We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bath Priory
Nearby Hotels
US$342
US$277
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$187
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$250
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$622
US$499
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Abbey Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$245
US$222
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$208
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$144
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dukes Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$216
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,489)
Filter reviews
1,489 results
Traveller rating
1,076
254
108
33
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,076
254
108
33
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstasting menumichelin stargidleigh parkspecial occasionindoor poolmain restaurantdrawing roomafternoon teapublic roomsspa treatmentscountry houseroyal crescentlovely hotelbirthday treatbeautiful gardena real treatluxury hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
990 - 995 of 1,489 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This has to be one my favourite hotel in the West Country for a really special treat. The hotel is beautiful Bath stone with picturesque gardens including their own vegetable plot, pool and spa. It's full of individual rooms with old furniture and paintings. All the rooms are different, with the beds that I have tried being very comfortable with excellent linen. All this is great, but what is so special about this place is the staff and the food - it's a very well deserved culinary reputation and staff are fantastic: from the instant the hand turns on that door we have been made to feel welcome- they know their jobs, and they all seem very happy to be working there. We went to a tasting evening with Michael Caines in March which was just fantastic. We have also enjoyed birthdays there with delicious standard menus, and lunches - whcih is a more reasonable way to enjoy their food. Good hotels and Michelin starred food are pricey, but the quality of the food, wine and service is generous and the stars are well- dewerved.

Room Tip: They are all individual in size and decoration- look at the website or discuss on the phone.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank min88258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear min8858,

Your review sums up all that we are trying to achieve here at The Bath Priory as a team. We strive everyday to hit "perfection" and we are delighted to read that we delivered this for you on your last visit.

As you pointed out the fabric's, furnishing and art really do set this house apart from other hotels and our owners Mr and Mrs Brownsword truly are hand's on with this part of the hotel which creates the homely feel with have.

Finally, thank you for your kind words about the team, I believe the team are essential to making the guest experience all it can be and once again I am delighed that we surpassed your expectations.

We all look foward to your next visit.
Warmest regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is the kind of place I dream of when I travel: Wonderful room, great bathroom, beautiful gardens, fantastic food, wonderful service. It doesn't get better than this.

We stayed in a Garden Crescent Suite for two nights and it was pricey [$1,700/ night], but it was worth every penny. They give you a $125 bottle of champagne, a lot of fresh fruit and a free teddy bear on arrival, which take the edge off the sticker price.

We had dinner one in the hotel restaurant; my wife had multiple orgasms eating it and said it was one of the best meals she has ever had. It's a Michelin 2-star and worth every bit of that exalted rating.

If we ever return to Bath, we will look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtsaperstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear gtsaperstein,

Thank so much for the wonderful review. We as a team are all thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that we passed your expecations. We really are proud of what we are trying to achieve here at the Bath Priory and appreciate that our guests feel the same way.

We look forward to your return visit next time your in the UK.

Best wishes and happy travelling.
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My mum and I stayed here as part of our Mother's Day getaway. The property is beautiful, as are the rooms (we were upgraded upon arrival) and the staff is excellent. They really go out of their way to make you comfortable. We had excellent Tranquility Scalp Massages and the spa facilities are beautiful - although we were surprised there wasn't more of a sitting/relaxing area other than the pool that we've experienced in many other 5 star spas. This is the type of place you want to come to and not leave for your entire stay as there are plenty of areas to relax and enjoy the hotel and its facilities (and to get your money's worth). Had we not been upgraded to a superior room I'm not sure I would have felt it was worth the price we paid.

Our only small issue was with breakfast - when we checked in we were told that continental breakfast was complimentary but when we came down the next morning and sat down at our table we were told that it was actually not included with our room rate. It was a little embarrassing to get fully seated for what we thought was a free breakfast and then have to get up and leave when we discovered it was a whopping 20 per person for continental breakfast. Although it was a slight miscommunication, we felt that a hotel of this standard should have honoured what they originally told us.

Other than that it is a lovely getaway, peaceful, relaxing and very lush.

Room Tip: A room facing the back gardens is excellent
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theLUXpeditioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear sapirie17

Thank you for your review and your honest opinons of your recent visit. I was delighted to read that you loved the hotel, the rooms, food, service and relaxing space that the Bath Priory has to offer.

We agree with your comments regarding the relaxation area, and with that in mind we are planning in late 2014 into early 2015 to create a relaxation for all our Spa guests to enjoy.

My apologies for the miss communication regarding the charging of your breakfast, I have addressed this with my Front of House team so this does not happen in the future.

Thank again for your review.

Kindest regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here at the end of March, a belated birthday treat.This really is a top quality hotel in all aspects; decor, comfort, resources, food and especially the staff. From the time that we arrived until our departure, we were made to feel very welcome by the staff, all of whom appear to be genuinely happy in their work - this shines through in every area of the hotel.
Why not the full 'Excellent' rating? It was very, very close but at this standard, we would not expect a nylon blanket on the bed - wool is far more comfortable and forgiving of temperature fluctuations.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear Nick 8

So we were close to perfection? we can provide wool blankets on request and we will note this on your guest history so we get it 100% right for your next visit.

Thank you for your wonderful comments about the team, smiling is apart of our culture so it is lovely to read that it comes across naturally to our guests.

We all look forward to your next visit

Best wishes
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This is a gorgeous hotel, well located for exploring Bath. The spa offers a lovely pool and treatment rooms. Rooms are a generous size with state of the art bathrooms. A welcome gift for my husband's birthday was a lovely touch. There is plenty of space around the hotel and even when busy it didn't seem crowded. Only one thing let our stay down - the service at breakfast on our second day was dreadful with the restaurant manager completely ignoring us! Pre dinner drinks on our second night were incredibly slow and we had to chase for them a couple of times as we had been forgotten. Otherwise, it is a lovely place and we would return.

Room Tip: Try one of the suites overlooking the gardens. They are quiet with a gorgeous view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear MattDrewry,

Thank you so much for your review and your honest comments. I am delighted to read all about your recent stay and the positive experience you recieved from the team from the warm welcome to the unfaultable dinner service.

Please be rest assured we have taken your comments on board regarding your experience at breakfast and subsequently we have retrained all the restaurant team on our breakfast service offering.

We look forward to your return in the future.

kindest regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews