We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent ,charming hotel,great food and wonderful service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bath Priory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bath Priory
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Woodford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“excellent ,charming hotel,great food and wonderful service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2009

We stayed 2 nights and had a family lunch for a special birthday.The hotel has a country house feel with charming rooms and lovely gardens.
Service was outstanding and lunch in a private room was superb.
All the arrangements and requests were dealt with efficiently and without fuss.
We wholeheartedly recommend for a special occasion or just a break.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mynwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    892
    214
    90
    26
    14
See reviews for
224
777
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
696 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

We were greeted by a very helpful lady on reception who gave us some good tips for parking/restaurants in Bath. We had expected the hotel to be closer to central Bath - it is really a short taxi ride on a cold wet day. The rooms were comfortable if a bit overheated. The rooms we had overlooked lovely gardens. Room service was good with excellent soup! Breakfast was delivered late to the room. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAW64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

This is a lovely B and B but for the prices I expected more. We stayed in this hotel for just one night last week. I was really excited about seeing thjis hotel after reading some of the reviews already listed, however, was a little disappointed. The hotel in a good 10mins drive out of bath. When arriving we were greated by numerous staff and made to feel very welcome. Our room however needed a bit of work. The arms of the chairs were all worn and dirty and paint was chipping from the walls and ceiling. The rooms have no air-con just an old pedastal fan. Our bathroom however was massive and quite new except the entire floor was carpet which had water stains all over it. Service in general was great however we did have to wait 45mins and call twice to get two wine glasses sent to our room. The grounds of this hotel are stunning. Many older guests were staying at The Prioy. My husband and I are both in our 20's and didn't quite fit in..

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cutlet00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

After arriving at the Bath Priory we were shown around the hotel and then to our room (my husband had booked this stay as a treat). The room as requested was a premium deluxe, the receptionist showed us to Honeysuckle on the top floor at the end of the hotel. A beautiful room overlooking the garden at the rear of the hotel. The room was very clean and with beautiful furniture. The bed was a great disappointment, unknown to us it was a plastic interlocking mattress which was very strange and not at all comfortable. We had not been advised that we were being given a room with an unconventional bed in it. We had arranged to stay for three nights on a special tariff of bed, breakfast and evening meal. The first night's meal was amazing with staff to explain each course, the wine was beautiful (but expensive), we chose from the residents menu. Our coffee was served in the library which was extremely cozy.
The position of the Bath Priory is away from the main centre of Bath and does mean you either take a taxi, your car or carry all your shopping back.
The second evening meal seemed less attentive than the first; we seem to be rushed into the dining room before even finishing our pre-dinner drinks. The residents menu had not changed so we decided to order from the a la’carte menu (at £25 each).
The third evening again seemed less attentive, desert wine arriving after our desert had been eaten, no change in menu so the a la’carte was used again.
The food was lovely but could have defiantly done with being changed slightly each evening, bearing in mind the cost of stay. Breakfast was lovely as we decided to have breakfast in our room each morning. There was no room service charge for the breakfast which was very good.
On check-out we advised the receptionist that the bed in Honeysuckle was very uncomfortable and suggested that people are advised prior to having Honeysuckle given to them that there is a different type of bed in there. The receptionist told us that we were the first couple to mention anything about the bed (something that I cannot believe).
All in all, the hotel was lovely, although noisy from the nursery school next door in the afternoons. The cost of the stay for three nights was extremely expensive at £400 per night and that was after asking the hotel for a reduction at the time of booking. I also think that coffee after dinner in the restaurant should be inclusive in the meal we had to pay £9.60 each night for both of us! We will probably return again but only for a very special occasion and not eat in the restaurant each night unless the residence menu changes each night.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank ladyg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager68, Resident Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, 10 November 2009
We did just want to let the readers of Tripadvisor know a little more information about the bed referred to in this review.

It is call an “Ammique” bed which is a very special piece of engineering, The bed uses an ingenious suspension system, providing a comfortable and hygienic bed which will last a life time.

We were the first hotel in the world to offer our guests this unique bed and, conversely to the writer of the review, the comments have been very favourable and the guests have been wowed by it. Other hotels are now also starting to follow suit and offer this special bed. You will see from the Ammique website that the bed does not have a mattress (it is truly a 21st Century bed) - this does throw guests at first but once experienced it is found to be very comfortable. Thank you for reading our response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

We arrived at the Bath Priory to a warm smile and greeting. We were shown around the hotel and finally to our room which was beautiful. As it was our first anniversary we had the romance package and the bed and bathroom was tastefully covered in roses and the biggest bouquet of beautiful lillies, champagne on ice and a card from the hotel wishing us a happy anniversary.
We ate in the restaurant and the food was amazing as was the service. When we took coffee in the lounge it was brought through with pettit fours with happy anniversary iced in the slate. The whole hotel made us feel very special and it was heartfelt, not just going through the motions.
We had alovely day in Bath doing the tourist trail and hitting a few shops. When we returned we had a bottle of wine on terrace watching the sun go down in the lovely gardens.
Breakfast was the best we have ever eaten, the first morning we ate in our room and the second we ate in the restaurant. There was no difference in quality or quantiy and it was still hot when it arrived in our room.
When we received our bill the nicest surprise was there was no service charge for turn down or bringing breakfast or the hospitality tray which was a refreshing change as some hotels really abuse the 'service charge'
All in all we were sad to leave but will definatly be returning

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2009

Arrived after checking out of the awful Woolley Grange - what a difference, were greeted by helpful receptionist and shown to our luxurious spotless room which overlooked the grounds (you could never tire of looking at them). The stay was luxury from start to finish. The food was wonderful and the staff could not do enough to meet our needs. Our eleven month old was looked after perfectly and I would totally recommend this break for a family. The beds were hard to get out of as they were so comfortable and if the weather had been bad we would have been totally happy to hang out in our room or around the hotel. The bathrooms were huge and the complimentary toiletries were all molton brown. Each day our room was cleaned and upon entering after our long days out the room like it had upon our first arrival. The spa has just been recently refurbished and is very beautiful. On the whole we didn't want to leave. If you ever get a chance stay at this hotel for a truly relaxing, luxury break.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tudseyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield County CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2009

The prfessionalism of the staff is the best I have ever seen with the possible exception of the Ritz in Madrid. We chose Heather and I strongly urge you to get a garden view--it's glorious. Heather has a small balcony that is extra pleasant. Comfortable, clean, wonderful bed, linens and bath and amenities. We treated ourselves to an a la carte dinner in the restaurant and it was extraordinary. When I could eat no more and pushed aside my plate, within one minute two staff members asked if everything was satisfactory . They accommodated food preferences without a blink, modifying the accompaniments to the meal.
The public rooms are spectacular, the gardens well worth a stroll, the breakfasts would satisfy anyone. It's a good walk down to the center of town, and we elected to take a 5 pound car ride back up, which was wise for us.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Newyorkcitygirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.9 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bath Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath Priory

Property: The Bath Priory
Address: Weston Road, Bath BA1 2XT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bath Priory 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within four acres of mature award-winning gardens and spacious terraces, The Bath Priory sets itself apart as a peaceful haven in a bustling city. The Georgian house of honey-coloured Bath stone enjoys a tranquil location just a short walk through Royal Victoria Park to Bath’s city centre and is proud to hold the city’s only Michelin Star for its exceptional cuisine. The award-winning spa has a selection of luxurious treatments, an indoor pool, pool-side sauna, elliptical steam pod and shower. From the moment you enter The Garden Spa by L’OCCITANE, fragrances transport you to Provence; the escape begins with scent. Every gesture, every ingredient, every ritual is drawn from a page of the L’OCCITANE grand herbarium, a resource of hundreds of essential oils and natural ingredients. Steeped in Roman history, the city of Bath is a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Roman Baths, Pump Rooms and Theatre Royal are noteworthy highlights alongside the city’s architectural merits including the Royal Crescent and The Circus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bath Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing