We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Bath Priory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bath Priory
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Joined family for a wonderful dinner in August. Started with champagne on the terrace, then into the restaurant. Wonderful food, exquisite things I had never tried before.....accompanying wines were superb. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. Atmosphere calm and efficient. All in all a very special place for that one off very special evening.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear SallyW254

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are particularly pleased to read your comments about the food and the restaurant. Food is very much a focus of the hotel, both the kitchen and restaurant team work very hard to ensure unique dining experiences and so it’s always reassuring to read that we exceeded expectations. We hope to see you back with us in the future.

regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

993 - 999 of 1,454 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

Finding a "country hotel" in the middle of city for a special family occasion can be a challenge but the Bath Priory is just that. It's not as big, grand or impressive as a real country house but it has a similar feel and you can accept the compromise for the convenience of its location.
The main rooms are suitably old-fashioned, grand-ish and decorated with a very eclectic range of paintings.
The small bedrooms balance being classic with mod-cons and the softest towels I've ever felt.
The gardens are not the more raw than manicured, so there isn't a wow movement when you see them, but this is in a city and so any wide open space is welcome.
The standard of the food is high, including lovely creme tea scones which were fabulous.
The service from the staff was rather patchy, however, ranging from excellent (the service 'manager') and enthusiastic to cold and aloof. Furthermore, there were too many occasions on our visit when orders were forgotten or, indeed, delivered incorrectly (with an incorrect insinuation that we had mis-ordered). This really needs to be addressed.
Finally, we had booked bed & breakfast rates and so knew that breakfast would be an additional cost. That being so, I did feel insulted that the breakfast menu detailed no prices and they were not mentioned by the waiting staff. I was too embarrassed to ask and just ordered anyway but it left a bitter taste in my mouth.
So, in summary, this is an expensive hotel and there are lots of pros but too many cons. Hence my "average" rating. Should be so much better.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank SamQ_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear BlueTopman

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the quality of your food, in particular the scones and cream tea. During the summer time we also serve our teas on the terrace, overlooking the gardens. Hopefully you will have the opportunity to return to us in the warmer months, when our gardens are in full bloom and at their most spectacular. We are sorry to hear however of your disappointing experience regarding service throughout your stay. We are continually working with our team members to enhance service experience, so feedback from guests is always greatly appreciated. We have also taken your comments on board regarding the pricing on the breakfast menu and as we develop our food and beverage offering, are working to make our menus more guest-friendly. We hope to welcome you back in the future and provide you with a much more consistent experience.

kindest regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We went to the Bath Priory at lunch to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Upon arrival we were greeted by a member of staff who guided us to the drawing room where we had complimentary cod in tempura batter which was unexpected and lovely. Having made our menu choices we were guided to the dining room which overlooked the gardens. The food was cooked beautifully, particularly the beef cheek and my husband would recommend the fresh raspberry soufflee. After dinner we enjoyed a walk around the beautiful gardens. Overall we can highly recommend the Bath Priory. If you are planning on going leave some time to explore the gardens while it is still light.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AandASmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear AandASmith

We are delighted to read that you had such a wonderful wedding anniversary with us. The team are very passionate when it comes to providing the best possible guest experience for those special occasions and our head chef is always pleased to hear such great feedback about the food. It’s great to hear that guests are still enjoying the beautiful gardens at this time of year it is one of our greatest assets. Jane Moore and her team work very hard to maintain them throughout the seasons. We very much look forward to welcoming you both back soon.

regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We splashed out on a night at the Bath Priory to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Right from the moment you walk through the door nothing is too much trouble for the staff. I can honestly say that every member of staff we encountered was friendly and efficient and made you feel at home.
Ate in the restaurant and were very impressed. We have eaten at some top rate restaurants in the past and this is right up there with the best. I had a fillet steak which was probably the best I have ever had ! The room, Lavender, was also superb, very comfy and a truly impressive bathroom.
Overall I couldn't fault it and would visit again.

Room Tip: The gardens are beautiful so anything overlooking them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayBee1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear JayBee1810

Thank you for your taking the time to put your comments on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your one night stay with us in Lavender for your wedding anniversary. The staff very much enjoys reading such wonderful comments and are pleased that we exceed expectation. We very much hope to see you again very soon.

Kindest regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

After a great reception on arrival we quickly settled into this comfortable country style luxury hotel. Having booked three rooms for a special family occasion overall we weren't let down. The Premier rooms were large and comfortable although the superior rooms a little on the small side.
Afternoon cream tea and dinner in the fine dining Michelin awarded restaurant felt special (although if you love a good steak and chips, this restaurant is probably not for you).

Three things let the hotel down during our stay, firstly service was not perfect. We had to go and get pates from the kitchen for our afternoon tea as a number of staff didn't pick up on the fact that we didn't have anything to eat our delicious scones with. Secondly, service in the restaurant was too severe. A little more empathy would go a long way although the head waiter (restaurant manager) was spot on. Finally, breakfast was disappointing in that the small portions you expect in fine dining restaurants extended to breakfast. To be honest, I think most people staying in a hotel want a hearty breakfast if opting for the cooked menu. Smoked Haddock, although lovely, was literally 2 inches by two inches.

Despite these things, the stay was a good one and the hotel delivered on many of the things we were looking for, including that feeling of special occasion.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are quiet and don't feel like you are in the centre of a city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Ian B

Thank you so much for your kind words about your recent stay. I can only apologise for service elements that were not up to our normal standard, however I have used your review to highlight these areas to our service team so we can continually improve and deliver both through the technical and personality aspects of our operation.

Sam and the kitchen team have also reviewed the breakfast offering and are in the process of refining and changing the menu to compliment the whole hotel experience.

We look forward to seeing in the future for the next family celebration.

Kindest regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed at The Priory for one night to celebrate a family birthday. The standard of service was excellent on the whole; a high proportion of overseas staff made on occasions being understood a bit of a problem but that was the exception. I would single out the young lady in the restaurant as excellent, attentive, warm and funny but a senior staff member as severe and lacking in humour and warmth which was a disappointment.

The rooms are a very high standard, but they do need aircon. The central heating was switched on for our arrival but it was not needed and meant all rooms were very warm.

We ate in the restaurant for the evening and the food was excellent, however the breakfast was over priced and I do not expect haute cuisine portion sizes for £25 a head.

So overall, a special place to go, great food, some friendly staff but not great value for money.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Jaxatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Jazatsea

Thank you for review about The Bath Priory. Our team are multi cultural and we strive to connect with all our guests without being to intrusive, so my please accept my apologies for the impression we made, this was far from what we are trying to achieve.

We are reviewing the possibility of having air con, however this is a challenging project what with the age of the building and current structure, however we are investing into hi tech cooling fans for the rare hot summers night we hope to get in the summer of 2014.

Sam and his team are currently reviewing the breakfast offering and are planning to make changes to reflect the value you have made comment towards.

We look forward to returning in the near future.

kindest regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Wow ! From being met at the door to being escorted out to our car under the front of house umbrella we were treated like royalty. We got a tour of the hotel and taken to our room which was spacious and full of those treats to make you feel special including a birthday gift for my wife. We used the pool and spa area which whilst small is beautiful and relaxing with views out to the exquisite gardens. Dinner was definitely the highlight of the weekend, the food was absolutely fantastic every mouthful was a delight. Sam and his team fully deserve the Michelin star they recently retained, well done ! The waiters were friendly and knowledgeable without being overbearing, nothing was too much trouble and we were treated as if we were the most important people in the restaurant. The birthday cake at the end of our meal was another unexpected treat ! After a delightful night's sleep we had a wonderful breakfast with Eggs Benedict to die for, a huge well done to James our breakfast chef ! After breakfast we had a lovely walk around the gardens which are full of hidden areas and had the weather been better we could have whiled away a few hours in an oasis of calm and tranquility. All too soon it was time to leave but we will take away happy memories of absolute luxury, fantastic food and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Stephen S

Thank you so much for such positive feedback. Our reception team works hard to make sure every guest is greeted, whenever possible.
Our beautiful spa is small, but it is also tranquil and relaxing. It’s beautiful views of the garden’s only add to the atmosphere when you are floating in the indoor pool or using the steam room or sauna.
Sam and his team work very hard every day to maintain the high standard they have achieved. Thank you for your praise and let’s wish them luck for the 2014 year! Our waiters are the perfect addition to the wonderful kitchen. They are knowledgeable and attentive and always happy to lend a suggestion should you need one!
Again we would like to thank you for such wonderful feedback.
best wishes

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.7 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bath Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath Priory

Address: Weston Road, Bath BA1 2XT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: £137 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bath Priory 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within four acres of mature award-winning gardens and spacious terraces, The Bath Priory sets itself apart as a peaceful haven in a bustling city. The Georgian house of honey-coloured Bath stone enjoys a tranquil location just a short walk through Royal Victoria Park to Bath’s city centre. The award-winning spa has a selection of luxurious treatments, an indoor pool, pool-side sauna, elliptical steam pod and shower. From the moment you enter The Garden Spa by L’OCCITANE, fragrances transport you to Provence; the escape begins with scent. Every gesture, every ingredient, every ritual is drawn from a page of the L’OCCITANE grand herbarium, a resource of hundreds of essential oils and natural ingredients. Steeped in Roman history, the city of Bath is a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Roman Baths, Pump Rooms and Theatre Royal are noteworthy highlights alongside the city’s architectural merits including the Royal Crescent and The Circus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Bath Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing