We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it if you get a deal”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The title says it all really. We got a DBB deal and for the amount we paid it was worth it. Service wasn't the best, rooms weren't the greatest, location is great for the station but the noise comes with it. I would stay there again for the location and the value but might pass on the dinner. Great value but pretty poor food.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbypin1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
recp, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear Guest
I am sorry you did not enjoy the food at the Royal, please accept my sincere apologies.
I makes it more disapponting given that our food is one of our strengths. It is very very rare
for us to receive a negative comment on the food quality.Reading guest's comments the
food is highlighted for it's quality and choice.We offer a selection of 11 starters, 18 main courses
and 8 desserts to choose from.
We recently had our annual unannounced hotel inspection from Visit Britain. We were awarded
a Siver Award for the high quality of accommodation and service and a special award for
exceeding the breakfast expectations.Our menu is changed regularly so hopefully on your
next visit we may have something to tempt you.
Once again thank you for your comments

Mike MacDermid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,064 - 1,070 of 1,269 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

The hotel is located opposite Bath Spa railway station and within easy walking distance of Bath's attractions. The staff were welcoming and the room comfortable. This is an older building with some quirky nooks and crannies, very suitable for people who do not like modern concrete and glass. The restaurant served high quality food with good service and the breakfast is more interesting than most hotel breakfasts, with a wide range of freshly prepared options available. We really like this hotel and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarnsleyDave2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

On arrival our room was ready at 12pm! we had booked carparking and life was so easy. Our car remained in the space until we left Bath the next afternoon.
Lovely room, very comfortable. Lots of extras, caffetiere coffee, chocolates,soft towels etc

Very good evening meal, good food and pleanty of it. Breakfast equally good and cooked to order.
Location ideal for exploring Bath.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

What a bargain, we paid just £99 for one nights bed breakfast and evening meal so we weren't expecting a lot,however we were pleasantly surprised.
We arrived early as we had stayed within the area at a different hotel the night before we wanted to park our car and do some sight seeing when I asked the reception staff they said that as long as there was a free car space then yes we were free to do so, this was at 09.30 which we did. I do like to do honest reviews and as much as I don't want to put this the hotel only seems to only have a handful of car parking spaces so you will need to reserve in advance.
The check in time was 14.30 we asked if we could have our room a little early and again this was no bother.
Our room was spotless, spacious and warm. We had various hot drinks available to us, chocolates on the bed and shampoo etc in the bathroom.
We thought they would probably do cut backs on the evening meal, we were wrong again the food was excellent I had the salmon and my husband had the mixed grill.
We slept peaceful had a lovely shower then went down for breakfast, again food was plenty and very tasty.
I would also like to mention Mike he was very inattentive throughout our stay nothing was any bother.
Don't hesitate with this hotel, it's just the job.

Room Tip: My tip is to get a car parking space reserved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

The Royal Hotel is in a fantastic location for exploring Bath. Directly opposite the station, you don't need to drag your cases very far before being able to set off exploring this beautiful city.

The staff are very helpful, friendly and full of suggestions about where to go and what to do nearby, and which restaurants are worth a visit.

The breakfast is also very tasty. However, even though you dont really hear the traffic noises from outside, the same cannot be said of other guests. If you have a particularly loud snorer in the next room then you wont be getting a good night's sleep ;)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Took advantage of the Travelzoo £99 deal to help break up our journey down to Devon & Cornwall. It was a very good deal to stay in a grand old hotel built by Brunel. Parking was about £8 for the 24 hours we stayed here, which is not bad for a city centre which is unfriendly for cars.

Big bedroom with quality branded items in the room - £18 bottle of Hardys wine (well, according to the restaurant wine list anyway) in the room upon arrival, decent flatscreen Freeview TV with DVD player, Twining teas, very comfortable beds.

Very friendly, hard working staff who were fantastic with our little one. Our restaurant server said goodnight to us at 10pm and we saw him again the next morning at 8.30am! Tasty food with an excellent choice. We didn't feel limited with what you could have as part of the £22 included meal voucher.

This is an excellent location for exploring Bath with the train station dead opposite (in fact, there even used to be a walkway you could get straight to the platforms, now sadly missing since the 1940s) and high quality stores just outside.

This is a great deal in a great city if you can get the special.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CockneyBrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Earlier this month 4 of us (2 couples) stayed at The Royal in Bath for one night. At £99 for 2 for dinner, bed and breakfast it was extremely good value. The food was good, especially the breakfast, the service was friendly and helpful and the location was useful. There was parking but as it was just opposite Bath Spa railway station we may well `take the train` on our next visit to Bath. Tea and `real` coffee were provided in our bedrooms plus a very reasonable complimentary bottle of wine - what more could you ask for?

Room Tip: The only down side to our room was that the windows had frosted glass so that we could not see the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,980 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £96 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing