We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”
Review of The Bath Priory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bath Priory
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed 2 nights Fri/Sat for our anniversary. Staff friendly and welcoming. Upgraded to junior suite overlooking rear gardens. Food excellent. 20 min walk to Bath centre through a park. Ate in 'The Pantry' and service was outstanding. Thoroughly recommend and look forward to another stay there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    216
    92
    27
    14
See reviews for
231
796
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We came here for 2 nights to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary. What a treat! We were blown away by the room, (Heather) which we had been upgraded to overlooking the gorgeous gardens with a balcony.
The service was impeccable throughout our stay.
The food was justifiably Michelin starred. Each morsel was delicious. The best food we've ever tasted.
The short walk into bath was pleasant through the park and passing The Crescent and The Circus.
We can't wait to return if we can ever get child care arranged for our 3 children again!!

Room Tip: Room overlooking the garden with a balcony are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jl0higgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We spent a long weekend at the Priory. When considered going back to Bath, we thought of the excellent visit we had to Priory more than 20 years ago and decided to return to fresh up old memories.

We never regretted going back. It was as good as the - if not better. The spa and the two swimming pools added a new feature.

The Garden, flowers and atmosphere - just impressive. Many are celebrating at the hotel. It can challenge the service level. May have to wait for the staff to take your order.

The service level we experienced from the moment we arrived to the time we left was outstanding. In reception, in the spa, in the restaurants and the bar. We had good advice on other good restaurants and they willingness made the booking for us.

The room we booked was excellent. Kept clean all the time. Had everything we needed.

Breakfast is good, but not outstanding.

Dinner was just great. Pricy yes, but price was forgotten when we experienced the high quality food and service. We had dinner two nights. Three nights would have been too much. They menue was top for two nights, but not for a third.

I could have spent the whole evening going through the winelist, but was helped to make some good choices without paying over the top. Housewine was good.

We have agreed that it will not wait 20 years for our next visit.

And - internet and WIFI worked fine in the room and hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retired43Oslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We were invited to dinner to celebrate a 50th Birthday. We all had the tasting menu which was very good but it was let down by the service. Don't get me wrong the staff were all very friendly and pleasant but they lacked enthusiasm when serving the food. The waiters all seemed very young and a little disinterested. Two of our table got up to use the loo in between courses and while they were gone, the entire table was served their next course. The two missing guests were given a cloche to cover their dishes whilst the rest of us were left with our plates of food going cold. If there had been a maître d or someone more senior around I may have said something. All in all in we would be back but perhaps not on a Tuesday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Six of us went for a lunch to celebrate the birthday of one of the group. Initial impressions were good: as the weather was wonderful it was nice to enjoy a pre lunch drink in the delightful garden. It took a while to serve our drinks, and even longer to take our food order. When we were invited inside, we assumed that our meals were ready. Not a bit of it - we waited even longer for our starter. Service continued to be glacially slow. Pleasant, but very slow indeed. Our meal, booked for 1pm, finished just before 4pm, even after some polite chivying. The food was fine. I complained to the General Manager, who told me that my timings must have been wrong as his staff did not agree. I do not expect to be called a liar; and I have corroboration of my report from others in my party. Apart from this very, very slow service we enjoyed our meal. But I would warn that you need to have lots of time. And the GM is quite prepared to call his guests liars. Quite disgraceful.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank skippo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBathPriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Sir,
We are obviously very sorry to learn that your recent lunch was marred by slow service throughout. What is even more disappointing is that having constructively brought this issue to the attention of our team, your integrity was then questioned.
I would very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss your lunch experience with you, and hope you might contact me personally at The Bath Priory.

Kind regards
Nick Hanson, General Manager, (Not the gentleman you spoke with!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We just stayed at the Bath Priory with our two teenagers as part of our summer vacation. The staff is incredibly attentive and helpful. The rooms are large, as are the bathrooms ( at least by European standards). The hotel is a bit of a walk from the city center, but it is downhill through a very nice park on the way down and a 5 pound cab ride on the way back. The grounds are beautiful and the pool is quite nice, although the rear porch can get chilly late in the day. The breakfast was one of the best we have had in UK, again with incredibly attentive staff. Bath has a lot to offer in terms of attractions, including the Roman Baths and an abbey with 56 stained glass windows depicting the life of Christ. This quaint small hotel is a great place to stay while in the area.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Visited for lunch my Birthday. Oh it was divine. Spent most of the day there. Lunch as usual (been before) is superb, and during the week amazing value! Cocktails on the terrace first, and after lunch, coffee in the beautifully appointed lounge, then spending time in the (NGS) gardens/grounds afterwards. The Kitchen Garden is an inspiration. Staff service is charming and helpful. Nothing too much trouble. I think would like to go and live there when I get very old!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank marion d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.9 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bath Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath Priory

Property: The Bath Priory
Address: Weston Road, Bath BA1 2XT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bath Priory 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within four acres of mature award-winning gardens and spacious terraces, The Bath Priory sets itself apart as a peaceful haven in a bustling city. The Georgian house of honey-coloured Bath stone enjoys a tranquil location just a short walk through Royal Victoria Park to Bath’s city centre and is proud to hold the city’s only Michelin Star for its exceptional cuisine. The award-winning spa has a selection of luxurious treatments, an indoor pool, pool-side sauna, elliptical steam pod and shower. From the moment you enter The Garden Spa by L’OCCITANE, fragrances transport you to Provence; the escape begins with scent. Every gesture, every ingredient, every ritual is drawn from a page of the L’OCCITANE grand herbarium, a resource of hundreds of essential oils and natural ingredients. Steeped in Roman history, the city of Bath is a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Roman Baths, Pump Rooms and Theatre Royal are noteworthy highlights alongside the city’s architectural merits including the Royal Crescent and The Circus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Bath Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing