We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury in Bath” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa at Henrietta Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa at Henrietta Park
Ranked #13 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
120 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Luxury in Bath”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Villa Magdala was a wonderful find in Bath -- centrally located in a Victorian townhouse which had a very unique staircase running through it. The room was outstanding -- remarkably serene, incredibly comfortable, and beautifully decorated. The staff were extremely attentive and welcoming. Breakfast was also a treat and among the best on my recent tour through the UK -- a buffet with a wide range of locally produced and healthy items (including freshly squeezed orange juice, beautifully cut fruit, and fresh baked pastries). In addition to the buffet, a hot breakfast course is also provided, which featured the same thoughtful use of local healthy products.

Excellent amenities and wifi.

If I am returning to Bath, I hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Often_on_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that it was one of the best breakfasts from your time in the UK. Our housekeeping girls do a wonderful job and the rooms always sparkle!

We do hope to see you on your next trip to the UK!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,348
    169
    33
    11
    4
See reviews for
222
1,002
28
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was our second stay at the Villa Magdala and it certainly has maintained its excellent standards. The room decor is beautiful and immaculately clean. The bathroom in the 'good' rooms is very small but stylish. Breakfast is first rate. We will return.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Look forward to seeing you for your third visit! So glad that you enjoyed your first visit enough to come a second time! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A lovely B and B with excellent service and very comfortable. An easy five minute walk into the city centre, on a quiet road with a lovely park immediately opposite. Coffee for us when we arrived early was much appreciated as was the inclusive car parking. Breakfast was excellent. Beautifully maintained throughout - I'd certainly recommend the Villa Magdala.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carrockfell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for the lovely review - and do recommend us to friends and family it helps a great deal! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

It is very rare to find such a fine BandB. Our stay was exceptional from the cup of tea and pastry when we arrived, the fine room on the ground floor, to the kindness of the receptionist when we made our departure. I am sure we will be back and we recommend this to anyone staying in Bath.

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kurtski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you we love a shout out to family and friends it is the way we do most of our business by recommendations! We really appreciate the time taken to write us a review. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at Villa Magdala and wished that it had been for a longer period. The accommodation provided was excellent as was the breakfast provided, and service from all those with who we had contact during our stay. The availability of parking at this location so close to the centre of Bath was a great advantage for us.

Room Tip: The room facing the garden was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review - so glad that everything was to your liking. Hope to see you on your next visit to the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

First visit to Bath we decided to stay at the Villa Magdala. I wanted a bath & only had one Best room available for our dates. Arrival was lovely offered a drink & hot cross bun was a nice touch. We were at the front on the top floor and looked over the park opposite. Room was lovely with good facilities & nice decor! The bed for me wasn't that comfy but was ok for my husband. The breakfasts were ok have had better eggs benedict before too much hollandaise altho I was probably put off from nearly choking on a long dark hair in my grapefruit juice (I have short blonde hair)!! As it's a b&b it's quite small and a bit noisy at times. I have recommended and would stay again but only if I could get a better deal (paid £370 for 2 nights) and thought that was too much, for what you get for your money.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dbjm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your review, I wish you would of mentioned the problem at the time of your stay - I could have sorted your breakfast and brought you a different option or the hollandaise on the side.

I do hope that you will give us another try and maybe occupying one of our smaller rooms would give you a better deal price wise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here having walked the Cotswold Way, two tired, weary travellers in need of rest and TLC. We left feeling refreshed and spoiled! The rooms are well proportioned, beautifully decorated and clean. Breakfast was superb, more than ample and even comes with a complimentary glass of bucks fizz. And then theres the staff, all are excellent, happy, friendly and keen to help you enjoy your stay. Hope to say again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank massivefoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words, I am very proud of my team here at Villa Magdala. I am glad you felt spoiled and that you had time to recharge after a very long walk of the Cotswold way. I do hope you will stay with us again maybe on a bit more of a relaxing break next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
No.15 Great Pulteney
#4 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa at Henrietta Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa at Henrietta Park

Property: Villa at Henrietta Park
Address: Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa at Henrietta Park 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute level stroll to the centre of Bath with all its attractions, Villa at Henrietta Park is a handsome Victorian townhouse, set within its own gardens with an off-street car-park. So close to the heart of the city, yet the hotel is in a quiet road, opposite leafy Henrietta Park, so none of the usual late night city noise to disturb a blissful night's sleep. 21 stylishly refurbished bedrooms offer a 5 star rated boutique experience, with heavenly Hypnos beds, double or superking size, with feather light goose down duvets and crisp cotton bed linen. Well-equipped bathrooms include fluffy bath sheets, and luxury toiletries. Gourmet breakfasts are served in a light, airy ground floor dining room, overlooking the park, all freshly cooked to order from a range of quality locally-sourced ingredients. Marry all this with a team of friendly, quietly efficient staff, ready to recommend and book all kinds of entertainment for you - a truly charming and characterful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa at Henrietta Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Magdala Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing