We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Roseate Villa Bath
Ranked #12 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I would highly recommend this lovely B&B and am already telling all my friends about it! We arrived much earlier than planned and despite this, the lovely staff got the room ready for us and gave us coffee and cake while we waited, The room itself was lovely and spotlessly clean and the bed was amazingly comfortable. The staff really couldn't have been more friendly or welcoming and it really made our (unfortunately short) stay really special. The location was a 5 min walk (across the Pulteney Bridge) into the city centre so was perfect for our visit to the Bath Spa. Breakfast is worth a mention too - the choice was really amazing and it was absolutely delicious. I really hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat76London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

We were delighted to receive this review - thank you so much for taking the time to post this. For a small business like us, your views are a huge influence on encouraging more people to choose us over other alternatives. All of our staff work really hard to ensure guests have a happy and relaxing stay - so thank you for your kind comments about them! Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,493 - 1,499 of 1,761 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2012

Highly recommend this boutique B&B. Room was excellent with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was something to look forward to each day with the added bonus of a Bucks, if needed! The staff are a positive asset to the business, where nothing was too much trouble. Looking forward to a return visit with friends.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GandL974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

So pleased you enjoyed your stay. And many thanks for your kind comments about our lovely team of staff. It's so good when their efforts are noticed!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We have just had a lovely 2 night stay at Villa Magdala. It is a perfect location (a 5 minute walk to all the shops and restaurants), with friendly and helpful staff and such a beautiful hotel. Our room was modern, clean and comfortable with a lovely comfy bed and luxurious bedding. We loved the little extra touch of fresh milk in a little flask for our room available at any time of the day or night instead of the usual cartons of uht milk in a lot of hotels. The breakfast is the best we've ever had! Full English the first morning for me and Eggs Florentine the next - wonderful! It was our first visit to Bath and Villa Magdala, but it will not be our last. It will always be special to us as we got engaged this weekend too!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KazJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Thank you for all your lovely comments - we were all so thrilled to hear of your engagement. We just love a bit of romance! Many congratulations to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We have just returned from Bath from the Hotel Magdala and already wishing I could go again. the welcome is just as relaxed and splendid as the other reviews have stated. nothing is too much trouble for the staff. fresh milk whenever we wanted delivered to the bedroom door in a flask to keep it cold in the warm rooms!! is that not attention to detail? I also had a conversation with one of the owners which helped me to save £75.00 which I was unaware that I would have paid until this was brought to my attention. That paid for the celebratory meal (Husbands birthday) which was also booked by the hotel for me at the fabulous Jamie Oliver's Restaurant. - I think on it as a free meal therefore Huge and big and extra large thanks indeed to the Hotel Magdala.. I must also say that it is the best bed I have ever slept in. I had a full 8 hours sleep each night - made me realise We certainly need a new bed at home! the 5 minutes walk on mainly flat pavements into the very centre of Bath was perfect for poor little leggies. Breakfast with bucks fizz!! wow never been offered that before! as well as the best bacon ever. oh to be rich and able to live permanently in this fab hotel. loved every minute of my stay. thank you to all concerned.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hdj717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Thank you, thank you! So happy to receive your review!

And pleased we were able to offer you our very best rates. Tip for other guests - please look at our OWN web-site for the best inclusive rates. It shows real-time availability too! Or call us directly and we'll be pleased to offer the best rates to you for a telephone reservation.

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here and the rooms were amazing. We were greeted and offered tea/coffee and sponge cake as we relaxed prior to checking in. Our bags were delivered to our rooms for us. My only concern would be: they do not have a lift and if you weren't able to walk up multiple flights of stairs this might not be the perfect place for you. Otherwise, it was an amazing place to stay in Bath.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cwscats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - and for your helpful comments for other guests. We do have three beautiful ground floor rooms, well away from any noise, which are suitable for any guests who have a problem with stairs - although our stairs are wide and shallow so we rarely have problems.

Please do come back soon - it's the Christmas Market in Bath soon and a magical time to visit!
Thank you for taking the time to write a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Booked for two night trip to Bath. The staff were very courteous, cheerful and looked after your every need. The hotel itself is very well situated. Only a 10 minute slow walk to the centre of town, yet in a very tranquil area, just opposite a beautiful park. The interior appears to have been recently refurbished and the en-suite room was large and very comfortable. The bed was huge and very comfortable. There was a varied choice at breakfast, it is a B&B only, everything from Bucks fizz and various other juices to, cereals, tea, coffee, toast and the finest of cooked meals to set you up for the day.
Absolute silence at night, needed the windows open as very warm.
The only word of warning is parking is very tight and, limited for guests, but they manage to squeeze everyone in.

Room Tip: One of the top rooms for space and comfort, but it is three flights of stairs so if trouble getting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taz423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

So pleased you liked your room - we really appreciate every review as it is invaluable in helping other guests pick their ideal hotel. And hopefully such a lovely review will ensure they pick us!
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My girlfriend and I had such a lovely stay at the Villa Magdala. The staff were very friendly and helpful; the bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on; the room was gorgeous and a wonderful en suite - we were truly indulged! Oh and the breakfast... Stunning! The best eggs Benedict I have ever had.

5 minute walk into the city where there are lovely bars and restaurants, we stumbled across 'The Tramshed' on our first night, which was very good.

Thank you Villa Magdala, we will be back and we will definitely recommend you to friends and family!

Chris

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

We really appreciate you taking the time to write this review - and for your offer to recommend us to friends and family. Nothing works more successfully than a personal recommendation!

I have tweeted the Tramshed too to pass on your comments - nothing better than a pat on the back! Bath does have some great bars and restaurants! Do come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.7 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 32 in Bath
1,312 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#10 of 32 in Bath
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roseate Villa Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roseate Villa Bath

Address: Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LX, England (Formerly Villa at Henrietta Park)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £111 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Roseate Villa Bath 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute level stroll to the centre of Bath with all its attractions, The Roseate Villa Bath is a handsome Victorian townhouse, set within its own gardens with an off-street car-park. So close to the heart of the city, yet the hotel is in a quiet road, opposite leafy Henrietta Park, so none of the usual late night city noise to disturb a blissful night's sleep. 21 stylishly refurbished bedrooms offer a 5 star rated boutique experience, with heavenly Hypnos beds, double or superking size, with feather light goose down duvets and crisp cotton bed linen. Well-equipped bathrooms include fluffy bath sheets, and luxury toiletries. Gourmet breakfasts are served in a light, airy ground floor dining room, overlooking the park, all freshly cooked to order from a range of quality locally-sourced ingredients. Marry all this with a team of friendly, quietly efficient staff, ready to recommend and book all kinds of entertainment for you - a truly charming and characterful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your The Roseate Villa Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Magdala Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing