We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant from start to finish” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bath Priory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bath Priory
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Chepstow, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant from start to finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here as a treat for his birthday, with out the kids. From the minute we arrived it was fantastic. We were given a tour of the hotel and then shown to our room. We had a suite and it was large and immaculate. All the little touches were there and the bed was amazingly comfortable. We had a wander around the grounds and the staff were very polite and helpful. We were given a map for bath with all the local attractions, which was incredibly helpful. We had booked dinner and the food was out of this world. I can honestly say it is one of the best meals I have ever had! The staff at dinner were amazing. They instinctively knew what we wanted and helped a guiding us without being pushy. Breakfast the next morning was lovely and the same staff were as cheery and helpful as they had been the night before. We visited the spa the following day and even though it's small, it's personal and relaxing. My only little grumble is that during the evening the windows had been closed in our room, and it was the end of August. We didn't realise and woke up in the middle of the night baking! But I would definitely stay here again for another treat!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Amie M

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review of The Bath Priory! Our reception team is very knowledgeable about the city and its events, and are more than happy to recommend sights, shops, and restaurants to anyone who asks.
Your kind words about the restaurant team are very appreciated also. Their knowledge of the food, the wine, and the cheeses is astounding and they are thrilled to be able to help guide you through your meal. Likewise, the kitchen try to create an experience whether it be for a special dinner, or a simple breakfast.
Thank you for your feedback regarding the windows, as we are so unused to such wonderful hot weather our turndown routine has had to have some amendments made!

regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    870
    212
    89
    26
    14
See reviews for
221
756
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

We booked the tasting menu for a special girly evening while on a trip to Bath. We were not disappointed. A lovely greeting by very friendly staff, a relaxed evening with amazing food and wine. My first tasting menu and I hope it won't be my last but wow what a way to start.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Mummysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Mummysunshine

We are so glad to hear your enjoyed your meal with us. Every occasion, no matter how small or large, should be celebrated and we are glad we were able to provide a lovely evening for your and your friends. We hope to see you again in the near future.

best wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Bath is a nightmare to navigate if you are not familiar with the roads but we eventually found the Priory and received a warm welcome from the staff. We stayed two nights and dined both a la chart and from the seasonal tasting menu, the standard on both evenings was excellent: inventive and flavoursome. Service was fast and attentive without being too fussy which we prefer. All in all some of the best meals we have enjoyed this year. Tiny niggle on the rooms which get very hot and don't have air-con but the quality of the food soon made us forget the heat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AandTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear AandTP

Thank you for your wonderful review about the restaurant team. They try to provide efficient, yet friendly service whenever possible. Our kitchens use only the freshest seasonal ingredients to create a dining experience, no matter which of our menu’s you choose to dine from. We are glad that you enjoyed our restaurant so much, and we hope to see you again in the future.

regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely 2 day break away.
The staff are very friendly and not at all snooty as you may expect.
We were given a lovely room which was very quiet and secluded.
Dinner was very nice also.
It's a nice 20 mins walk to the centre of Bath and you can walk through the beautiful gardens also

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montyfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Montyfire

Thank you for such a lovely review. Our gardens are one of our greatest assets. Jane Moore and her team are so passionate that it shows in ever flowerbed throughout the grounds. We are very lucky to be just a twenty minute walk from Bath’s city centre, and yet have such a feeling of seclusion when strolling through the gardens.
Thank you also for your kind words about our staff and restaurant. We hope to see you back with us in the future.

regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We've just spent the most fantastic weekend at this hotel. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, nothing was too much trouble. On arrival we were upgraded to a master suite, and cannot fault it. We were there for our anniversary and had the Mini Moon package. Yes, it is expensive but not for what you get. We had the Surprise Taster menu on night one and went A La Carte on night two. The food and service was immaculate and made the weekend a real experience. If you get the chance, try the cheese board, it's an experience in its own right. Due to the cost, we were a little nervous that it would be worth it especially having read some of the reviews, but we really needn't have worried. We know we had the upgrade but this wouldn't affect the quality of food and service. It really was worth every penny.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Tracey S

Thank you for writing such a kind review of our hotel. Our staff tries their best to make every guest’s stay as enjoyable as yours was. Our Menu Surprise is a fantastic way to celebrate a special occasion, and we are glad that it helped make your stay extra special. Our Master Suites are our most spacious and extravagant rooms and we do what we can to make your occasion more memorable, wherever possible.

regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

A wonderful exemplar of set dressing in the public rooms with a bedroom to continue the feeling of romance and pleasure. 'Heather' was recommended by the chief receptionist and it lived up to all expectations not neglecting the most basic element, a comfortable expansive bed. Garden views delightful. House keeping and reception staff some of the very best we have encountered, wanting to make your stay memorable. And they did.

However, the restaurant did not live up to expectations. Service slow and inexperienced, one head waiter warranted a reprimand. Sous chef made a pig's ear out of a silk purse. A disaster for a special decade birthday. Next day breakfast saw eggs benedict like bullets after a 20 minute wait-returned and a replacement was present within minutes.

To his great credit, Chef apologised and tried to make amends but trust by that time was lost.

We shall return if only for the location, rooms and garden. But what a terrible shame about a restaurant ambience to die for undermined by incompetent brigades.

We must acknowledge the final bill was amended accordingly.

See our other Bath hotel and restaurant experiences.

Room Tip: Consult reception staff fully
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Icanhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Icanho

We would like to thank you for the kind words about the reception and housekeeping team. All of our staff works their hardest to ensure a pleasurable stay for our guests. Our reception and reservations team especially pride themselves on their knowledge of the rooms and grounds, and are happy to help guests with any questions they may have before or during their stay.
We are sorry to hear that your experience in the restaurant was not as satisfactory. We do appreciate the feedback and will do our upmost to improve on it. Our chef, Sam Moody, and the restaurant team will learn from your comments to provide the best dining experience they can.
Thank you again for your feedback, and honesty.

kindest regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Our rooms were very spacious and well appointed. Staff was very accommodating. We were asked on checkin if we wanted a morning paper but never received one. The beds were very comfortable and we slept very well. The rooms were very clean. The shower was large and spotless and a dream to use. We only stayed one night and were unable to sample the spa which we expect was wonderful also.

Room Tip: There is no lift so if that is an issue make sure you ask for a lower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank septuagenerian_ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Septungenerian_ed

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you did not receive your newspaper. Unfortunately we had a problem with our supplier due to a nation-wide shortage. We did not convey this appropriately during your time with us and we do apologise for this.
Thank you for your kind words about the rooms, our housekeeping staff work hard to maintain the highest standard.
We hope to see you back in the future, if only to enjoy The Garden Spa for the day.

regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.9 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bath Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath Priory

Property: The Bath Priory
Address: Weston Road, Bath BA1 2XT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bath Priory 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within four acres of mature award-wining gardens and spacious terraces, The 5 Red Star Bath Priory Hotel and Spa sets itself apart as a peaceful haven in a bustling city. The Georgian house of honey-coloured Bath stone enjoys a tranquil location just a short walk to the city centre and is proud to hold the city's only Michelin Star for culinary excellence. Welcoming guests as if to a private home, The Bath Priory is where much of proprietors Andrew and Christina Brownsword's private art collection adorns the walls. To help you truly unwind, our Garden Spa offers massages and a selection of luxurious treatments by British spa and skincare brand Elemis. There are 27 luxurious en-suite bedrooms and 6 suites set around 4 acres of stunning award-winning grounds and gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bath Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing