We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, relaxing touch of luxury in Bath”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa at Henrietta Park
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
1 review
“Lovely, relaxing touch of luxury in Bath”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I highly recommend Villa Magdala. It is in easy walking distance of everything in Bath, the property has been beautifully decorated with lovely rooms and beautiful gardens, the breakfast was delicious and the staff exceptionally helpful, friendly and professional. The view and amenities provided in the room were lovely. Twinings teas, mineral water and little treats as well as wifi provided free of charge were a lovely touch. Would love to come back and enjoy this B&B again.

Room Tip: We had one of the best rooms which was perfect for a twin share, but would be a lovely room for a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking time out to write us such a lovely review! We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Bath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,436
    179
    33
    11
    4
See reviews for
246
1,056
30
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel was gorgeous and fantastic service!! The food was delicious and the bed was the comfiest I've ever slept on! The centre of Bath was a 5-10 minute stroll away and this was a pleasant walk! We ate at Browns in Bath and would again recommend the restaurant! Would stay here again10000000%

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review ........we look forward to seeing you next time, but remember we advise booking at least a month in advance for a weekend stay - we book up quickly! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We received a very warm welcome and were told everything we needed to know about the hotel. We had one of the 'best' rooms, number 23 on the ground floor overlooking the garden. The room was large with a separate bathroom and roomy walk in shower as well as a bath. Plenty of towels and complimentary toiletries. The beds were extremely comfortable (we had asked for twin beds) with lovely pillows and duvets. Fresh milk was available in a chilled flask to have with our tea/coffee making facilities with yummy biscuits. The breakfast was truly amazing, so much choice of fruit, cereals, pastries and a wide selection of cooked dishes as well as plentiful tea and coffee. The location was ideal for us as it was a 5-10 minute into the centre of Bath. I would thoroughly recommend Villa Magdala to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Llijyram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you - do keep recommending us it helps enormously! We look forward to you staying again next time you are in Bath - room 24 is my personal favourite, maybe try that one next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We spent our mini-honeymoon here last year and decided to return for our first anniversary and also my birthday celebration. We stayed in room 17 again, first floor on the front of the hotel, overlooking the park. We were welcomed with a hot drink and muffin in the dining room. By the time we had finished our luggage had been taken up to our room, which was a nice touch. As before, the staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The breakfast, delicious and a great start to the day. The close proximity to the centre of Bath is great, along with the parking. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review for us, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your second stay just as much as your first for your mini-moon.

Look forward to seeing you to celebrate your second anniversary.....and many more in the years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We arrived at half 12 before check in at 2pm but the staff were able to get our room ready early. We were welcomed with a pot of tea after a 4 hour drive, and the staff were very helpful with offering advice on places to see and where to eat. The room was big with a lovely large comfortable bed. The b&b is literally a 5 minute walk into the centre of Bath where the Roman Baths and the Abbey can be found. Being a little walk outside the centre also allows for a quiet and peaceful stay. Breakfast in the morning was such high quality, not your normal breakfast you would eat everyday but absolutely fantastic. Can also have a glass of Buck's Fizz or Bellini with breakfast. We would definitely return to Bath and stay at Villa Magdala again, staff are very friendly and the location and rooms are great. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
You are most welcome - Thank you for choosing us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us especially breakfast - which is a nice change from cereal on a working weekday morning I know! :-)

Look forward to seeing you again next time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We have stayed at this wonderful boutique B’n’B hotel on three occasions over the past 18 months – most recently during the Spring Bank Holiday week. Hotel Villa Magdala is quite simply our favourite hotel in the UK, where we became engaged, spent our honeymoon and our first anniversary!

A perfect combination of a classic Bath Georgian villa, modern decoration, the most welcoming, relaxed and romantic atmosphere, a scrummy breakfast and complete attention to detail. If you need somewhere to re-charge, or a romantic break, then look no further than this small hotel, and Bath.

As others have said - and we DO agree - the highlights are: luxurious beds, comfort, peace and quiet, the breakfasts, the staff, the little touches (such as Thermos flasks of fresh milk in the evenings and free wi-fi which actually works) - and, of course, the location: rare parking in central Bath (but do leave your 4x4 at home – the parking is very tight). All just a few minutes walk from Pultney Bridge.

Tips: book direct - by ‘phone, Email or the website – then you will not be charged for parking. In fact, we recommend you book by ‘phone and get to choose a room which really suits you as there are, indeed, no lifts – this IS a boutique B’n’B in a pair of Georgian villas after all – and, yes, Room 2 is by the front door and reception.

If you’re considering staying at a boutique B’n’B hotel in Bath then, like us, you are probably not staying in Bath for long so do plan your trip in advance, particularly your restaurant bookings – which Kim or her deputy, Agnes, will make for you. The best restaurants in Bath are fully booked weeks, if not months, ahead.

Of the twenty rooms, perceived wisdom is that Room 23 (rear ground floor, overlooking the garden, and featured in the infamous ‘The Independent’ review) is the best and we loved it when we stayed in it for our honeymoon in 2013 but, in our opinion, Room 24 (front ground floor, with a view of Henrietta Park), which we stayed in for our first anniversary this year, is the best room. Room 23 does have a separate shower and bath - but not the morning sunshine and dawn chorus from Henrietta Park which, for us, gives Room 24 the edge.

The Villa Magdala breakfast is simply the best, whether it be the Full English, Eggs Benedict or waffles with banana and bacon. Local ingredients, cooked to perfection, served in a relaxed, unobtrusive but efficient manner, in a sunny dining room, under the watchful eye of Morris, the stag’s head, who spends his days listening to Classic FM and greeting new guests for the afternoon Welcome of complimentary home-made cake (mmmm!) and tea.

Amanda and John Wilmott, together with Kimberley Blair, their manager, and their team, run the hotel like clockwork, providing a friendly 5* service, quite simply better than any large UK hotel we’ve stayed in. For manager Kim, who I affectionately call “my new best friend in Bath”, nothing is too much trouble in preparing you for your stay. The dark chocolates and bouquet of peonies Kim arranged in our room for my wife were a great hit (sourced from local, independent suppliers, of course). Kim and her team genuinely want to ensure that all their guests get the most out of a visit to Bath.

What do we love about Bath? The food and the coffee! If you really love coffee, as we do, then Bath is for you – ‘cos it’s home to Colonna and Smalls, in Chapel Row, the no. 1 UK independent coffee shop. Google the owner, Maxwell Colonna-Dashwood – he's the UK’s champion barista in 2012 and 2014. We visit this café every day we are in Bath!

The Bath restaurants we’ve eaten in, listed in our order of preference, are: Menu Gordon Jones, Sotto Sotto, The Porter (cocktails)/Clayton’s Kitchen (dining), The Circus Café, The Bath Priory, Firehouse Rotisserie, Jamie’s Italian, Madrid… Oh, and yes, the lead time for a table on a Saturday evening at our favourite, Menu Gordon Jones, is indeed five or six months!

Bath is pedestrian friendly and compact. Do take a stroll to Queen Square (near Colonna & Smalls), then on to The Circus, then along to The Royal Crescent, and finally in to Royal Victoria Park… and back to Colonna & Smalls! Or just stroll round the peaceful Henrietta Park, opposite the hotel, with Sydney Gardens beyond.

We also recommend half a day at Thermae Spa – particularly the rooftop, open air pool; Sally Lunn’s Historic Eating House for a filling Bath Bun; and the Fashion Museum in the Assembly Rooms (near The Circus). Or there are all the shops you could wish for.

We will never tire of Bath or Hotel Villa Magdala so we will be back for another visit, as soon as we can spare the time, hopefully for Bath’s Christmas Market.

Room Tip: Room 24 - ground floor - view of Henrietta Park - sunshine in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Mr & Mrs D, Thanks for the amazing review and a shout out! We love having you to stay - looking forward to seeing you in December. I am working hard at getting you a table with our friends at MGJ!

Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Everything was perfect, from the moment we arrived - we were allowed to leave our car in the car park from 9:30 on the day of arrival. The walk into the city was hardly more than 5 minutes yet with the lovely park opposite you didn't feel as if you were in a city. We had a fabulous room, comfortable beds, crisp cotton bed linen, excellent bathroom. Really nice dining room to have breakfast in the next day. I would definitely recommend the Villa Magdala and would stay here again. Lots to see and do in Bath!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Perfection is what we strive for - Thanks so much for your review. There is so much to do in Bath we always recommend 2 days if possible so you get the most out of the city. We look forward to seeing you again for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,246 reviews
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa at Henrietta Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa at Henrietta Park

Property: Villa at Henrietta Park
Address: Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa at Henrietta Park 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute level stroll to the centre of Bath with all its attractions, Villa at Henrietta Park is a handsome Victorian townhouse, set within its own gardens with an off-street car-park. So close to the heart of the city, yet the hotel is in a quiet road, opposite leafy Henrietta Park, so none of the usual late night city noise to disturb a blissful night's sleep. 21 stylishly refurbished bedrooms offer a 5 star rated boutique experience, with heavenly Hypnos beds, double or superking size, with feather light goose down duvets and crisp cotton bed linen. Well-equipped bathrooms include fluffy bath sheets, and luxury toiletries. Gourmet breakfasts are served in a light, airy ground floor dining room, overlooking the park, all freshly cooked to order from a range of quality locally-sourced ingredients. Marry all this with a team of friendly, quietly efficient staff, ready to recommend and book all kinds of entertainment for you - a truly charming and characterful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, ACCOR, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa at Henrietta Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Magdala Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing