We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Warrants It's 5 Star Rating!”
Review of The Bath Priory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bath Priory
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Really Warrants It's 5 Star Rating!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Bath Priory Hotel in March 2014, it was a Birthday present for my wife, and I cannot recommend this hotel enough, it truly was outstanding.
From a location perspective it is a short 20min walk to the town centre, and is set in a beautiful building with lovely gardens. The walk into town is through the park and past the Royal Crescent, so as far as walks go… very nice! The Michelin Star restaurant (reviewed separately) would be one of the best hotel started restaurant we have eaten at.
The room we stayed in was really spacious with a real country house feel, but lovely modern bathroom. The “drawing room” in the main hotel was a lovely room to sit back and enjoy a drink or cream tea.
Question is what made it different versus some of the other outstanding places we have stayed? This can be summarised in one word “service”. From the minute you walk into reception to the minute you check out the team at The Bath Priory seem to really have this aspect of the hotel to a really high standard.
If you are looking for a getaway in Bath, with fine food and great service The Bath Priory would be a must.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlane766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear dlane766

We love your review and we hope everybody reads it!!

Each one of our team in every department works their hardest to ensure all our guests have the very best experience that is possible, and it appears we have exceeded your expectations which for a General Manager is a delight to read.

We really look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    961
    233
    99
    30
    16
See reviews for
242
848
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

My partner booked us in for the valentines night package. I didn't know where we were going and was extremely happy when we pulled up outside. Our room was stunning and the staff were brilliant. The food was out of this world and gave us the most wonderful meal in a romantic space. Topped off by my other half asking me to marry him ( yippee) were now booked in again next year and I just can't wait. A real romantic getaway !

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Emily B

Many congratulations from all the team at The Bath Priory, your partner clearly has good taste!

We really look forward to spoiling you both all over again when you return.

Best wishes and enjoy your engagement and wedding

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I'm very lucky to have stayed in many top hotels around the Country but The Bath Priory Hotel has got to be the friendliest and one of the best! I stayed with my family in two adjacent rooms which were charming. The hotel provided little welcome gifts for the kids, which was a lovely touch and house keeping turned their towels into elephants, which they loved! The swimming pool was small but nice and the restaurant excellent. We had the tasting menu with wine pairing, which I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianweatherbyblythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Ianweatherbyblythe,
We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. Although we are a five-star hotel we love having children stay with us. It gives our housekeeping team an opportunity to practice their towel elephant making skills! Our reception team also has lots of information of family friendly days out in Bath and the surrounding areas if you’re every stuck on a rainy day.
We are pleased you enjoyed our tasting menu and wine selection. Our excellent sommelier’s and chef’s work together to create a comprehensive dining experience, pairing each wine individually to each course. Maybe next time you will venture to enjoy our Menu Surprise.
kindest regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north Wales
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night with our daughter and her friend. Rooms were very small especially our daughters , our bathroom was v small no room for a washbasin which was in the lobby area. Our bath was a slipper bath not really what you would expect. Our room was called Apple Blossom and apart from the silly sized bath/ bathroom was good but defiantly not worth the £225 rate!
Dinner in the restaurant was however excellent but again expensive.
Overall, the staff are excellent, building lovely but our rooms over priced and small. Food good and service also I good , but I wouldn't rush back.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank pentrelegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Pentrelegal

Thank you for your honest feedback of your about your recent stay. Our reservation team takes pride in communicating with all our guests during the reservation process to try to distinguish which room will suit as all our rooms are individually designed and furnished. By doing this we hope we manage to allocate a room that all our guests enjoy. On this occasion it would appear we did not get it 100% correct.
We would have been more than willing to have moved you and your daughter to a room that suited and gave you value for the money had this been bought to our attention and we had the appropriate availability. We will always try our best to ensure all our guests have the best experience possible. So my personal apologies that this did not happen during your stay.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the dining experience and the service was excellence.

kindest regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My boyfriend and I went to the Bath Priory in February and stayed for two nights. We stayed in the room 'Lobelia' it was wonderful, we got a tour as soon as we arrived after our bags were taken away then taken up to our dream room. The service was amazing they treat you very importantly and the service is always fast which is great. Anything you want you can have. The Drawing room was my favourite place to be surrounded by old paintings as if you were sitting in a gallery, with the most comfotable sofas an the sound of a clock, it was lovely and calm in there. The town centre is very close which was helpful and Bath is the most amazing place to be. I will be going back. My boyfriend is a chef at Gidleigh Park and the staff were extremely welcoming. Thank you for the experience, we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paigecording
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Paigecording,
We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us at The Bath Priory. Our drawing room is definitely a unique feature. Littered with paintings and antiques it is the perfect place to sit by a log fire and enjoy a cup of tea in the colder winter months. Lobelia, as with our other Premier Deluxe Rooms, boasts wonderful views of the garden. Each of our rooms are individually decorated, so we often recommend guests speak with our reservation team to ensure they have a room to their taste. I am so glad we got it right and you loved Lobelia so much. We will make sure to put you in that room again should you return!

best wishes
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We have just visited this wonderful Hotel - a birthday surprise for my husband. Absolutely every need is catered for! Beautiful rooms, superb, friendly staff, fabulous food and the most glorious gardens. Highly recommended! Next time we are in Bath we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Anita C,
What a wonderful review! We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us so much. Our staff works very hard, especially our Head Gardener Jane Moore who keeps the gardens beautiful all year round. Hopefully you will return to us in summer to enjoy afternoon tea on the terrace.
best wishes
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, faultless across the board really. Service, food, bedrooms all outstanding. Gardens looked lovely but pouring rain lead to them being viewed from indoors. Being really critical the pool area was slightly small with limited beds. Also the gym was limited in equipment, but this is hyper critical. Would definitely stay again and maybe try the tester menu.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AdrianCTate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear AdrianCTate,
Thank you for your kind words about us. We really do aim to get every aspect of the experience right. Thank you for your feedback regarding the Garden Spa. We do have an outdoor swimming pool with more seating which is open during the summer months to create more of an experience within the Spa.
We look forward to welcoming you back, and I’m sure if you wanted to enjoy the Tasting Menu we could arrange a copy of the menu signed by Sam Moody as a memento for you.
regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.7 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bath Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath Priory

Property: The Bath Priory
Address: Weston Road, Bath BA1 2XT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bath Priory 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within four acres of mature award-winning gardens and spacious terraces, The Bath Priory sets itself apart as a peaceful haven in a bustling city. The Georgian house of honey-coloured Bath stone enjoys a tranquil location just a short walk through Royal Victoria Park to Bath’s city centre and is proud to hold the city’s only Michelin Star for its exceptional cuisine. The award-winning spa has a selection of luxurious treatments, an indoor pool, pool-side sauna, elliptical steam pod and shower. From the moment you enter The Garden Spa by L’OCCITANE, fragrances transport you to Provence; the escape begins with scent. Every gesture, every ingredient, every ritual is drawn from a page of the L’OCCITANE grand herbarium, a resource of hundreds of essential oils and natural ingredients. Steeped in Roman history, the city of Bath is a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Roman Baths, Pump Rooms and Theatre Royal are noteworthy highlights alongside the city’s architectural merits including the Royal Crescent and The Circus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bath Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing