We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The wonders of Bath”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The wonders of Bath”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I've already up dated my face book status to rave about this fab hotel. The staff are friendly the food was amazing and the room so comfortable loved it loved it loved it. If you decide to stay in any hotel in Bath please chose this one, beacause your in for a real treat !.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisy791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    387
    137
    43
    33
See reviews for
159
580
80
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My Husband ,Myself and another couple went to Bath for the weekend taking advantage of a special offer at the Royal hotel, when we arrived we booked a car parking space for a very good rate.
The hotel was very clean, rooms had everything you need and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the breakfast, there was a really good selection we had the full english, cooked to order and the dinner was also extremely good, the hotel has a lovely ambience and we would love to stay again.
The Roman baths were amazing, much more to see than i expected, The Abbey is beautiful, the river and parks were only a short walk from the hotel and the shopping centre was just around the corner. So much to see so little time.

Room Tip: The other couple had a room overlooking the shops ours was at the back of the hotel(no View)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theresa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Booked a travelzoo special at this hotel which was very convenient for the railway station and the centre of Bath. Very good value in what is an expensive city to stay in due to the volume of foriegn tourists who visit.
The Hotel is clean and comfortable but could probably do with a little TLC. The staff were efficient and friendly and we had no complaints. The food and service were very good value and I would recommend this Hotel as a good base from which to explore Bath.

Travel by train if you only want to see the sights in Bath itself. The main sights are within walking distance whereas parking is expensive and the roads can be a nightmare!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mortgagemiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucester
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We had a great stay at this hotel. It was ideally situated for all of Bath's attractions and shops. Food was great, especially breakfast. We had a lovely room, clean and well appointed. It was a tad noisy from traffic at times, but what would you expect at rush hour times in a town? The staff were fantastically helpful and couldn't have been more friendly, great work guys!

Room Tip: we had a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamelaGl0ucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights 21 to 23 feb, £99 pound each for two nights b&b and one evening 3 course meal. We upgraded to a four poster room. Fab location opposite the train station, and so close to where we wanted to visit. I cannot fault anything about our sty at the hotel, every single member of staff we saw were so helpfull and friendly and couldn't do enough for us, especially the ladies on reception. Our room was spotless, as was the bathroom, and there was a good choice of teas and coffees in our room also, and the bottles of water were much appreciated.
The food we had in the restaurant was extremely nice, no issues at all, and we felt there was a very good choice of food on offer.
I have read some reviews of people moaning about road noise and train noise etc etc, well our room was 109 and directly overlooked the traffic lights, and we did not hear a thing, even with the inside part of the windows open.
Ultimately everyone has different opinions and expectations, but I feel that this 3 star hotel is much better than it's rating and we look forward to returning later this year.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Outside Basingstoke
Level Contributor
181 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Comforable, convenient and clean, what more can yiou ask for. Friendly and helpful staff made a pleasant stay at this rather old-fashioned hotel. If the dinner menu was somewhat unininteresting, the breakfast choice cooked to order was really good.

Room Tip: We enjoyed 301 0n the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We only stayed one night on a Travelzoo deal but it was excellant value for money.Hotel ideally situated for Bath Spa station (opposite).Nice clean well presented rooms,large bed.Lovely evening meal and full breakfast next morning.Very helpful staff.Cannot find a fault to mention!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stainesmassiveinnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,369 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,240 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 34 in Bath
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing