We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would have my last meal on earth here!”
Review of The Bath Priory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bath Priory
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
East Sussex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I would have my last meal on earth here!”
Reviewed 25 February 2011

What a fabulous hotel, attentive and smiling staff, beautiful rooms, enormous beds, charming garden, excellent position for wandering into Bath through a lovely park. But for me undoubtedly the highlight of my stay was the food. We had the most amazing dinner, twice. The chef is truly gifted and I am incredulous that he has not already been given a Michelin star. Sam Moody is a young man to watch, move over Jamie Oliver and other ageing/swearing 'celebrity' chefs you have met your match!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BabyGuiness12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    229
    97
    29
    15
See reviews for
237
833
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

The quality of service was exceptional: attentive, efficient and friendly with a real desire to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We were celebrating an anniversary and the staff arranged some lovely little extra touches to make our weekend really special. The room was immaculate, the lounges sumptuously appointed and the food and wine were perfect. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay, re-ignited an old association with Bath and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stroller35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

My friend and I took advantage of the exceptional value for money-current lunch menu ie: 3 courses for £25.50. The good news is that the Priory are extending it throughout March. The meal was comparable with anything served by the Walnut Tree and the Crown @ Whitebrook, both of which have Michelin stars, so no such accolade for this jewel of a restaurant.
The Hotel is quintesentially English, delightful ambience, lovely grounds, admittedly not a their best on a miserable February day, supremely professional staff who are attentive but not obsequeous, and last but not least the food.
The bread, particularly the tomato and black olive and the amuses bouche perfectly complimented but not over-powered each course and were perfectly judged.
I started with the pressed terrine of confit chicken, accompanied by an apricot chutney and pickled mushroms, subtle flavors that worked a treat and gave a fair indication of the delights to come. For the main, slow roast rump of local lamb that was cooked as per my instructions-delicious and finally a hot blackcurrant souffle that the waiter pierced and poured in a blackcurrant coulis, not to mention the mouth-watering sorbet. Quite frankly, it was one of the best deserts I have ever tasted. So, Hat's off to the Priory ces't manifique!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obsidian1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stromness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

A really enjoyable experience for a person such as myself who appreciates good food and drink. My room was very comfortable initially hot but soon adjusted this with the obvious temperature controls. The dinners, selected from two tasting menus were magnificent. A real treat of construction and taste. I would also like to make special mention of the Sommelier who took a great deal of time and trouble to put together a wine flight of single glasses of wine that matched the courses of the tasting menu. The whole experience was simply heavenly! In other respects all the staff were polite friendly and efficient. I am already looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony_Barthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We stayed here with close family for 2 days for our wedding in Bath. The events organiser was incredibly helpful and did a good job at putting us at ease throughout. All hotel staff were also excellent. The hotel itself is beautiful and made for some fantastic wedding pictures. We also had a private dinner at the hotel which exceeded all of our expectations by some distance. I'm sure there are cheaper alternatives out there but you definitely get what you pay for (and more). Truly memorable, would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickA79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Stayed at the Bath Priory hotel a couple of weeks ago just for one night. This really is a place for a proper treat. The staff are so professional - it's a pleasure to watch them moving effortlessly from guest to guest. It's almost like a ballet. Their timing is superb! The efficiency of the two breakfast waiters as they cleared and re-laid the tables would meet Michel Roux' exacting standards, I am sure! But above all they all had personality and charm. Every guest was made to feel special and there is nothing stuffy about the attitude of the staff. The beds are so comfortable too. Makes you want to buy a new bed at home. Great food too, with such attention to detail. Home-made chocolate chip cookies served with afternoon tea were divine.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edge, Gloucestershire
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We met some friends for coffee. Very friendly hotel, plush furnishing and friendly, efficient staff

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank champagneboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
1.7 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bath Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath Priory

Property: The Bath Priory
Address: Weston Road, Bath BA1 2XT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bath Priory 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within four acres of mature award-winning gardens and spacious terraces, The Bath Priory sets itself apart as a peaceful haven in a bustling city. The Georgian house of honey-coloured Bath stone enjoys a tranquil location just a short walk through Royal Victoria Park to Bath’s city centre and is proud to hold the city’s only Michelin Star for its exceptional cuisine. The award-winning spa has a selection of luxurious treatments, an indoor pool, pool-side sauna, elliptical steam pod and shower. From the moment you enter The Garden Spa by L’OCCITANE, fragrances transport you to Provence; the escape begins with scent. Every gesture, every ingredient, every ritual is drawn from a page of the L’OCCITANE grand herbarium, a resource of hundreds of essential oils and natural ingredients. Steeped in Roman history, the city of Bath is a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Roman Baths, Pump Rooms and Theatre Royal are noteworthy highlights alongside the city’s architectural merits including the Royal Crescent and The Circus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Bath Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing