We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa at Henrietta Park

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Villa at Henrietta Park
Ranked #13 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We booked 2 rooms for a stay to celebrate my in laws 50th wedding anniversary. We wanted somewhere near the centre so we could walk in and out, but not noisy, and Villa Magdala was perfectly located. Bath isn't big so you really are only a few minutes walk to the cente, and I did notice a few of the other hotels I looked at right in the centre were located on the main roads with lots of people mingling about till the early hours.
Even before we got there the staff were extremely helpful. I had originally booked on room only rate on trip advisor, but the manager contacted me to say that if I booked through the hotel directly their rate was the same but included breakfast, and that they could swap this over for me, which they did. We were glad we did too as the breakfast was amazing, and we really didn't need to eat until the evening after we'd finished. They have a good selection of cereal/ pastries etc out, but will also cook you a wide selection of things fresh from the kitchen- i recommend the waffles!
When we did get there the staff and owners were very accommodating, even letting us check out a bit later which was much easier for the parents.
The rooms were lovely, and immaculately clean, and our overall stay was very relaxing. we never felt rushed, and nothing was too much trouble. They even have a little garden at the back with deckchairs to sit and relax in
Would definitely stay here again if we came back to Bath, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: We had 2 of the 'best rooms', and both were very spacious. the downstairs room no 23 had an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DebsR78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your review - I am so glad that your parents enjoyed their 50th Wedding anniversary stay with us.

Your kind comments are much appreciated and I am so pleased that you enjoyed the little garden at the back of the hotel.

Look forward to seeing you next time you stay in Bath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,348
    169
    33
    11
    4
See reviews for
222
1,002
28
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have stayed here twice and each time we have been impressed by the beautiful bedrooms, friendly staff and amazing breakfasts. Easy walking distance to the centre of town. Villa Magadala feels far more expensive than it is - can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We are very lucky to be so close to town but on a very quiet residential street.
We look forward to your third visit - thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely b and b great location close to town. Would defiantely stay again. Went out of their way to be helpful. Really worth booking directly with b+b to get breakfast included in price. Really lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words - we look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

After spending an evening researching hotels we decided on Villa Magdala; and I'm so pleased we did. It ticked all the boxes; a stones throw from the centre, friendly and helpful staff, comfortable rooms and probably one of the best hotel breakfasts we've had.

We arrived about 2 hours early on our first day but this wasn't a problem. The lady at the desk said we were fine to park our car in the small car park, gave us a map and some advice in what we could do for the day.

We stayed in a 'good' room which was small but still very much fit for purpose. It was clean and beautifully decorated.

One piece of advice..if you do book Villa Magdala book direct, we didn't and paid £12 per day for parking and £12 for breakfast. Both parking and breakfast are free if you book direct.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geka1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your review - yes it is always best to book directly with all independent hotels!!

However I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and when you want to stay again please do just give us a call we will have your details on file so booking will be a breeze.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This B&B was so beautiful. The beds were super comfortable. The bedroom was elegant and modern. The bathroom condiments were Missoni, very nice. They had tea and a little cake for your enjoyment every day. The breakfast was really delicious with many choices plus a champagne cocktail if you like every morning. It was close enough to the town centre to walk, but far enough that there was no traffic noise. Across the street was a beautiful park to enjoy a coffee or a stroll. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only downside was no air conditioning, but the windows opened and there was a fan provided.

Room Tip: There are stairs so if you have mobility issues, request a room that is on a lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review - we really appreciate it. So glad that you like the beds they are Hypnos. The décor is all down to the Owner Amanda - she has impeccable taste.

Look forward to seeing you next time you are in Bath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
804 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was the second time we stayed at this B&B, the first time being 15 years ago. WE had reserved the "Best" room category and it certainly was that. It was a very large and beautiful room overlooking the gardens. While the building is historic, everything in the room has been refurbished and modernized. Upon entering the room there was a small foyer with two large reading chairs. Three steeps down and you enter the large bedroom with king sized bed, two reading chairs, a table and two nightstands and a large mirrored sitting area for make-up etc. The bathroom was huge by European standards as it had both a walk-in shower and bathtub plus a warming towel rack. The hotel has a very attractive area where they serve breakfast. There is also a very attractive outdoor area with several tables and chairs where we enjoyed an evening glass of wine overlooking the park across the street. The staff is extremely pleasant and helpful, coordinating a shuttle ride for us to the Bristol airport and printing out our boarding passes. They will also arrange dinner reservations at local restaurants if you so desire.

Room Tip: I would recommend that if you can, splurge and get the "Best" room category
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RLWOrangePark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a lovely review - room 23 that you stayed in is our largest and I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are lucky being a Victorian building that our room sizes are quite generous.

We do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Great place to park your car. Across from Henrietta Park. Shirt, level walk to all sites in downtown Bath. Super-quality everything, except the Missoni toiletries. Very helpful suggestions from staff as to where to eat. Highly recommended.

Parking lot difficult for large cars, but can park on street with permit provided.

Room Tip: Fifteen was smaller but fine, especially for one person. No writing desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RittSq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your positive comments - I am sorry you did not like our Missoni toiletries.

Glad that we were able to suggest lovely places for you to eat. We do hope that you will stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
No.15 Great Pulteney
#3 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa at Henrietta Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa at Henrietta Park

Property: Villa at Henrietta Park
Address: Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa at Henrietta Park 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute level stroll to the centre of Bath with all its attractions, Villa at Henrietta Park is a handsome Victorian townhouse, set within its own gardens with an off-street car-park. So close to the heart of the city, yet the hotel is in a quiet road, opposite leafy Henrietta Park, so none of the usual late night city noise to disturb a blissful night's sleep. 21 stylishly refurbished bedrooms offer a 5 star rated boutique experience, with heavenly Hypnos beds, double or superking size, with feather light goose down duvets and crisp cotton bed linen. Well-equipped bathrooms include fluffy bath sheets, and luxury toiletries. Gourmet breakfasts are served in a light, airy ground floor dining room, overlooking the park, all freshly cooked to order from a range of quality locally-sourced ingredients. Marry all this with a team of friendly, quietly efficient staff, ready to recommend and book all kinds of entertainment for you - a truly charming and characterful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa at Henrietta Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Magdala Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing