We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Claridges of B&B's!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Roseate Villa Bath
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2012

I honestly found it very difficult to leave Villa Magdala! It is so, so much more than a Bed and Breakfast, far more like a chic boutique hotel or a mini Claridges!
We stayed in room 23; lovely big room & bathroom, shower and bath, The White Co. toiletries, lots of fluffy towels, tea&coffee making facilities and a super-comfy big bed.
Breakfast is perfectly executed; friendly staff on hand to greet you and show you where to sit. Bucks Fizz on offer (if you want to start your holiday off with a sparkle!), tasty toast rounds, BIG pots of tea/coffee, continental breakfast buffet and amazing cooked courses. Recommend Eggs Royal or Benedict-both so good!
Rooms were elegantly decorated in grey, black and white and cleaned to a very high standard every day, staff were all lovely and very quick to respond to any requests.
Magdala is situated very close to town and all Bath's restaurants, bars, theatres and independent shops. It takes about five to ten minutes to walk to Milsom Street and the staff can recommend places to visit if you are new to the city.
If you are looking for a chic and relaxing stay in Bath, you would be well advised to check out Villa Magdala. Take it from me, it's pretty special.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkymuffinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Thank you so much for this - it was lovely having you to stay. We were rather over-awed by the Claridge's comparison so that will keep us on our toes!

Happy New year to you both!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,456 - 1,462 of 1,743 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2012

We were allocated Room No 2 upon arrival - right next to the main entrance, Reception and opposite the Breakfast Room.( Just wish I had paid more attention to the reviews relating to this dreadful Room No 2 at the point of booking!) We booked a 'Good' room for 2 nights and indeed the bedroom itself was fine. Bathroom was freezing cold- probably the worst bathroom I have experienced with Hotels and B&Bs. Wall heater in bathroom did not work so reported this fault and this was fixed on the Saturday. No 'power' to power shower and luke warm water. The hand held shower was better but then just left with one hand to wash etc. No room to place cosmetic bags etc - could consider installing shelving.
Woken at 6am on Saturday morning by the heating system? A terrific bang that went on for ages! Worse the following morning- woken at 5:40 am - blinds shaking and terrific noise.Following this, loud voices preparing breakfast, almost with no regard for 'sleeping' guests; reception staff ordering newspapers,door bell ringing.Positives- breakfast was excellent and so was the waiter service. Location and parking also excellent. Please consider converting room No 2 into a Lounge area? Or, at the least, explain to guests that this Room, because of its location is subjected to a GREAT deal of noise.....and consider reducing the price. This is 1 of 3 B&Bs in Bath we have stayed in - 139 and Hawkins were superb -just a bit further to walk into town. Had we a decent room ( Good is fine, it was just the location) I would be more generous with my rating.

Room Tip: Avoid Room No 2!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Thank you for the generous comments but overall we were so disappointed with this lowly rating. Just a couple of points to make. First, we were sorry that you didn't like your room but this was the only room available in the category you had chosen, despite booking as early as the previous May - it was the last weekend of the Bath Christmas Market so a very very busy weekend for us.

The heater in the bathroom is on a thermostat - it cuts in and out as the temperature falls. So it wasn't broken, just not working above 20 degrees Celsius so hard to understand how the bathroom was so cold.

No other comments or concerns were raised with us or any of our staff until these guests came to check out - a great shame as one of our other guests cut short their stay due to a family crisis and we could have moved these guests to another room if we had known of their concerns.

We have had other reviews of this room where other guests describe any noise levels as minimal. ( See alan 443 29th November and kenao 10th November) This room is often particularly requested by any guests who don't want to tackle stairs - and very few hotels in Bath can offer ground floor rooms.

As for reducing the price, the room rate for this room is particularly keen already but these guests did have a further discount applied to their bill which they neglect to mention in their review.

So sorry they were disappointed but if only they had mentioned these issues during their stay then we have a chance to put things right..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We have just had a lovely weekend at the Villa Magdala.From the moment we arrived with a welcome cup of tea and xmas cake to the little chocolates in our room.The room itself was number 1 at the back of the buiding with a nice view .bath towels were gorgeous. Generous in size and suitably fluffy! The staff were all polite,professional and saw to all our needs. The best bit was the breakfast! I had eggs florentine both mornings as they were so good! Although looking at other peoples plates of food it all looked good. Bucks fizz was offered too.Everything was so clean and well presented. Not just some greasy fry up.We never had to ask for anything during breakfast as the staff were always one step ahead.Very good location. Only three minute walk into the centre..It was more than just a Bed and Breakfast. As others have said...it was like a chic boutique hotel. The only thing missing was a lounge.
I would highly recommend the Villa magdala.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubbyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm always delighted when our guests comment on our bed linen and towels - we made a decision that this was a vital part of the 'boutique hotel' experience so, despite the expense, we went ahead and choose the best! I'm so pleased that you and other guests have noticed! Nothing nicer than crisp Eygptian cotton and huge fluffy bath sheets..........................thank you!

Please do come back - Bath is beautiful in the quieter winter months and we're offering some fantastic mid-week rates! Happy Christmas to you from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We found this hotel online and were impressed by the location ( 5 min walk to centre of Bath )
and car parking. We wanted somewhere close to visit the Christmas market recently without having to worry about parking in the centre of Bath. We were very impressed by the whole place including the friendly staff, the big clean room and ensuite bathroom. The breakfast was brilliant too in the lovely dining room. One bit of advice is to book direct with the hotel then you get free parking and breakfast otherwise if you use other websites you pay extra for these.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would gladly visit again.
It would be even better if they started to do evening meals but there are plenty of restaurants to choose from in Bath.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Thank you for this great review. It is helpful for other guests, new to Bath, to know how useful it is to have car-parking provided in an off street car-park. Permits, offered by most city cenre hotesl, are fine but at busy times it can be hard to find a space on the street, and these can often be some distance from the hotel where they are staying.

We don't offer evening meals as most guests are looking forward to discovering some of the wonderful restaurants Bath has to offer - and we are happy to recommend places and make reservations. Running a restaurant can be an expensive business - we prefer to try keep room rates affordable and ensure that breakfast is a feast to remember.

Thank you again - and have a very Happy Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We visited back to attend a wedding and arrived on Christmas Market opening weekend. Upon arrival we were welcomed with tea and Christmas cake by Chrissy. She sat with us to go through our reservations then showed us to our room. The rooms were beautiful, the beds very comfortable and linens were great.
The location is a short walk from the center of the Bath. The staff was incredibly helpful in recommending places, calling taxis and anything we needed during out stay. I highly recommend this B&B. For American's who travel , know it's not the B&B you are use to in the states. This is more like a high end boutique hotel.
Thank you for such a great stay and your staff was wonderful. We'd like to point out one of your team members, Chrissy , who we really enjoyed dealing with while we were there.

Room Tip: There is a room on the bottom floor, which is at the end of the hall, that has the largest bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

We can't stop Chrissy smiling! Thank you for your kind remarks. It was a very busy weekend when you stayed so all the staff were working flat out to provide a good service to all our guests - and a pat on the back is so welcome!

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay - Bath is a magiclal city! Especially for a wedding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend break at Villa Magdala, and I have to say that it was perfect - if it was possible to award 6 stars, we would! As we were travelling down from Yorkshire, and wanted to spend as much time as possible in Bath, I had asked prior to our arrival if it would be possible to park early, and check in at the normal time. No problems at all, a good start. When we did check in, we were made extremely welcome, complimentary coffee and Christmas cake, before being shown to our room, where our luggage had already been taken.. We had decided to splash out on a "Best" room as were were celebrating a 40th anniversary, and were delighted with it. The bed was enormous, and the most comfortable we have stayed in years, tea and coffee and fresh milk ( the staff happily bring you a flask of fresh milk any time up to 9pm) and the whole place was absolutely spotless. The breafast was delicious, everything you could wish for and more, but most of all, every single member of staff was a credit to the Magdala, so welcoming, courteous, and discreet. Without a doubt, we will happily recommend this Boutique Bed and Breakfast to anyone visiting Bath and hopefully will return soon ourselves

Room Tip: We had room 25, a Best room which is on the ground floor and perfect if you have problems with stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Thank you so much - we were so thrilled with your comments. Without exception, our staff try their very hardest to ensure all our guests feel well looked after - and they are empowered to do whatever it takes to achieve that. So for their efforts to be recognised so generously is wonderful. Everyone was over the moon!
Have a very Happy Christmas from all of us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Arrived early and offered coffee and Xmas cake, no problems there. Room was warm and very comfortable and of a good size and having stayed before in Bath is also very good value. We had the lowest level of room as it was the only room they had available. All the staff were friendly and the location was spot on, only 5 mins from main centre and rugby ground.

Why not 5 points? Car park could do with widening by a meter or so to allow vehicles to be parked easier, not so easy after a 3 hour drive and the over head shower ( size of a dinner plate )had limited power, hand held alterantive was very good tho.

Pause for thought, If you book through Expedior etc just remember that they take a significant part of the cost as a booking fee and the hotel has a small charge for parking in this instance. We booked direct, free parking and also offered ( not requested ) a £10 reduction so always try to go direct.

Would return to this accomodation again without doubt.

Room Tip: Room 2 is next to the main entrance and reception and there is minimal noise from this but I would u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Thank you for this positive review. Let me respond to your comment re the parking..............we are one of the very few central Bath hotels with a private off-street car-park. We would love to widen it but being in the centre of a UNESCO World heritage city, in the heart of the Conservation Area, the green spaces are strictly protected and we have been advised that this would not be acceptable to the numerous authorities that have to approve these matters! If all our guests park neatly then we do not have a problem in fitting everyone in, albeit that it is tight! For those who arrive in very large vehicles, then we can provide a permit for the quiet residential road outside - and we don't charge if you've booked directly with us. Parking in Bath is a nightmare - which is why so many of our guests choose us.

I do hope you mentioned the shower pressure during your stay - we are always happy to call out our maintenence team to resolve any problems like this.

Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.7 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,305 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#10 of 34 in Bath
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roseate Villa Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roseate Villa Bath

Address: At Henrietta Park Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LX, England (Formerly Villa at Henrietta Park)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £113 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Roseate Villa Bath 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute level stroll to the centre of Bath with all its attractions, The Roseate Villa Bath is a handsome Victorian townhouse, set within its own gardens with an off-street car-park. So close to the heart of the city, yet the hotel is in a quiet road, opposite leafy Henrietta Park, so none of the usual late night city noise to disturb a blissful night's sleep. 21 stylishly refurbished bedrooms offer a 5 star rated boutique experience, with heavenly Hypnos beds, double or superking size, with feather light goose down duvets and crisp cotton bed linen. Well-equipped bathrooms include fluffy bath sheets, and luxury toiletries. Gourmet breakfasts are served in a light, airy ground floor dining room, overlooking the park, all freshly cooked to order from a range of quality locally-sourced ingredients. Marry all this with a team of friendly, quietly efficient staff, ready to recommend and book all kinds of entertainment for you - a truly charming and characterful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your The Roseate Villa Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Magdala Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing