We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa at Henrietta Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa at Henrietta Park
Ranked #13 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fairford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Return visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We spent our mini-honeymoon here last year and decided to return for our first anniversary and also my birthday celebration. We stayed in room 17 again, first floor on the front of the hotel, overlooking the park. We were welcomed with a hot drink and muffin in the dining room. By the time we had finished our luggage had been taken up to our room, which was a nice touch. As before, the staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The breakfast, delicious and a great start to the day. The close proximity to the centre of Bath is great, along with the parking. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review for us, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your second stay just as much as your first for your mini-moon.

Look forward to seeing you to celebrate your second anniversary.....and many more in the years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,347
    169
    33
    11
    4
See reviews for
221
1,002
28
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We arrived at half 12 before check in at 2pm but the staff were able to get our room ready early. We were welcomed with a pot of tea after a 4 hour drive, and the staff were very helpful with offering advice on places to see and where to eat. The room was big with a lovely large comfortable bed. The b&b is literally a 5 minute walk into the centre of Bath where the Roman Baths and the Abbey can be found. Being a little walk outside the centre also allows for a quiet and peaceful stay. Breakfast in the morning was such high quality, not your normal breakfast you would eat everyday but absolutely fantastic. Can also have a glass of Buck's Fizz or Bellini with breakfast. We would definitely return to Bath and stay at Villa Magdala again, staff are very friendly and the location and rooms are great. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
You are most welcome - Thank you for choosing us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us especially breakfast - which is a nice change from cereal on a working weekday morning I know! :-)

Look forward to seeing you again next time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We have stayed at this wonderful boutique B’n’B hotel on three occasions over the past 18 months – most recently during the Spring Bank Holiday week. Hotel Villa Magdala is quite simply our favourite hotel in the UK, where we became engaged, spent our honeymoon and our first anniversary!

A perfect combination of a classic Bath Georgian villa, modern decoration, the most welcoming, relaxed and romantic atmosphere, a scrummy breakfast and complete attention to detail. If you need somewhere to re-charge, or a romantic break, then look no further than this small hotel, and Bath.

As others have said - and we DO agree - the highlights are: luxurious beds, comfort, peace and quiet, the breakfasts, the staff, the little touches (such as Thermos flasks of fresh milk in the evenings and free wi-fi which actually works) - and, of course, the location: rare parking in central Bath (but do leave your 4x4 at home – the parking is very tight). All just a few minutes walk from Pultney Bridge.

Tips: book direct - by ‘phone, Email or the website – then you will not be charged for parking. In fact, we recommend you book by ‘phone and get to choose a room which really suits you as there are, indeed, no lifts – this IS a boutique B’n’B in a pair of Georgian villas after all – and, yes, Room 2 is by the front door and reception.

If you’re considering staying at a boutique B’n’B hotel in Bath then, like us, you are probably not staying in Bath for long so do plan your trip in advance, particularly your restaurant bookings – which Kim or her deputy, Agnes, will make for you. The best restaurants in Bath are fully booked weeks, if not months, ahead.

Of the twenty rooms, perceived wisdom is that Room 23 (rear ground floor, overlooking the garden, and featured in the infamous ‘The Independent’ review) is the best and we loved it when we stayed in it for our honeymoon in 2013 but, in our opinion, Room 24 (front ground floor, with a view of Henrietta Park), which we stayed in for our first anniversary this year, is the best room. Room 23 does have a separate shower and bath - but not the morning sunshine and dawn chorus from Henrietta Park which, for us, gives Room 24 the edge.

The Villa Magdala breakfast is simply the best, whether it be the Full English, Eggs Benedict or waffles with banana and bacon. Local ingredients, cooked to perfection, served in a relaxed, unobtrusive but efficient manner, in a sunny dining room, under the watchful eye of Morris, the stag’s head, who spends his days listening to Classic FM and greeting new guests for the afternoon Welcome of complimentary home-made cake (mmmm!) and tea.

Amanda and John Wilmott, together with Kimberley Blair, their manager, and their team, run the hotel like clockwork, providing a friendly 5* service, quite simply better than any large UK hotel we’ve stayed in. For manager Kim, who I affectionately call “my new best friend in Bath”, nothing is too much trouble in preparing you for your stay. The dark chocolates and bouquet of peonies Kim arranged in our room for my wife were a great hit (sourced from local, independent suppliers, of course). Kim and her team genuinely want to ensure that all their guests get the most out of a visit to Bath.

What do we love about Bath? The food and the coffee! If you really love coffee, as we do, then Bath is for you – ‘cos it’s home to Colonna and Smalls, in Chapel Row, the no. 1 UK independent coffee shop. Google the owner, Maxwell Colonna-Dashwood – he's the UK’s champion barista in 2012 and 2014. We visit this café every day we are in Bath!

The Bath restaurants we’ve eaten in, listed in our order of preference, are: Menu Gordon Jones, Sotto Sotto, The Porter (cocktails)/Clayton’s Kitchen (dining), The Circus Café, The Bath Priory, Firehouse Rotisserie, Jamie’s Italian, Madrid… Oh, and yes, the lead time for a table on a Saturday evening at our favourite, Menu Gordon Jones, is indeed five or six months!

Bath is pedestrian friendly and compact. Do take a stroll to Queen Square (near Colonna & Smalls), then on to The Circus, then along to The Royal Crescent, and finally in to Royal Victoria Park… and back to Colonna & Smalls! Or just stroll round the peaceful Henrietta Park, opposite the hotel, with Sydney Gardens beyond.

We also recommend half a day at Thermae Spa – particularly the rooftop, open air pool; Sally Lunn’s Historic Eating House for a filling Bath Bun; and the Fashion Museum in the Assembly Rooms (near The Circus). Or there are all the shops you could wish for.

We will never tire of Bath or Hotel Villa Magdala so we will be back for another visit, as soon as we can spare the time, hopefully for Bath’s Christmas Market.

Room Tip: Room 24 - ground floor - view of Henrietta Park - sunshine in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Mr & Mrs D, Thanks for the amazing review and a shout out! We love having you to stay - looking forward to seeing you in December. I am working hard at getting you a table with our friends at MGJ!

Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Everything was perfect, from the moment we arrived - we were allowed to leave our car in the car park from 9:30 on the day of arrival. The walk into the city was hardly more than 5 minutes yet with the lovely park opposite you didn't feel as if you were in a city. We had a fabulous room, comfortable beds, crisp cotton bed linen, excellent bathroom. Really nice dining room to have breakfast in the next day. I would definitely recommend the Villa Magdala and would stay here again. Lots to see and do in Bath!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Perfection is what we strive for - Thanks so much for your review. There is so much to do in Bath we always recommend 2 days if possible so you get the most out of the city. We look forward to seeing you again for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We booked 2 rooms for a stay to celebrate my in laws 50th wedding anniversary. We wanted somewhere near the centre so we could walk in and out, but not noisy, and Villa Magdala was perfectly located. Bath isn't big so you really are only a few minutes walk to the cente, and I did notice a few of the other hotels I looked at right in the centre were located on the main roads with lots of people mingling about till the early hours.
Even before we got there the staff were extremely helpful. I had originally booked on room only rate on trip advisor, but the manager contacted me to say that if I booked through the hotel directly their rate was the same but included breakfast, and that they could swap this over for me, which they did. We were glad we did too as the breakfast was amazing, and we really didn't need to eat until the evening after we'd finished. They have a good selection of cereal/ pastries etc out, but will also cook you a wide selection of things fresh from the kitchen- i recommend the waffles!
When we did get there the staff and owners were very accommodating, even letting us check out a bit later which was much easier for the parents.
The rooms were lovely, and immaculately clean, and our overall stay was very relaxing. we never felt rushed, and nothing was too much trouble. They even have a little garden at the back with deckchairs to sit and relax in
Would definitely stay here again if we came back to Bath, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: We had 2 of the 'best rooms', and both were very spacious. the downstairs room no 23 had an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DebsR78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your review - I am so glad that your parents enjoyed their 50th Wedding anniversary stay with us.

Your kind comments are much appreciated and I am so pleased that you enjoyed the little garden at the back of the hotel.

Look forward to seeing you next time you stay in Bath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have stayed here twice and each time we have been impressed by the beautiful bedrooms, friendly staff and amazing breakfasts. Easy walking distance to the centre of town. Villa Magadala feels far more expensive than it is - can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We are very lucky to be so close to town but on a very quiet residential street.
We look forward to your third visit - thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely b and b great location close to town. Would defiantely stay again. Went out of their way to be helpful. Really worth booking directly with b+b to get breakfast included in price. Really lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words - we look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
1.7 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa at Henrietta Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa at Henrietta Park

Property: Villa at Henrietta Park
Address: Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa at Henrietta Park 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute level stroll to the centre of Bath with all its attractions, Villa at Henrietta Park is a handsome Victorian townhouse, set within its own gardens with an off-street car-park. So close to the heart of the city, yet the hotel is in a quiet road, opposite leafy Henrietta Park, so none of the usual late night city noise to disturb a blissful night's sleep. 21 stylishly refurbished bedrooms offer a 5 star rated boutique experience, with heavenly Hypnos beds, double or superking size, with feather light goose down duvets and crisp cotton bed linen. Well-equipped bathrooms include fluffy bath sheets, and luxury toiletries. Gourmet breakfasts are served in a light, airy ground floor dining room, overlooking the park, all freshly cooked to order from a range of quality locally-sourced ingredients. Marry all this with a team of friendly, quietly efficient staff, ready to recommend and book all kinds of entertainment for you - a truly charming and characterful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa at Henrietta Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Magdala Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing