We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Murrieta, California
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

While they might be right outside the railway station, they milk it mercilessly. For example, a typical pint of beer in Bath costs about £3. Yet in here they charge £3.70. Many people pay it because they know no better. Those that pass through on a regular basis either pay the premium or walk to a better venue serving decent beer at a reasonable price. Tourist trap.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
recp, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
We only have quality premium beers and our prices are on a par with similar quality
establishments. All of our prices are on display giving the guests a choice before purchase.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    392
    137
    43
    33
See reviews for
160
583
81
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Stayed at The Royal Hotel for two nights in September, hotel is on an extremely busy juction, pedestrian crossing can be heard bleeping from second storey room, we had a superior room which was spacious (although quite old fashioned) and not cleaned to my own standards. Would have prefered a room at the back of the hotel which would hopefully have been quieter although it does back onto a post office depot so who knows. Bed was large and comfy but slept badly both nights due to outside noise. reception staff were ok, bar and restaurant staff were lovely, one of the best steaks we have ever had in restaurant! breakfast was nice enough.
We were probably the youngest guests in the hotel by 30 odd years (that we saw anyway). Hotel seems decorated for more old fashioned tastes so perhaps just catering to the market? Would stay somewhere more modern next time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strott84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
recp, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
All town centre hotels suffer a degree of noise because of the volume of traffic. When guests
request peace and quiet we refer them to our sister hotel, Bailbrook Lodge, 1.5 miles from the
town centre with lots of free car parking.
The hotel was designed by Brunel and built in 1846. It has been refurbished with the help of
an excellent designer. In keeping with the age of the building each room is different in shape,
design and decor. We attract a very wide age range of customers and we have never tried to
market the hotel to any particular age group. We believe the hotel is attractive to all age groups
and this belief is based on customer feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

The hotel looks a bit 'pub like' from the outside but the rooms are lovely. We had 2 superior rooms 112 & 113 - both good sizes with everything you would need in a room. Bed very comfortable, bathroom a little tired ( although the suite seems newly refurbished, with the lack of an extractor fan the ceiling slightly mouldy and wallpaper peeling) despite this the service and facilities more than compensated. We found we couldn't leave the windows open as the room was directly over the kitchen extractor vent - noisy and smelly but being august in england we didn't need to keep the windows open for long! Breakfast extremely good with a huge selection of choices - excellent service and extremely helpful and friendly staff. Dinner on both nights very good, again with a good choice on menu and very tasty. We pre-booked a parking space which was a huge bonus for us - being right in the centre, parking difficult so we were pleased to have the car close and safe. Overall an excellent hotel with very pleasant staff, ideally located for the centre - we will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: 113 tucked away at end of corridor, lovely room but don't open the windows. 112 fairly dark room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-hill-family-hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Have not stayed there but telephoned to make a reservation,the receptionist who I later found out her name was Emily,was the most rudist person I have ever had to speak to,her whole attitude and manor was appalling,and no matter about special offers I would never stay there,they say friendly I think not.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank reed186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
recp, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear Trip Advisor

I do not want this published as a management response. However should you not be in a position to remove this review then I will follow it up with one to be published.
Let me explain why I would like it removed.
Emily was carrying out her normal duties as receptionist when she spoke to the Lady in question.
She tried to ascertain the usual questions regarding date of stay, type of room etc. and
whether it would be bed and breakfast or dinner, bed and breakfast and the guest refused to give the details to Emily.
I was asked to telephone the Lady and on doing so I explained to her that Emily was just doing
her job and following the procedures she has been trained to do.
The Lady would not accept my comments and threatened to write a report on Tripadvisor
There is a strong possibility that this is someone with a vendetta, hoping to get Emily in to trouble.
I very much appreciate your time adressing this matter and I hope you will consider this
thoroughly for us

Kind Regards

Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Hotel is in a very good location, within a few minutes walk of the centre of bath, and directly opposite the railway station. Accommodation was expensive for the standard of room and not very good value, we definitely did not get a room looking like that advertised on the website, bathroom was clean, bed linen clean and very comfortable bed, however some of the bedroom surfaces were dusty and unpleasant, tea cups had tea rings in them on arrival which was disgusting. The breakfast staff were very accommodating and eager to please, which made for an enjoyable breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
recp, Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
All bedrooms have been individually decorated in keeping with the age of the building and no two look the same.
My apologies for giving you a room that had not yet been completely serviced thus the dirty cups
and dust. Reception had been infomed in error when housekeeping were relaying information
on which rooms were ready.
I am delighted you enjoyed breakfast and hope that you will return to the Royal in the future

Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

A satisfactory stay - but no magic.
Good location. hotel is attractively furnished.
The cramped reception area gives the hotel more of a B&B feel. surely this isnt the original reception?
Woken by some street noise at 6am - didnt realise how swamped Bath is with stag and hen parties - thankfully none in this hotel
Room was stuffy because the windows didnt open, except in the bathroom
We requested a room with a bath but this was not available, vey few baths in this hotel - ironic.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
recp, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Unfortunately not all rooms have bath and shower. Because of the design of the building
it has only been possible to have a bath and shower in just over half of the total number of bedrooms.
I am sorry to read that the window was stiff and I can assure you all windows open.
Housekeeping are instructed to ensure windows are closed once the room has been serviced.
This allows the guest to smell the fresh febreeze when they enter the room and of course it
helps prevent dust coming into the bedroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Just across the road from railway station with easy stroll to shops and and attractions - Abbey, Pump-Room and Roman baths. Parking at hotel is limited but parking available across road at railway station - 24 hrs for £10. Hotel is being progressively refurbished. Rooms and bars have been completed and restaurant being done when we stayed. Our 1st floor room was comfortable, quiet and well equipped. Housekeeping could have been better as previous occupants' hair noticeable on carpet and in bathroom. Room was hot, ceiling fan useless (rotated the wrong way) and no air conditioning. Reception friendly and helpful. Restaurant advertised dinner served until 9:30 pm. We went down for dinner at 8:30 pm to be told that no more meals were going to be served that evening. Plenty of tables available but no explanation was given. Rather than create a fuss we decided to eat elsewhere. Breakfast the next morning was also a disappointment. Service was extremely slow and senior management appeared to have been roped in to assist. Our cooked breakfast of scrambled eggs took 45 mins to be served. We got the feeling that the restaurant had staff problems but no explanation, or apology was given.

Room Tip: First floor rooms were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
recp, Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Please accept our sincere apologies for our shortcomings. All rooms are checked daily and
there is no explanation other than the room was not checked thoroughly enough.
The waiter should have explained that we were about to serve a large group of 29 guests and a later time chould have been offered. It simply is not good enough and the waiter has been spoken to.
On this particular morning all guests decided to have a later breakfast ( and came down all at
the same time). Everything is cooked to order, thus the delay.
Our style of mnagement is very " hands on " hence the reason management " got stuck in"
when they could see assistance was needed.
Our apology for any length of delay should have been offered !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,380 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,246 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing