We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Roseate Villa Bath
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was our first trip to Bath and Villa Magdala was the icing on the cake. Beautifully presented with immaculate rooms and sublime service, I would definitely return and recommend it to everyone. We splashed out on a "best room" and I must say it was worth every penny - spacious, beautifully decorated and total luxury.

The breakfast was delicious and catered to my intolerances - the waitress even remembered the next morning! The Bucks Fizz is also a nice touch :-)

It is a brief walk into town, no steep hills at all and the car park and wi-fi are also free. All in all, I would love to return!

Thank you Villa Magdala.

Room Tip: If you can, book the "Best Room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to write us a lovely review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you thought the rooms were immaculate.

We would love to have you stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,164 - 1,170 of 1,808 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Our second stay at Villa Magdala this year (to visit family). Can only reiterate other recent reviews. Relaxed atmosphere, wonderful accommodation, very helpful and friendly staff and a fantastic breakfast. Wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in Bath!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathandDavid2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for writing us a lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again, same time next year?? :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I am normally reluctant to give full marks in any survey, but happily give it to Villa Magdala. We booked for two nights, with two nights not planned before our narrowboat holiday started, but were so delighted with the hotel and enchanted with Bath, that we asked to stay and they accommodated us, without having to move rooms. From the moment we walked in the door, a bit early for check in, the entire staff was welcoming and professional, with a pleasant, authentic manner, even willingly accommodating my need for a fragrance-free environment and gluten-free diet. The spacious room was gorgeously decorated, with all amenities (free wifi, free local calls), and the whole building was kept in top shape - we even saw the maintenance guy doing paint touch ups once when we returned during the day. It is very conveniently located, less than 5 minutes walk to the bridge into the old town, across from a lovely park and is fairly quiet, with traffic not especially noticeable (our room faced the street) except moderately during the morning and evening rush. The breakfasts were wonderful, with a multitude of choices - the usual full English, eggs of many varieties, including Benedict, French toast, pancakes, and of course continental breakfast was offered with nice croissant and pastries, a variety of cereals, fruit salads, fresh fruit, and so on and so on. And...mimosas, or Buck Fizzes (I think?) as they called them. This was one of the most pleasant hotel/B&B stays of all our travels.

Room Tip: The larger rooms face the street, but all the rooms I peeked into were still roomy and equally nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank eagraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday on your Narrow boat!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I found Villa Magdala on the internet by looking up boutique hotels/ guest houses in Bath. It was a happy find indeed!
The guest house is in a beautiful spot opposite a park. It is quiet , yet only 5 minutes walk from the centre of the city itself.
The welcome and service was 5 star all round. The staff couldn't be more accomodating - from carrying your luggage to helping with directions to suggesting restaurants (which were spot on!)
The room (8) was perfectly comfortable and well resourced. The only issue was it was very warm all the time. A fan was thoughtfully provided but it had to be on all the time - including all night. Not sure what else they could do about that?
But the breakfast was the stuff that dreams are made of! Superb choice and all beautifully presented and excecuted. There was lots of little extras too like homemade smoothies and Bucks Fizz (complimentary).
Would definitely return and recommend to all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review - we really appreciate it. We like to spoil our guests and so the extra little treats of bucks fizz and smoothies at breakfast I am sure are always welcome. We are glad you found us too.....see you again soon I hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights for a city break in Bath. First impressions were good. Lovely building with decent car park and only a 5 minute walk to town. Great, friendly staff, good choice of breakfast and good quality too. They cater for people with intolerances too. Rooms were immaculate and very spacious. Would recommend paying a bit more for best rooms, ours was perfect, felt like a small suite. Would definitely recommend to anyone and would certainly stay again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AlexEwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking time out to write us a review. I am so glad that you loved your room when you stayed with us, you are right some of our 'Best' rooms do feel like mini suites! Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I highly recommend Villa Magdala. It is in easy walking distance of everything in Bath, the property has been beautifully decorated with lovely rooms and beautiful gardens, the breakfast was delicious and the staff exceptionally helpful, friendly and professional. The view and amenities provided in the room were lovely. Twinings teas, mineral water and little treats as well as wifi provided free of charge were a lovely touch. Would love to come back and enjoy this B&B again.

Room Tip: We had one of the best rooms which was perfect for a twin share, but would be a lovely room for a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking time out to write us such a lovely review! We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Bath.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel was gorgeous and fantastic service!! The food was delicious and the bed was the comfiest I've ever slept on! The centre of Bath was a 5-10 minute stroll away and this was a pleasant walk! We ate at Browns in Bath and would again recommend the restaurant! Would stay here again10000000%

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeanJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you so much for your review ........we look forward to seeing you next time, but remember we advise booking at least a month in advance for a weekend stay - we book up quickly! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.7 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.1 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 34 in Bath
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
No.15 Great Pulteney
#10 of 34 in Bath
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roseate Villa Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roseate Villa Bath

Address: Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LX, England (Formerly Villa at Henrietta Park)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £100 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Roseate Villa Bath 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute level stroll to the centre of Bath with all its attractions, The Roseate Villa Bath is a handsome Victorian townhouse, set within its own gardens with an off-street car-park. So close to the heart of the city, yet the hotel is in a quiet road, opposite leafy Henrietta Park, so none of the usual late night city noise to disturb a blissful night's sleep. 21 stylishly refurbished bedrooms offer a 5 star rated boutique experience, with heavenly Hypnos beds, double or superking size, with feather light goose down duvets and crisp cotton bed linen. Well-equipped bathrooms include fluffy bath sheets, and luxury toiletries. Gourmet breakfasts are served in a light, airy ground floor dining room, overlooking the park, all freshly cooked to order from a range of quality locally-sourced ingredients. Marry all this with a team of friendly, quietly efficient staff, ready to recommend and book all kinds of entertainment for you - a truly charming and characterful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Roseate Villa Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Magdala Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing