wow, what a lovely review that you have posted. The team would like to thank you as its a pleasure to read such kind words and makes all the hard work worth while.

We hope to see you again in the not to distant future. You might like to keep an eye on our website or social media pages as we often have special offers that you might like to take advantage of!

kindest regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here during a period of very hot weather (about 30 degrees). Unfortunately this hotel is not air conditioned; so we sweltered in our rooms as fans circulated hot air in a stifling environment. Management to boot has an archaic dress code which was a nonsense in heat wave conditions: jacket and long sleeve shirt in the main dining room. The portions incidentally were microscopic. The menu on the veranda (where it was a bit cooler) did not offer a great deal of choice. For all this, the place has a nice atmosphere and it is in a beautiful garden setting. The staff were very obliging. The swimming pools (one indoor) are tiny (and crowded), so don't expect to swim laps. The best exercise was the walk to and back from Bath city centre - about 25 minutes each way through the beautiful Victoria Park.Had we stayed in cooler weather we might have gained a different impression of this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_iel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear David_iel

I was saddened to read that your stay was not up to your expectations. As you are probably aware that this summer in the UK has been abnormally hot. As we do not have airconditioning we do try to cool the rooms with fans, however I do appreicate it may not always be adequate. Our dress code has changed to a more casual atire as recent feedback such as yours has prompted us to review our policy. This has had a very postive response so far.

I am in the process of reviewing with Sam our Executive head chef on the comments you have made regarding the portion sizes and menu offers on our terrace.

Both pools are more relaxation than lap pools, however I do hope you enjoyed the other areas of the Spa during the course of your stay. On a positive note I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the atmosphere at The Bath Priory and our award winning gardens.

Thank you for your review, your comments will continue to drive the team on their quest for excellence. We look forward to welcoming you back in the cooler Autumn months.
kindest regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We were looking for somewhere to stay for a short break of 4 days in Bath and research showed some really good hotels in Bath of which the Bath Priory was one alongside others.

We had stayed at the Royal Crescent last year and were very impressed but felt we would like to try somewhere different but of a similar standard so we decided to call in for afternoon tea

We arrived in heavy rain and parked the car. Within seconds a member of staff was outside with an umbrella to take us into the hotel and then took the car keys to park it.

We only wanted tea and this was served in one of the comfortable lounges with grace and efficiency. OK the tea was fairly expensive but service and staff come at a cost which need to be recovered.

We were so impressed with the hotel that we booked a room for 4 days as soon as we returned home.

We will report on the break later

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Barry J,

I am delighted to read of your recent afternoon tea experience here at The Bath Priory and that our staff and service excelled.

We are really looking forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future for your 4 night stay, then reading your next review!

kindest regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Considering some of the negative views about this hotel our two night stay at The Bath Priory exceeded our expectations in many ways. On arrival we were met with helpful and efficient staff. We were made very welcome and given a useful tour of the Hotel then shown to our comfortable room. We had pre booked lunch which was preceded by aperitifs; from then on we experienced the highest quality food matched with excellent service, this five star treatment was maintained throughout our stay. Breakfast was a delight. We swam in the indoor and outdoor pools and took advantage of the wet and dry saunas - we didn't get time to visit the well equipped gym. The gardens were a pleasure to walk around. It is one of the most relaxing places we have stayed at and will definitely be returning. All of the staff we came into contact with we're pleasant, helpful and clearly proud of the Priory Hotel, what a pleasure to experience such a customer focused ethos, well done.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willgaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Willgaski,

Thank you for your very kind words of which all the team will be delighted to read. We work hard in each area of the hotel to exceed all our guests expectations and its always lovely to read when this takes place.

We look forward to welcoming you back, in the near future and prehaps you'll get a chance to use the gym. You might like to keep an eye on our website or social media pages as we often have special offers that you might like to take advantage of!

Kind regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We spent a Saturday morning/afternoon at the Bath Priory for Spa treatments as part of a Hen Do party. Right from the very first call, the team at the Garden Spa were amazing. Most other Spa's I contacted were not willing to accommodate us because we were a party of 10. The team at the Garden Spa not only worked out a fantastic package for us but went the extra mile on the day to ensure our stay was relaxing and almost completely private. We had full use of the facilities and amazing treatments that ensured we were all ready for a fun night out in Bath. I can't recommend the Garden Spa team enough - thank you for making our stay so special!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CT400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Our Spa team are thrilled you and the Hen's enjoyed the Spa and treatments, we look forward to welcoming you all back in the not to distance future. Best wishes to the bride to be from all the team at The Bath Priory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.7 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bath Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath Priory

Address: Weston Road, Bath BA1 2XT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: £152 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bath Priory 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within four acres of mature award-winning gardens and spacious terraces, The Bath Priory sets itself apart as a peaceful haven in a bustling city. The Georgian house of honey-coloured Bath stone enjoys a tranquil location just a short walk through Royal Victoria Park to Bath’s city centre. The award-winning spa has a selection of luxurious treatments, an indoor pool, pool-side sauna, elliptical steam pod and shower. From the moment you enter The Garden Spa by L’OCCITANE, fragrances transport you to Provence; the escape begins with scent. Every gesture, every ingredient, every ritual is drawn from a page of the L’OCCITANE grand herbarium, a resource of hundreds of essential oils and natural ingredients. Steeped in Roman history, the city of Bath is a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Roman Baths, Pump Rooms and Theatre Royal are noteworthy highlights alongside the city’s architectural merits including the Royal Crescent and The Circus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Bath Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing