We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Roseate Villa Bath
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Second stay”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed here overnight for business reasons, as I did at the same time last year. It was just as good this year as last. The rooms are clean and spacious. My room was 22. I'm don't know what this corresponds to on the range of rooms, as I did not make the booking. Equally, I can't comment on price or value for money as my stay was paid for. But, as a user, I was very happy with the place. The breakfast was good quality and service was excellent. The staff are very nice. No White Company toiletries this year; a shame, but only a small quibble.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuiRafiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review - the university of bath get a very good corporate rate and the room type you had was the 'Best' so I would say they got a good deal! :-)

We decided to modernise the toiletry range by going with Missoni - a huge Italian design house and we have had mostly positive comments about them - sorry you did not like them.

Look forward to seeing you same time again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,457
    181
    34
    11
    4
See reviews for
254
1,070
30
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston Bean
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Hated to leave this glorious property! We had three rooms, and from check in to check out, everything was perfect. Rooms were spectacular and filled with everything you would want. The only negative was the size of the bathrooms in the "good" rooms. If you can, opt for the next level as that makes all the difference in terms of bathroom size. Breakfast was awesome!! Afternoon drinks out on the lawn were wonderful, and even the thermoses of milk left out in ice so that we could have them for tea or coffee during the night was a nice touch. The staff was truly wonderful, especially, Agnes! Any advice, directions, restaurant reservations, etc., were offered with a smile. Location was in a quiet residential area a very short walk to the city. We travelled with a 74 yr old, and it wasn't too far for her to go. Parking onsite was a big bonus too!
Don't hesitate to book! This place is a real gem!

Room Tip: Opt for a deluxe room if bathroom size is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank brainylanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments - you will have to stay longer next time! The 'Good' room bathrooms are bijoux and that is because we are limited with what we can do with the internals of this beautiful Victorian building. As you said the 'Better' rooms do have larger bathrooms.

We hope to see you all again, I will pass your thanks onto Agnes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Villa Magdala was a wonderful find in Bath -- centrally located in a Victorian townhouse which had a very unique staircase running through it. The room was outstanding -- remarkably serene, incredibly comfortable, and beautifully decorated. The staff were extremely attentive and welcoming. Breakfast was also a treat and among the best on my recent tour through the UK -- a buffet with a wide range of locally produced and healthy items (including freshly squeezed orange juice, beautifully cut fruit, and fresh baked pastries). In addition to the buffet, a hot breakfast course is also provided, which featured the same thoughtful use of local healthy products.

Excellent amenities and wifi.

If I am returning to Bath, I hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Often_on_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that it was one of the best breakfasts from your time in the UK. Our housekeeping girls do a wonderful job and the rooms always sparkle!

We do hope to see you on your next trip to the UK!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was our second stay at the Villa Magdala and it certainly has maintained its excellent standards. The room decor is beautiful and immaculately clean. The bathroom in the 'good' rooms is very small but stylish. Breakfast is first rate. We will return.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Look forward to seeing you for your third visit! So glad that you enjoyed your first visit enough to come a second time! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A lovely B and B with excellent service and very comfortable. An easy five minute walk into the city centre, on a quiet road with a lovely park immediately opposite. Coffee for us when we arrived early was much appreciated as was the inclusive car parking. Breakfast was excellent. Beautifully maintained throughout - I'd certainly recommend the Villa Magdala.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carrockfell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for the lovely review - and do recommend us to friends and family it helps a great deal! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It is very rare to find such a fine BandB. Our stay was exceptional from the cup of tea and pastry when we arrived, the fine room on the ground floor, to the kindness of the receptionist when we made our departure. I am sure we will be back and we recommend this to anyone staying in Bath.

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kurtski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you we love a shout out to family and friends it is the way we do most of our business by recommendations! We really appreciate the time taken to write us a review. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Hill, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at Villa Magdala and wished that it had been for a longer period. The accommodation provided was excellent as was the breakfast provided, and service from all those with who we had contact during our stay. The availability of parking at this location so close to the centre of Bath was a great advantage for us.

Room Tip: The room facing the garden was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review - so glad that everything was to your liking. Hope to see you on your next visit to the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
1.7 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roseate Villa Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roseate Villa Bath

Property: The Roseate Villa Bath
Address: Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LX, England (Formerly Villa at Henrietta Park)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Roseate Villa Bath 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute level stroll to the centre of Bath with all its attractions, The Roseate Villa Bath is a handsome Victorian townhouse, set within its own gardens with an off-street car-park. So close to the heart of the city, yet the hotel is in a quiet road, opposite leafy Henrietta Park, so none of the usual late night city noise to disturb a blissful night's sleep. 21 stylishly refurbished bedrooms offer a 5 star rated boutique experience, with heavenly Hypnos beds, double or superking size, with feather light goose down duvets and crisp cotton bed linen. Well-equipped bathrooms include fluffy bath sheets, and luxury toiletries. Gourmet breakfasts are served in a light, airy ground floor dining room, overlooking the park, all freshly cooked to order from a range of quality locally-sourced ingredients. Marry all this with a team of friendly, quietly efficient staff, ready to recommend and book all kinds of entertainment for you - a truly charming and characterful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Roseate Villa Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Magdala Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing