We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country House Class”
Review of The Bath Priory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bath Priory
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Nottinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Country House Class”
Reviewed 5 October 2008

This was the most expensive hotel we have booked in the UK and were a little anxious as to whether we would get value for money after reading some of the mixed reviews....... The original booking was just for a private dining experience for my friends 40th birthday. We were booked into a B & B in bath but after a horrendous few weeks we decided this wasn't in keeping with the occasion so booked a room at the hotel. When we checked in we were taken on a personal tour of the hotel and by the time we were shown to our room our luggage had miraculously appeared there before us. We were lucky enough to be given an upgrade to Begonia. It is a beautifully chintzy room overlooking the gardens. After unpacking we went to the drawing room for afternoon champagne. Other guests and diners were having afternoon tea and with the log fire burning it was perfect (a little longer and I would have fallen asleep on the couch). We then dressed for dinner and awaited the arrival of the other party guests (and they do have Bombay Sapphire gin if you are interested!) We were shown to the pavilion private dining room and, to cut a long story short had a very special evening. The food was great and the service? Well, I must apologise to Sarah, Jess and Antonio for our raucous behaviour but they put up with us and gave us excellent service. I can't agree with the review that the staff think they are more important than the guests, this wasn't our experience and were were made to feel very welcome. The evening was topped off by meeting the Chef, Chris which made my friends birthday (he happened to appear on Saturday Kitchen the next morning which was quite surreal!) All in all if you are looking for a special treat please consider this hotel. You will feel as though you are staying with (quite rich) friends.

  • Liked — The Country House feel
  • Disliked — The bill!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rorycat161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    961
    233
    99
    30
    16
See reviews for
242
848
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2008

I booked to stay at the Bath Priory Hotel for my 50th birthday with my family for the weekend of 12/13 September this year. A week before our stay, a member of staff rang (Christa, I think) to say that she had noticed we had not booked at the hotel to eat for the Friday evening (our arrival day), so would we like her to make a booking for us in Bath? Great start, as she was very cheerful, helpful and informative. She suggested a few restaurants for us and reserved a table at The Circus restaurant, which turned out to be very good - staff very friendly, good food etc. However, after that the overall stay was marred mainly by the fact that despite informing the hotel in advance that my husband needed a gluten-free diet (the hotel states that it caters for different dietary requirements), this information seemed to have been ignored by the kitchen. It was disappointing that there were no gluten-free biscuits available with afternoon tea, that we had to ask waiting staff at breakfast for gluten-free bread and again at supper on Saturday evening in their restaurant. What my husband was given at both these meals, were two dry slices of supermarket gluten-free bread, not toasted or warmed and with a lengthy wait. There was no advice as to gluten-free options on the menus, and at breakfast on Sunday, we were advised that the hotel had no gluten-free bread left at all! When I complained to staff how disappointing this lack of service was, a member of staff was sent out to look for gluten-free bread in Bath! Needless to say, they came back with nothing. The hotel could not offer any explanation as to why they had completely ignored the information given to them. A hotel with a Michelin star should have been able to bake its own gluten free bread at the very least! We have stayed at less grand hotels with far better attention to special dietary requirements than this. Added to this, the service at our evening meal for my birthday was quite poor. We had to ask waiting staff three times for a beer. At the fourth attempt, it arrived with our coffee in the lounge after the meal! We had to ask for more water with the meal several times too, they brought sparkling instead of still and the attitude of the waiter was indifferent. The sommelier however, was friendly. I found staff did vary greatly in attitude. Reception staff removed the cost of our breakfasts on the final day to go some way to recompense us for the poor catering for my husband, but this misses the point. He ate rather less food than the rest of us and was made to feel awkward for having to ask for something different. However, the position of the hotel and accommodation was very good (though our bathroom was stiflingly hot - our rooms were Rose, Orchid and Gardenia), the lounges lovely ,with the air of an old country house and the gardens were beautiful.

  • Liked — Well appointed rooms
  • Disliked — Very hot
Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank VickyMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2008

We decided to book this hotel after reading the comments on Trip Adviser, we were not disappointed, the hotel was fantastic, the staff were excellent, very attentive and pleasant, the rooms were exceptional, as was the beautiful garden. It is a little walk into Bath put please do not let that put you off, or you will miss out on something special!

We will be back.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie21kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2008

My husband and I booked last minute for one night over the bank holiday weekend.
What a result. Fabulous bedroom - very comfy bed, separate sitting area and fabulous bathroom. Lovely view of the garden.
The garden is beautiful and peaceful. You would never believe you were so near the City.
We had tea on the terrace which was delicious.
The outdoor pool was great, we had it all to ourselves.
Dinner was absolutely fantastic. Couldn't fault anything.
Pricey but definitely worth it.
Will be back!

  • Liked — The food was amazing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mowys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.7 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bath Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath Priory

Property: The Bath Priory
Address: Weston Road, Bath BA1 2XT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bath Priory 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within four acres of mature award-winning gardens and spacious terraces, The Bath Priory sets itself apart as a peaceful haven in a bustling city. The Georgian house of honey-coloured Bath stone enjoys a tranquil location just a short walk through Royal Victoria Park to Bath’s city centre and is proud to hold the city’s only Michelin Star for its exceptional cuisine. The award-winning spa has a selection of luxurious treatments, an indoor pool, pool-side sauna, elliptical steam pod and shower. From the moment you enter The Garden Spa by L’OCCITANE, fragrances transport you to Provence; the escape begins with scent. Every gesture, every ingredient, every ritual is drawn from a page of the L’OCCITANE grand herbarium, a resource of hundreds of essential oils and natural ingredients. Steeped in Roman history, the city of Bath is a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Roman Baths, Pump Rooms and Theatre Royal are noteworthy highlights alongside the city’s architectural merits including the Royal Crescent and The Circus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bath Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing