We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay at Villa Magdala - Bath”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Roseate Villa Bath
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

A five star Guest house that would put many a five star hotel to shame.

In all my years of travel throughout the world, I have never experienced such incredible service. Nothing too much trouble and smiles from ALL staff. Breakfast complete with Bucks Fizz is a perfect start to the day. Did not want top leave it.
Location to the town is ideal and parking is free to residents.

Room Tip: We chose the 'best' room which was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DudleyNaslund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you Thank you for such a lovely review - we like to do all we can to make guests stay as pleasurable as possible, and I am glad that you thought we would put a 5* hotel to shame! Bucks Fizz is always a wonderful way to start the day! :-)

We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Bath.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,077 - 1,083 of 1,743 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

We spent one night at the Villa Magdala - the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the rooms were lovely, clean and fresh and we had an excellent breakfast. It is incredibly central to the centre of Bath so only a short pleasant walk to go out for dinner and enjoy the sights. It was a real treat to stay at Villa Magdala.

Room Tip: All rooms are done up to a high spec.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

We are all so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, don't leave it too long before your treat yourselves again with a second visit to Bath.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Ideal location, very central with most attractions walking distance. Staff were extremely attentive with good knowledge of the area. Rooms were stunning and spotless. The ensuite was stylish and compact. Breakfast was fantastic. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chloe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review - we always think local knowledge is the best, so feel free to ask our team any questions you may have.

Look forward to seeing you for your second stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Excellent boutique hotel. Great quiet location in the centre of Bath. Super breakfast.!! Very pleasant staff/ management.

HOWEVER, big disappointment was having to pay £12 each EXTRA for breakfast , PLUS having to pay £12 EXTRA for parking, all because we booked through an internet agency. These were included for people that had booked direct with the hotel!!!

Also WIFI was effectively non-existant, for which I was given numerous reasons.

No safe deposit box in room

TV very modern, but with only what seemed to be the very basic "freeview" service, with no extras such as Sky Sports, Eurosport, CNBC etc.

Room Tip: Deluxe facing park at front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SteveC1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your review, you did book room only on-line, it is always best to check the small print on any website before booking a room to see the inclusions and the extras.

We do not have safety deposit boxes in the room, as we are in a very safe neighbourhood and have never had any problems- however should you wish to have something locked away this is always possible in the Hotel safe, please do just ask a member of staff.

When we refurbished we installed all new televisions however we didn't feel the need to add a sky package as we felt guests would be making the most of exploring the city instead of watching television. I apologise you felt that television channels were lacking.

We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Bath.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We loved the Villa Magdala: the warm welcome from staff, the beautifully appointed rooms, the easy walk to Bath attractions and even the stand of umbrellas to borrow all made for a wonderful stay. One possible downside: I will need to check our bill, however, as I see that one reviewer mentions a 12 pound parking charge that is in addition to his room rate.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maryellen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for taking time to write us a review - I am very proud of the team I have here at VM. Sorry to hear that you had to make use of the umbrellas during your stay however Bath is lovely in any weather!!

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed for 5 days with my sister and all I can say is that the staff there are wonderful, they can't do enough for you, so helpful in everything even recommending places to go for dinner- great choice! The rooms are gorgeous and the breakfast is amazing- the best I've ever had in any hotel/B'n'B. if you're visiting Bath then I'd recommend you stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJW225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for writing such a lovely review - we look forward to seeing you both next time you stay in Bath, maybe with your husbands next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is the place to stay for central Bath access, friendly people, lovely rooms and a fantastic breakfast. For us it is unbelievably convenient given where we need to be but it is very good value for a great central location. Try it!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sagsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you so much for your review, we are very lucky we have a great location so close to the city but on a quiet street.

Look forward to seeing you again next time you stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.7 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,305 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#10 of 34 in Bath
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roseate Villa Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roseate Villa Bath

Address: At Henrietta Park Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LX, England (Formerly Villa at Henrietta Park)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £113 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Roseate Villa Bath 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute level stroll to the centre of Bath with all its attractions, The Roseate Villa Bath is a handsome Victorian townhouse, set within its own gardens with an off-street car-park. So close to the heart of the city, yet the hotel is in a quiet road, opposite leafy Henrietta Park, so none of the usual late night city noise to disturb a blissful night's sleep. 21 stylishly refurbished bedrooms offer a 5 star rated boutique experience, with heavenly Hypnos beds, double or superking size, with feather light goose down duvets and crisp cotton bed linen. Well-equipped bathrooms include fluffy bath sheets, and luxury toiletries. Gourmet breakfasts are served in a light, airy ground floor dining room, overlooking the park, all freshly cooked to order from a range of quality locally-sourced ingredients. Marry all this with a team of friendly, quietly efficient staff, ready to recommend and book all kinds of entertainment for you - a truly charming and characterful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your The Roseate Villa Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Magdala Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing