We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent (shame about breakfast)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bath Priory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bath Priory
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent (shame about breakfast)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful weekend. The hotel is superb, the room we had overlooked the garden and was as good as we could have wished for. The staff were excellent, catering for your every need, always on hand but never intrusive. We ate in the bar one night and the food was excellent. Our only gripe was the breakfast, the continental buffet was good, but "cooked to order" items were poor and the filter coffee surprisingly tasteless. To be fair I mentioned this at checkout and they took the charge for breakfast off the bill. Otherwise well worth it

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    871
    212
    89
    26
    14
See reviews for
221
757
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We have just had a wonderful stay in a garden spa suite with dinner and wine flight - highly recommend the experience for a special occasion - everything was superb - especially the staff. can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thebellinnatlacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed in May in the weekend after our wedding as we needed a break. This is a really wonderful place to have an indulgent few days. The room we stayed in was filled with interesting aspects of Africa and had a fabulous slipper bath in the room itself- which was immaculately clean , well stocked and looked directly onto the gorgeous and well maintained gardens, which reminded my a little of the Draughtsmans Contract.
There is a pool and steam room etc but I wouldn't recommend it for a spa-type break.
We each had the tasting menu which was absolutely first class- though the restaurant itself was the least interesting of the public rooms
The service throughout our stay was excellent without being snobby or over done
All in all a brilliant place for an indulgent few days

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevebrenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I booked the Bath Priory as a birthday surprise for my girlfriend's birthday.
Once booked I got an email from them asking if there were any room requirements or if the trip was a special occasion. I informed them it was a birthday trip and on arrival to the room there was a card and gift from the hotel which we both thought was a lovely treat.

The staff are all extremely friendly and nothing is too much bother for them.

The hotel it's self is lovely, very homely and welcoming and the gardens are simply beautiful.

The room had three things I was disappoint with but in no way spoiled our stay.

1. No air conditioning, just a large floor standing fan.

2. If you needed a plug socket you had to climb over the back of the sofa or scrabble under the TV. We were going to use the sockets next to the bed where the lamps are plugged in but these were not standard sockets so couldn't be used.

3. No fridge in the room.

For a 5 star hotel I would have expected 2 & 3 to have been provided, the air-con you can understand being an old building, installing would be a nightmare if at all possible?

But I do need to stress these points did not detract from our stay at all, it was just a surprise for such a good hotel to have these flaws.

We ate in the hotel restaurant and had the ten course surprise menu. Stunning is the only word to describe the culinary delights that were brought out. A real treat that will be in our memories for a very long time!

In short, we loved this hotel and will be back some day to relax and enjoy it again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We booked a stay at this hotel pretty much as a last minute decision. Admittedly this is a five star hotel and has a restaurant with a Michelin star chef, so my expectations were already high. Good service is not always guaranteed by having prestigious labels and exceeding expectations is never easy, but this hotel managed to exceed my expectations on almost every occasion.
Booking in I was sent a form, purely option of course but asked the sort of simple questions that would make the stay better. Arriving at the hotel we were greeted and recognised by name immediately, I guess it was from the car registration. We had had an arduous journey to Bath and upon arrival were ready for a cup of tea, this must have been obvious to the staff and we were told not to bother with registration they would look after that and instead we were served a delicious afternoon tea in the gardens.
The hotel was excellent as you would expect for a 5 star establishment. The room we had overlooked the grounds and had everything you could possible want in a room size that was excellent.
The most impressive part of the visit was the dinner on Saturday evening. We opted for the surprise menu. Ten courses all of which as chosen by the chef and came with a glass of wine to compliment the food. Now 10 courses takes some time to get through, but we were never rushed and no matter who you asked all the staff knew the details behind the dish we were eating.
As you will see from my other reviews I have stayed in a range of different hotels over the years. I am a firm believer in good customer service and in exceeding my expectations. I may have different levels of expectations when staying in a Premier Inn to staying at the Bath Priory but good service is about exceeding those expectations and this hotel certainly did that and that was down to the staff knowing and acting for their guests needs. I will go back to this hotel anytime. It is excellent

Room Tip: Try the surprise menu. It not something you do every day and the food is absolutely fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank King_Kanute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

The service and surroundings here are second to none .The clean crisp atmosphere and beautiful food here are the perfect combination for a very special weekend away
I would suggest that you stick to the tasting menu and give the place the opportunity to present to you what the kitchen can do as the taste and design on the plate are equally thrilling

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear mary T,

Wow nice review, I agree our tasting menu is definitley worth experiencing (but i think we could be baised!!), thank you for your kind words.

We look forward to seeing you again soon
regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley on Thames
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We had a very enjoyable and relaxing stay over the May Day weekend, staying in the Lobelia room.
This was spacious and comfortable, with two sofas and a huge bed.
Breakfast was excellent and special mention goes to the breakfast chef who cooked our eggs exactly as asked ( no runny yolk)
The gardens were particularly beautiful and peaceful, even though the hotel was fully booked.
The only thing I didn't like, and this is common with most Michelin starred restaurants these days, is that the whole table has to have the tasting menu if one person does. This meant that I went to bed hungry after a £300 meal; I couldn't face eating the raw scallop starter, almost raw duck and raw egg yolk on mushrooms. Of course I could have had the a la carte but knew my husband would prefer the Tasting menu. I think restaurants shouldn't expect guests to have to compromise at these prices. They would say that the chef doesn't like to serve a mix of a la carte and tasting menus, I would say let us choose!
That was the only minor dissatisfaction, everything else was perfect!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank honeyHenleyonThames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear honeyHenleyonThames

Thank you for posting your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay over the Mayday weekend. Like you I find our gardens to be heavenly. I will certainly pass on your prise to our breakfast chef, he will be thrilled.

Your comments about menu's is a very interesting point and i would never want our guests to go to bed unsatisfied. I will indeed discuss this with Sam our head chef and review our current offerings.

kindest regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.9 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bath Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath Priory

Property: The Bath Priory
Address: Weston Road, Bath BA1 2XT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bath Priory 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within four acres of mature award-wining gardens and spacious terraces, The 5 Red Star Bath Priory Hotel and Spa sets itself apart as a peaceful haven in a bustling city. The Georgian house of honey-coloured Bath stone enjoys a tranquil location just a short walk to the city centre and is proud to hold the city's only Michelin Star for culinary excellence. Welcoming guests as if to a private home, The Bath Priory is where much of proprietors Andrew and Christina Brownsword's private art collection adorns the walls. To help you truly unwind, our Garden Spa offers massages and a selection of luxurious treatments by British spa and skincare brand Elemis. There are 27 luxurious en-suite bedrooms and 6 suites set around 4 acres of stunning award-winning grounds and gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Bath Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing