We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing weekend”
Review of The Bath Priory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bath Priory
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The rooms, the service, the staff were incredible, very comfortable and cosy and of course beautifully decorated for Christmas.
We went for my brothers birthday and their wedding anniversary. The hotel made their fabulous room look very romantic and special for them and even left him a birthday card.
The staff were always on hand but not hovering, they all were friendly and chatted normally.
Now to the food which was absolutely gorgeous. All four of us thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
We were lucky with the weather so walked into the centre of bath and went to some very good recommendations from the ladies on reception that were not just the normal sights or shops to see. I am sure we will be back.

Room Tip: The orchid room is gorgeous but you need to overlook the garden and that room overlooks the front. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Lynn R

Thank you so much for your very kind words, we are delighted to read that your celebration weekend was so enjoyable. Our owner Mrs Brownsword personally hand decorates the hotel ever year, and i am sure she will be thrilled with your comments.

Make sure you keep an eye out on our website, twitter and FB pages for all our latest offers and experiences, we hope this gives you the excuse to come and visit us again in the future.

Seasonal greetings

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

935 - 941 of 1,406 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed at the Bath Priory at the beginning of Nov for 2 nights. We especially picked it first because they had a Michael Caines dining night on. When we arrived it wasn't the easiest hotel to find as the sat nav stops at the top of the road and getting to the hotel it has a very discreet sign on a very busy road. We booked a classic room which overlooked the front of the building called the orchid room. I have to say it was a beautiful big room. The hotel itself has 2 separate lounges which are very nice and I have to say the hotel overall is a very warm place.
The first night was a Michael Caines evening with him cooking and talking about the food. Truly a lovely evening and food exquisite.
The second night I have to say was not such a good night food wise in the restaurant. Staff we're very good though and not intrusive and went out of their way to help.

The good thing also is it is about 20 mins walk to bath which is a must to visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r_petite34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear r_petite34

I was delighted to read of your positive experience at The Bath Priory earlier in November. The Michael Caines evening's are always a treat for our guests and he never fails to deliver.

I would like to apologise for the second evening where you felt the food was not to the same standard. Sam and his team take great pride in deliving high quality menus and dishes every day.

I do hope the second night experience has not marred your overal impression of The Bath Priory.

Do keep an eye out for our next Michael Caines evening due to be announced on our website soon.

kindest regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed for a night on 21 November and absolutely cannot fault anything . Fabulous rooms , beds to just melt away in , the Autumn Tasting Menu was just inspired - amazing -with so many incredible flavours packed in , service so welcoming and consummately professional , loved the spa with its warm pool .Hats off to all the team led by GM Andrew Foukes had lovely potter in the gorgeous gardens and great to see all the veggie beds in use producing for use in kitchen .

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValerieAnnePenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear ValerieAnnePenny,

Thank you so much for your very kind words and wonderful review. We are so pleased we could exceed your expectations and that you had an amazing experience.

You must come back in the summer to enjoy the delights of the garden in full bloom and see more of the kitchen produce being harvested.

best wishes

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The hotel is small and very cozy, the room is really nice and staff were very friendly. Dining was wonderful, especially when we had the autumn truffles special tasting menu, we enjoyed the dinner thoroughly. If it wasn't raining. we could have spent some time in their lovely garden for a cup of tea or just breathe the fresh air.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Wini L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Wini L

We are delighted to read your review, and the fact you ejoyed your stay with us particularly the truffle menu which is just exquisite this time of year.

Look out for our great summer offers on our website so you can come back and enjoy the garden and our beautiful terrace.

best

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We went for a spa afternoon and had the garden taster. The treatments were lovely. We had an hour of back massage and a facial, using the pool in between. The therapists are really nice yet professional. The only thing that would have been nice would have been to have a more comfortable area to sit whilst waiting for treatments with the option to get a hot drink. We had afternoon tea afterwards and this was lovely, the sandwiches were really good, there were so many cakes we took a few home! Again staff were nice and welcoming and the hotel looked really nice. We all left feeling very relaxed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tubbs33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Tubbs33

Thank you for such a lovely review of our spa and staff. We are glad that we could help you get away from it all with garden taster. We aim to create a relaxing and homely atmosphere in all areas of the hotel and we are reviewing the current layout of the spa to make a more comfortable waiting area with refreshments available from the spa. We hope to make these improvements in the New Year. We are delighted that you enjoyed your afternoon tea. We really appreciate your comments and hopefully we will see you again in the future.

regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Just everything you could want! We were truly guests. I had left my laptop at the previous hotel, they sent a driver there to get it. Dining was superb. The best thing was opening the bedroom window and hearing the birds/

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garyp29991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Garyp29991

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that the team were able to be of assistance in retrieving your laptop, we endeavour to go above and beyond to ensure all our guests have a truly magnificent stay. The birds nesting at this time of year create a special atmosphere and so thank you for mentioning that here. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
kindest regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I really am being picky here but this is a Relais & Chateaux Hotel, it's restaurant carries a Michelin Star and the lowest price a room is around £300 a night which, by any standards, is a great deal of money.

The absolute plus is that the price includes breakfast - either in the restaurant or your room - a newspaper and water. Fresh apples are placed in the room each day.

The bedrooms are country comfortable and well decorated. The lounges have an air of the old Manor House. They are delicious and wonderful to sit in. Paintings from the personal collection of the Hotel's owner adorn the walls - and they are fantastic.

Tea and coffee making facilities in the room (and milk is to be phoned down for to ensure it is fresh).

The staff are wonderful and nothing is too much. (Food review at the end - worth reading) ... There is a spa, and indoor and outdoor pool. Glorious gardens, outside seating. It has much going for it.

So what is the downside - firstly we had a room overlooking the hotel entrance. It was above a back of house doorway which was not on a soft closing mechanism. The constant banging of the door left to swing closed by staff members with their hands full drove us mad. Yes, we told a member of staff, no, nothing was done.

There was no evidence of any Air Conditioning. We were offered a fan which was excellent, but I can't image how uncomfortable a stay here might be on one of Englands horrendous hot nights (rare as they are).

And the thing that irritates me more than anything with hotel design is the distinct lack of a dressing table with adequate mirror. It is (wrongly) assumed that women can apply their make up and dry their hair in the bathroom. How short sighted that assumption is.

If you're getting ready its safe to assume that the bathroom is generally being used by a partner - and if it isn't it is so unbelievably hot and steamed up (either from recent use, or by virtue of the fact that it is always internal) that you can't see to put you face on. Worse than than, you are so hot and sweaty that both hair and make up ruins in any event.

What is wrong with a mirror and dressing table in the bedroom?

The quality of the tissues was really poor. They fell apart almost instantly - certainly when damp.

The bathroom taps are the lovely old fashioned 'pillar' taps. Nothing wrong there except the water was very hot. Wonderful for a good soak in a bath but I think a warning is needed. I scalded my hand in the basin.

The bed was one of the most comfortable but the pillows were far too soft. Choice options (or more pillows) should be in the room.

And please get a different blend of English Breakfast Tea leaves. The tea was distinctly grey and pasty tasting. Couldn't drink it. A cardinal sin in my world. I love a good cup of strong tea.

As for eating here, however, it is joyful. The restaurant is gorgeous and stretches the length of the hotel. It overlooks the very beautiful gardens. We selected the 'seasonal' tasting menu (friends joined us to eat). It was truffle based and heaven sent.

We waiting for our table with a glass of bubbly and a tray of canapés which gave us the taste for what was to come: Delicately fried fish cake balls - so light you almost couldn't taste them. Cheese puffs, tartare of curried lamb and a home made hummus.

Then .........

A beautiful Amuse Bouche which, for the life of me I can't remember.
Capaccio of scallops with lime, a slither of truffle and radish. Delicious.
The finest Fois Gras terrine with truffle I can remember in a long time.
Turbot in a truffle sauce. Sublime.
South West rare beef - more truffles - more groans of delight.
We then elected to have the extra course of whipped brie with truffle followed by dessert which I could not finish.

Expensive wines but with a section of the list offering less expensive options. Generally drinkable and good but not the best.

Great bread and plentiful.

Services was clean, efficient, warm and unobtrusive. Perfect.

In truth I would recommend the hotel to anyone and will return. How good it would be to see some correction in the small imperfections.

Room Tip: If you value silence ask for rooms overlooking the gardens NOT the entrance. If you 'overheat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear CherlyG,

Wow, Wow, Wow what a review, i cannot thank you enough for all the kind words and high praise you have bestowed upon The Bath Priory. I also take onboard all your comments regarding our "small imperfections" as you call them, and can assure you we are working on those the points raised.

I can only apologise for the team member you informed regarding the noise from the door as this information was never passed on. We have since created a slow closing mechanism which has rectified this issue. The tea's have also been reviewed and we are looking at changing them in the new year. The air conditioning is somewhat of a harder challenge to overcome what with the age of the building and the structure we have, however we are investing in hi tech cooling fans for those rare hot days we might be lucky to get in the summer of 2014.

I agree with your comments regarding the mirror and dressing table, and im delighted to inform you all rooms that do not have a stationary dressing table with mirror has a portable mirror in the room for use, we are also investing in long wire hair dryers so they can be used in multiple areas of the room for ease of use.

We would of been happy to provide more pillows should you have requested, although since your comments we have added to our guest preference form so the guest has the option of adding should they wish.

Sam and his team in the kitchen are delighted with your comments about the food and
we really do look forward to your return.

kindest regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.7 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bath Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath Priory

Address: Weston Road, Bath BA1 2XT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: £151 - £450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bath Priory 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within four acres of mature award-winning gardens and spacious terraces, The Bath Priory sets itself apart as a peaceful haven in a bustling city. The Georgian house of honey-coloured Bath stone enjoys a tranquil location just a short walk through Royal Victoria Park to Bath’s city centre and is proud to hold the city’s only Michelin Star for its exceptional cuisine. The award-winning spa has a selection of luxurious treatments, an indoor pool, pool-side sauna, elliptical steam pod and shower. From the moment you enter The Garden Spa by L’OCCITANE, fragrances transport you to Provence; the escape begins with scent. Every gesture, every ingredient, every ritual is drawn from a page of the L’OCCITANE grand herbarium, a resource of hundreds of essential oils and natural ingredients. Steeped in Roman history, the city of Bath is a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Roman Baths, Pump Rooms and Theatre Royal are noteworthy highlights alongside the city’s architectural merits including the Royal Crescent and The Circus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Bath Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing