We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Earlier this month 4 of us (2 couples) stayed at The Royal in Bath for one night. At £99 for 2 for dinner, bed and breakfast it was extremely good value. The food was good, especially the breakfast, the service was friendly and helpful and the location was useful. There was parking but as it was just opposite Bath Spa railway station we may well `take the train` on our next visit to Bath. Tea and `real` coffee were provided in our bedrooms plus a very reasonable complimentary bottle of wine - what more could you ask for?

Room Tip: The only down side to our room was that the windows had frosted glass so that we could not see the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,070 - 1,076 of 1,269 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

Visited Bath and stayed at the Royal for my partners bithday treat.It was advertised on travelzoo for £99 dinner,bed & breakfast for two nights and we werent disappointed.!
Room spacious,clean large bathroom with added toiletries,tea/coffee tray well stocked,and the complimentary bottle of wine waiting in our room.The room was just what we were expecting in this fine old hotel.
Good choices for breakfast and dinner,which were all thoroughly enjoyed.
The hotel is in a great position for sight seeing in this lovely city,yes, could sometimes hear some traffic noise but you get this in any city.
All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Royal and hope to return.

Room Tip: Room 301,opposite the station,some traffic noise,but double glazing helps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesWhite758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We recently stayed on a travel zoo offer (very good value for money) and found that from the moment we booked with Emily to the moment we checked in and out, again with Emily, we felt very well looked after. All the staff went out of there way to make us feel welcome and were more than happy to accommodate any requests we had! The food and service in the restaurant was excellent and we felt the menu had plenty of choice.
The only downside was that it seemed like most people in the town including taxi drivers use this as a public toilet!
We would definitely stay again and would like to thank all the staff for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: some rooms only have shower or bath so make sure you ask for your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissKatieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed 2 nights here on a promotional short break and enjoyed the experience. The hotel is very centrally situated, which is extremely convenient for sightseeing, shopping and public transport (opposite the station and close to the bus station). The slight downside is an inevitable amount of traffic and street noise, although the secondary glazing mutes this. If travelling by car, be sure to prebook one of the few (6) spaces available in the alley beside the hotel, otherwise parking will be a nightmare.
The rooms were comfortable and although not modern were very clean, well-maintained and well appointed.
Food was surprisingly good. Service is friendly if not always speedy and attentive. Curiously, breakfast is quick and efficient, yet dinner (same staff!) much slower - up to 30 mins wait between courses even when very quiet. The wine list is disappointing - the selection of red wines in particular is unimpressive and slightly odd. Tables are too small. With just a few improvements, dining could be really enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wdcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We ran across the ad for the Royal Hotel in Bath 99 GBP special and jumped on it. To our surprise it was much better than what we expected. The evening meal of mussels was the best the wife and I had had in years and the Eggs Benedict for breakfast was spot on. The service was second to none and although the decor seemed a bit dated the rooms were spotless. We are looking forward to a return srip in the summer.

Room Tip: parking is limited so make sure you pre-book a spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oweninthekeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We booked a mid week one night stay through travelzoo. A great deal for Dinner Bed and Breakfast for a double room, we wanted to take our little girl so enquired whether we could pay to upgrade to a family room. This was no problem so we booked.

My husband was working so travelled early down to Bristol and Bath in our family car, he paid extra £8 or so for parking at the hotel. I travelled down by train with our daughter so the location was fantastic right opposite the station. I was able to drop off some luggage prior to booking in and at that time was able to make our evening meal reservation. Courteous and efficient reception staff, great first impressions.

When we returned to check in later again swift service and we were very happy with our room, large and tastefully designed with great attention to detail - fresh coffee and even Shrewsbury biscuits made us feel right at home. It was our daughters first hotel stay so she was very excited about having her own big girl bed, sofa pull out was good size and comfortable for her. Great large TV with freeview so CBeebies wasn't missed and it had built in DVD so we could have taken some films for her.

The restaurant staff were all very friendly and attentive, engaging with our little one too so she was made to feel welcome - they even went and got her some colouring things so she was occupied between courses. The quality of the food was good, we really enjoyed our evening meal and also the breakfast. Good presentation and proper tea leaf tea.

All in all a very comfortable, enjoyable stay. Good food, great location as within easy walking distance of shopping and sites. The one negative which is true of other places I have stayed in Bath is the street noise is quite loud - even though there is double glazing the large sash windows do still carry sound quite alot. This is largely unavoidable so otherwise a faultless stay and we look forward to staying there again.

Thanks

Room Tip: We had room 108 which faced the junction, despite the noise I can recommend this room for the size e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShropshireKassandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We enjoyed a super stay at the Royal Hotel, Bath, on a Christmas Break from 23rd to 27th. December 2011. The hotel rooms (especially the bathrooms) were spotlessly clean, the food was superb and plenty of it, and the warm and friendly staff surpassed themselves.
From the moment we arrived until we checked out all the staff worked very hard to make our stay special, always smiling, and nothing was too much trouble.
The food was delicious and most importantly, the cooked meals that were supposed to be hot were hot. I have often dined in establishments that serve up lukewarm food, so to have delicious hot food was super.
The hotel went all out to make it really Christmassy and I was surprised and delighted to be given a nice Christmas gift into which I thought some consideration had been given. On top of that, chocolates had been put in my room and the “help yourself” table of fruit and nuts and chocolates etc. on each floor landing was a very nice touch. I have travelled quite widely and experienced many hotels, from hostels, up to 5 star establishements and I was very impressed with the whole experience at The Royal. I and my companions thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. I would highly recommend the Royal Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spam972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,980 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £96 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing