We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location and fair price”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Convenient location and fair price”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Just across the road from railway station with easy stroll to shops and and attractions - Abbey, Pump-Room and Roman baths. Parking at hotel is limited but parking available across road at railway station - 24 hrs for £10. Hotel is being progressively refurbished. Rooms and bars have been completed and restaurant being done when we stayed. Our 1st floor room was comfortable, quiet and well equipped. Housekeeping could have been better as previous occupants' hair noticeable on carpet and in bathroom. Room was hot, ceiling fan useless (rotated the wrong way) and no air conditioning. Reception friendly and helpful. Restaurant advertised dinner served until 9:30 pm. We went down for dinner at 8:30 pm to be told that no more meals were going to be served that evening. Plenty of tables available but no explanation was given. Rather than create a fuss we decided to eat elsewhere. Breakfast the next morning was also a disappointment. Service was extremely slow and senior management appeared to have been roped in to assist. Our cooked breakfast of scrambled eggs took 45 mins to be served. We got the feeling that the restaurant had staff problems but no explanation, or apology was given.

Room Tip: First floor rooms were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
recp, Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Please accept our sincere apologies for our shortcomings. All rooms are checked daily and
there is no explanation other than the room was not checked thoroughly enough.
The waiter should have explained that we were about to serve a large group of 29 guests and a later time chould have been offered. It simply is not good enough and the waiter has been spoken to.
On this particular morning all guests decided to have a later breakfast ( and came down all at
the same time). Everything is cooked to order, thus the delay.
Our style of mnagement is very " hands on " hence the reason management " got stuck in"
when they could see assistance was needed.
Our apology for any length of delay should have been offered !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    392
    137
    43
    33
See reviews for
160
583
81
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

This is a good 3 star hotel. Rooms are very clean and in no way dusty. If you are used to the clean cut edges of a raddison or similar, this is different, older style and more character.
Our room was a little small but still fine and we saw plenty of other larger ones available. Being street facing, it was a little noisy but this didn't cause us a problem.
Breakfast was excellent although we were dismayed on the first morning to be told the kitchen was closed despite being only 7 minutes late.
Location is ideal, right beside the train station and the shopping area and a 10 minute stroll to the baths.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

chose the royal after reading good reviews.had a chat with charlotte prior to booking and found her very friendly and helpful.was offered a special deal (dinner,bed and breakfast).hotel is old with creaky floor boards but this is part of its charm.service in restaurant in the evening laid back and friendly,food good and well presented however on both nights of our stay we requested sea bass both nights it was sold out even though there were not that many diners.breakfast offered an excellent choice and again was well presented,good friendly service.only real downside is the location on a busy corner site opposite the station,very noisey in the morning.we mentioned this on the first morning and were supplied with an electric fan allowing us to close the window(it was a very hot night) there by shutting the noise out.we would stay here again.well done to all the staff

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freespirirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We were worried about this hotel before we checked in because it is right next to the train station, I mean, you walk out of the train station, cross the street and you are there. Hotels by train stations don't have the best reputation. But we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were decently sized, immaculately clean, comfortable and well-appointed, with complementary tea and biscuits in the room and also a very good hot breakfast included in the rate. Beds were comfortable and our room --which was in the back--- was quiet . Bath is small enough you can walk everywhere and it is especially convenient if you are traveling by train. WiFi was free.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhereAreMyGlasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We arrived from Amsterdam by train at about 7pm. The reception we got was very cordial and we were in our room quickly. The hotel is very close to the railway station, and quite close to all other amenities in Bath. We only stayed one night, but the hotel looked after our bags on our checkout day so that we could do some sightseeing before we set off in the late afternoon.

Our room was very comfortable and we were able to make good use of the free wi-fi access to the internet. We would love to return to Bath for a longer visit and stay at the Royal - but it is a long way from Australia.

The included breakfast was good and service was without fault. We did not eat in the hotel for dinner, but the menu looked very appealing.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaz24685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

My husband and i have just got back from a two night stay here, the hotel is well placed for the city just a few hundred metres from a very large and very good shopping centre, loads of places to eat and drink and The Roman Baths are right in the centre of it all, the hotel is also just across the road from the railway station (Bath Spa). The Hotel is also on the corner of two very busy roads, and right next to The Post Office delivery yard, they start at about 4am and so does the noise with trucks going in and out. The Hotel is really dreary and drab i know its an old building but the whole place is in need of gutting and updating, dreary rooms old furniture hidious wallpaper, and the aircon unit in our room was a free standing unit sort of thing you buy from Argos its really noisey and also vented out through the window, its wall to wall dust and the bath robes in our room still smelt of the last occupants aftershave had to ask for new ones and there was a used bottle of shower gel on the floor behind the sink in the on-suite which was still there when we checked out , the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was really good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
recp, Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
The room occupied by the reviewer is a Four Poster room with en suite bathroom.
As with all of our bedrooms the decor was selected by an experienced designer and is intended to ensure that our rooms are decorated and furnished in keeping with a Grade 2 listed building built in 1846.
However we recognise that choice of "decor" is a very personal matter and we respect the fact
that the occasional guest may not like the decor in a particular room.
We would like to have properly installed air conditioning but due to the fact that the building
is Grade 2 listed we are not allowed to make holes in external walls.
Hence the use of mobile air conditioning which are nevertheless effective.
With regards to the adverse comments in respect of housekeeping issues I am very surprised
as we continually receive excellent comments on the high standards of cleanliness and housekeeping and which have also been highlighted in previous reviews.

Kind Regards

Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

I loved this hotel. It's decorated in the Georgian style, wholly appropriate to Bath, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very generous. I had dinner at the restaurant as well and was very glad that I did.
It's right across from the train station and not more than 8 minutes walk from the Abbey in the center of Bath. So it's very convenient because Bath is small enough that it doesn't have a dodgy area around the station like bigger cities do. As a single woman on my own I felt perfectly safe and comfortable, and was really glad not to have to lug my suitcase any further.
I also really appreciated that you can charge your room in GBP or in US$, thus saving you the international finance charge on your credit card.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKRoyalOak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,382 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,247 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing