We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Magdala!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Roseate Villa Bath
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magnificent Magdala!”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

My boyfriend and I spent a pre-Christmas weekend here and loved every minute of it. The standards were excellent and it exceeded all expectations. The rooms were spacious, luxurious and cosy with high quality furniture and furnishings which made them very comfortable. Thick, snuggly dressing gowns, towels and slippers all provided too! The modern decor with period features made the room really stylish. We had some friends staying in another room and their room was gorgeous too.

However, the best was yet to come....Breakfast was exceptional. My first try of eggs benedict and I was totally won over, even looking up how to make hollandaise sauce once home! An extensive range of meals on the breakfast menu, beautiful mini pastries, fresh juices, toast, condiments galore and bucks fizz! All the above served by welcoming friendly staff and, when we were there, an opportunity to meet the delightful owners who were busy mucking in, ensuring all were happy.

On top of this, the location is incredible. A short stroll (easy enough even in high heels) and you are in the centre of Bath - an incredible city. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lottie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
So pleased you all enjoyed your stay - Bath is a fantastic city for a weekend away with some great restaurants and bars to discover as well as the shops! But you're right to point out the level stroll into the city centre - there are a lot of hills in Bath so if you don't want a hike uphill after a lovely dinner, it's worth staying in the centre!

We hope to see you all soon! And thanks for the lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,457
    181
    34
    11
    4
See reviews for
254
1,070
30
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at Villa Magdala in October. I choose this hotel due to the parking, location - which is perfect for the centre of Bath (only 5-10 mins walk from the Abbey), as well as the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor. I have to say we were not disappointed, We were able to check in early, after parking right outside the door, and enjoyed complimentary cake and drinks. The room (a better room) was spacious and tastefully decorated with a nice view of the garden. You could tell the bed was luxurious (although a little too firm for my liking) and the room was well equipped. The bathroom had both a bath and a shower although the water pressure was weak from the shower (as noted by previous reviewers). The breakfast at Villa Magdala was amazing though. As vegetarians there was a lot of choice and the quality of the food was the best we have experienced for breakfast. The dining room was very grand and beautifully decorated with a lovely view of the park. The staff could not do enough for you and were really attentive and caring. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Villa Magdala. We can't wait to come back and would not consider staying anywhere else whilst in Bath. If you want to stay at a really stylish place, which is comfy and spacious, with free parking close to the city centre and fantastic food then Villa Magdala is the place for you. Thanks so much and hope to see you in the New Year.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teens74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope you come back to see us again soon. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast - we source most items locally and , as foodies ourselves, we try to buy really good quality ingedients - and we have a great chef who puts it all together! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Stayed here 2 nights with my mum. Beautiful clean rooms and comfy beds. Staff just couldn't do enough to help us. Breakfasts were great too. Fantastic location, a few minutes flat walk to the city centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Another lovely review- thank you so much. It was so busy just before Christmas so it's great that we lived up to expectations. Please come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012


My girlfriend and I have just returned from a couple of days at Villa Magdala – we’re running the Bath Half in March so wanted to check out the route and do some Christmas shopping. I’ve stayed before but not since it’s been renovated. When I came to post this review, I saw the recent review of the same room we stayed in and just couldn’t believe it was the same room.
Room 2 is lovely – beautifully decorated with a super comfy king-size bed, very light and airy.   Yes, it’s near Reception but it is one of the lowest priced rooms  and really good value for central Bath!  And the rate includes free parking – two and half days in our case so that was great.  The bathroom is newly fitted out with a big walk in shower – piping hot water all the time even in the middle of the afternoon when I wanted a shower after a run.  And cosy too with a thermostatically controlled bathroom heater – when we checked in it was explained to us how to switch this off if we didn’t want it to run in the night – very useful.  And reminded that we needed to switch it back on in the morning – even more useful!  
A little noise at around 8.15 when we could hear other guests coming down to breakfast but certainly not intrusive – and what busy city centre hotel is perfectly silent?
We loved it and will be back – we may book one of their Best rooms if it is a special occasion as they do look lovely but if it’s good value for money you’re after, Room 2 is just fine.  Thanks too to all the lovely staff who made us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristianDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Thank you for your assessment of Room 2 - it seems to bring out differing views from our guests. But, as you point out, it's great value for money and the noise is not intrusive in any way.

Good luck in the Bath Half - we'll be cheering you on as the start is just outside the hotel! A great weekend for the city. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

I honestly found it very difficult to leave Villa Magdala! It is so, so much more than a Bed and Breakfast, far more like a chic boutique hotel or a mini Claridges!
We stayed in room 23; lovely big room & bathroom, shower and bath, The White Co. toiletries, lots of fluffy towels, tea&coffee making facilities and a super-comfy big bed.
Breakfast is perfectly executed; friendly staff on hand to greet you and show you where to sit. Bucks Fizz on offer (if you want to start your holiday off with a sparkle!), tasty toast rounds, BIG pots of tea/coffee, continental breakfast buffet and amazing cooked courses. Recommend Eggs Royal or Benedict-both so good!
Rooms were elegantly decorated in grey, black and white and cleaned to a very high standard every day, staff were all lovely and very quick to respond to any requests.
Magdala is situated very close to town and all Bath's restaurants, bars, theatres and independent shops. It takes about five to ten minutes to walk to Milsom Street and the staff can recommend places to visit if you are new to the city.
If you are looking for a chic and relaxing stay in Bath, you would be well advised to check out Villa Magdala. Take it from me, it's pretty special.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkymuffinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Thank you so much for this - it was lovely having you to stay. We were rather over-awed by the Claridge's comparison so that will keep us on our toes!

Happy New year to you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We were allocated Room No 2 upon arrival - right next to the main entrance, Reception and opposite the Breakfast Room.( Just wish I had paid more attention to the reviews relating to this dreadful Room No 2 at the point of booking!) We booked a 'Good' room for 2 nights and indeed the bedroom itself was fine. Bathroom was freezing cold- probably the worst bathroom I have experienced with Hotels and B&Bs. Wall heater in bathroom did not work so reported this fault and this was fixed on the Saturday. No 'power' to power shower and luke warm water. The hand held shower was better but then just left with one hand to wash etc. No room to place cosmetic bags etc - could consider installing shelving.
Woken at 6am on Saturday morning by the heating system? A terrific bang that went on for ages! Worse the following morning- woken at 5:40 am - blinds shaking and terrific noise.Following this, loud voices preparing breakfast, almost with no regard for 'sleeping' guests; reception staff ordering newspapers,door bell ringing.Positives- breakfast was excellent and so was the waiter service. Location and parking also excellent. Please consider converting room No 2 into a Lounge area? Or, at the least, explain to guests that this Room, because of its location is subjected to a GREAT deal of noise.....and consider reducing the price. This is 1 of 3 B&Bs in Bath we have stayed in - 139 and Hawkins were superb -just a bit further to walk into town. Had we a decent room ( Good is fine, it was just the location) I would be more generous with my rating.

Room Tip: Avoid Room No 2!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Thank you for the generous comments but overall we were so disappointed with this lowly rating. Just a couple of points to make. First, we were sorry that you didn't like your room but this was the only room available in the category you had chosen, despite booking as early as the previous May - it was the last weekend of the Bath Christmas Market so a very very busy weekend for us.

The heater in the bathroom is on a thermostat - it cuts in and out as the temperature falls. So it wasn't broken, just not working above 20 degrees Celsius so hard to understand how the bathroom was so cold.

No other comments or concerns were raised with us or any of our staff until these guests came to check out - a great shame as one of our other guests cut short their stay due to a family crisis and we could have moved these guests to another room if we had known of their concerns.

We have had other reviews of this room where other guests describe any noise levels as minimal. ( See alan 443 29th November and kenao 10th November) This room is often particularly requested by any guests who don't want to tackle stairs - and very few hotels in Bath can offer ground floor rooms.

As for reducing the price, the room rate for this room is particularly keen already but these guests did have a further discount applied to their bill which they neglect to mention in their review.

So sorry they were disappointed but if only they had mentioned these issues during their stay then we have a chance to put things right..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We have just had a lovely weekend at the Villa Magdala.From the moment we arrived with a welcome cup of tea and xmas cake to the little chocolates in our room.The room itself was number 1 at the back of the buiding with a nice view .bath towels were gorgeous. Generous in size and suitably fluffy! The staff were all polite,professional and saw to all our needs. The best bit was the breakfast! I had eggs florentine both mornings as they were so good! Although looking at other peoples plates of food it all looked good. Bucks fizz was offered too.Everything was so clean and well presented. Not just some greasy fry up.We never had to ask for anything during breakfast as the staff were always one step ahead.Very good location. Only three minute walk into the centre..It was more than just a Bed and Breakfast. As others have said...it was like a chic boutique hotel. The only thing missing was a lounge.
I would highly recommend the Villa magdala.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubbyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm always delighted when our guests comment on our bed linen and towels - we made a decision that this was a vital part of the 'boutique hotel' experience so, despite the expense, we went ahead and choose the best! I'm so pleased that you and other guests have noticed! Nothing nicer than crisp Eygptian cotton and huge fluffy bath sheets..........................thank you!

Please do come back - Bath is beautiful in the quieter winter months and we're offering some fantastic mid-week rates! Happy Christmas to you from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
1.7 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roseate Villa Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roseate Villa Bath

Property: The Roseate Villa Bath
Address: Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LX, England (Formerly Villa at Henrietta Park)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Roseate Villa Bath 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute level stroll to the centre of Bath with all its attractions, The Roseate Villa Bath is a handsome Victorian townhouse, set within its own gardens with an off-street car-park. So close to the heart of the city, yet the hotel is in a quiet road, opposite leafy Henrietta Park, so none of the usual late night city noise to disturb a blissful night's sleep. 21 stylishly refurbished bedrooms offer a 5 star rated boutique experience, with heavenly Hypnos beds, double or superking size, with feather light goose down duvets and crisp cotton bed linen. Well-equipped bathrooms include fluffy bath sheets, and luxury toiletries. Gourmet breakfasts are served in a light, airy ground floor dining room, overlooking the park, all freshly cooked to order from a range of quality locally-sourced ingredients. Marry all this with a team of friendly, quietly efficient staff, ready to recommend and book all kinds of entertainment for you - a truly charming and characterful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Roseate Villa Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Magdala Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing