We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Aniversary Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Burton-upon-Trent, Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Aniversary Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

We booked the Royal Hotel for a short break to celebrate our 10th wedding aniversary. The location was excellent for us as we travelled by train - directly opposite the station - with all the major shops across the road and stops for both bus sight-seeing tours (highly recomended) outside the door. The room was very nice, comfy bed and spotless bathroom. The staff were very helpfull. I had contacted them earlier in the week to arrange for flowers to be delivered and everything went very smoothly. Breakfast was very nice with a bit more choice than usual, including kippers - always a winner for me. When we go back to Bath we will certainly be stopping at the Royal again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ICB_Burton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    377
    134
    42
    32
See reviews for
152
567
77
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Have just stayed for 2 days in this hotel. The decor is fresh and the staff are friendly and very professional. All the staff were wonderful from my initial call to reception to see if i could place a booking and we were able to also book car parking at the rear (only 6 spaces) which is not available if you book via a website. The restaurant staff were happy to bring more toast and coffee at Breakfast and more bread at the evening meal (to mop up the delicious sauce with the mussels). The rooms were clean and in good order with comfy beds. Even the cleaner was very friendly and happy with a lovely Scottish accent. They were able to accomodate my son's need (he has autism and a limited diet- which i arranged over the phone). One item of note was the fact there was also a cafetiere and tin of ground coffee in the rooms - a very nice touch! It is very central just across from the station so perfect if you are travelling by train. The hotel was designed by Brunel (of the Clifton Suspension bridge and SS Great Britain) so was another added attraction. It is close to the station and shops so ideal for tourism but this means it comes with some noise - but if you are booking a hotel in the middle of a city I would suggest that is to be expected. If you want peace and quiet you should be looking for somewhere in the country.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleNHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Just returned from a weekend trip with friends and cannot find anything negative to say about this hotel. I found the service, staff and cleanliness of the rooms outstanding – the bathrooms are spotless (we had three rooms – so a reasonable cross section). The staff are warm, friendly and helpful and the food is excellent, very well cooked and presented. The hotel’s proximity to the station and all main attractions of Bath make it ideal for a weekend break without the need to drive, so ticked all boxes for us. We are already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobb296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Royal Hotel in Bath and, unfortunately, were not very impressed. On the plus side, the room was clean and the bed comfortable. The reception staff were very friendly and it is in a central location.

However, I would suggest that the photos on the hotel website are rather misleading as the room we were allocated was absolutely tiny and the wallpaper was peeling a bit in places. The bathroom window didn't fit the frame properly and rain water had leaked inside soaking the bathroom floor causing a strong musty smell. The hotel is clearly poplular with hen and stag parties, so we definitely wouldn't recommend it for a quiet, relaxing break. We were kept awake most of the night by a hen party staying on our floor which the hotel seemed to do little to manage. The food at breakfast was ok, but my husband ordered some toast which arrived completely burnt. Overall, it definitely wasn't worth the money we paid and we wouldn't stay here again or recommend others to do so.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Guest
I was disappointed to read you were not impressed with The Royal.
Every room at The Royal is different in shape, size and design. Some are standard, superior or
Four poster rooms all at different price ranges.The one you saw on our website is a superior room,
which is larger than the standard room you stayed in. All rooms have been refurbished, as have the
shower/bathrooms and are continually maintained. I have checked the room with my maintenance man and we can find no trace of peeling wallpaper. The recent heavy downpours have caused the
bathroom window to swell thus causing seepage on to the bathroom floor during heavy rainfall.
This has now been rectified and I do apologise. Had we known about this issue , we would have dealt with it immediately. I can assure you we are not popular with hen or stag parties and we would
not knowingly accept such a party because of the fear that they may upset other guests.When you
called the night porter from your room to report noise, he dealt with it immediately and the noise
stopped.Once again may I apologise as you should not have had to do that.
I am baffled as to why your husband was served burnt toast at breakfast. All of our toasters are
programmed to toast at a medium level and all staff are instructed never to serve overcooked toast.
It did happen and it should not have and I do apologise.I am delighted that you found the staff friendly.
the hotel clean and the bed comfortable. I do hope that you will decide to give us another try should
you decide to revisit Bath.

Kind Regards

Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed overnight while on a driving tour and were very pleased with the well appointed room and bathroom with terrific modern shower. Room was clean and bed comfortable. Best thing though is the location to Bath shopping area and Roman baths all within an easy walk. Staff were friendly and arranged for us to leave our hire car in a designated parking spot at the rear of the hotel for a nominal fee. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Idleroam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights Mon and Tues. As previous reviews state, hotel staff friendly. We did a deal which included afternoon tea glass of champagne and entry to thermal spa. Afternoon tea=2 scones and cup of tea (bit disappointed), glass of champagne is what it is, and finally thermal spa=entry to 2 pools, one on roof one in doors and entry to steam capsules, we felt it was just entry to a swimming pool and a tad over priced. Had a great meal at Jamies Italian and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff here at The Royal Hotel.
With respect to your Spa break we offer a champagne cream tea here at the hotel as part of
the package. Included in our package are a selection of Twinings tea or fresh ground Lavazza coffee,homemade scones, Devon clotted cream and Frank cooper strawberry jam. The champagne is Taittinger, which is one of the top champagne houses in France.Also included in your 2 hour spa visit are complimentary towels, cotton slippers and a selection of quality toiletries, which are not offered by any other hotel of the same standard here in Bath.Our spa breaks are extremely popular and are perceived by the majority of guests as offering excellent value for money
and an enjoyable experience. As a Tourist destination, the Thermae Spa has brought considerably
more visitors to the beautiful city of Bath.

Kind Regards

Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

After having stayed frequently at Mercure, Novotel and Holiday Inn, me and my wife decided to forget about the points and choose a non-branded hotel for a change.We initially booked using hotels.com, then realized there was a great deal on the Royal Hotel website. We paid £268 for 2 nights in a superior double room, with breakfast on both days and a 3 course dinner for one night. The value for money according to me was quite impressive - the fact that the hotel is a 3 star should not be put into consideration, and I shall explain why.

When we arrived at the hotel, there was a bit of queue, but the reception staff was quite cooperative - arranged for the baggage to be dropped in without having to go through too much details or formalities or wait in queue. When we later arrived at our room, I was honestly impressed - size of room, decor, upholstery, complimentary items, welcome treats - you name it, it was there. In the last 2 years, I have had to literally live off hotels due to the nature of my work as a consultant, and I generally tend to find some sort of flaw within the first 15 minutes, or something that's missing. The room at Royal Hotel had all the stuff we needed for a 2 night relaxing break. Have a look at the bedroom photo(s) I have uploaded to see for yourself.

Other aspects of the hotel that are worth noting:
1. Brunel Brasserie - 9 / 10. Food is great, period. The only item I couldn't find in the continental buffet was cheese, but didn't bother asking. I'm sure they would've arranged. The staff are extremely polite, and speedy. The dessert menu has some pretty decent items too - try the white choc-box :)

2. Hotel Location - 6 / 10. The location is a bit controversial - you're literally opposite the train station, like 15 steps away !! Therefore, you benefit from things like - buses will always stop there, people always know which way it is to the station, city center is stone throw away, food courts etc etc. The flip side is experienced at night. Double glazing in the room keeps noise eliminated to absolute zero. That's when you feel too warm - open the window, noise wakes you up. My second night was carried out in this iteration till 3 am until I got too tired to stay awake. Which is when I realized the room comes with cotton wool to put in your ears !!!

3. Hotel staff - 10/10. The staff is really friendly and cooperative. We never had anything to complain about in the first place, but any additional request we made were addressed promptly. Asked for dinner plate, wifi password, salt shaker in room, extra soap, DVDs for the TV etc. In particular the staff who managed our booking over the phone was very helpful - cancelled the booking made via hotels.com, re-booked under their terms, gave accurate information about the deal.

All in all, we were extremely pleased with our stay at the Royal Hotel and are already planning another visit sometime in the winter before it starts snowing. I hope the hotel maintains their high standards.

Room Tip: Ask if any rooms are not opposite the train station i.e. towards the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tawhid R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing