We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Quality Hotel”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Quality Hotel”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Decided on a whim to jump on the train and spend a night in Bath,we chose the Royal due to its location to the station,not knowing the layout of the city,we thought this would be a good choice as we could dump our bag and explore.We need not have worried as everything is on the doorstep,shops,pubs,restaurants,attractions,all within comfortable walking distance.

Check in was friendly and stress free,we were given the keys for room 204,we were more than happy with our room,decorated in a tasteful victorian style,with a canopy and pleated drapes around the head of a HUGE bed,good quality linen and pillows.We had double aspect windows overlooking the station (not a great view,but is city centre).We loved all the little extras,robes ,slippers,chocolates,biscuits,and my favourite,the caffietere with twinnings ground coffee (bliss).The bathroom was spotless! With both bath and shower,and once again all the little extras,besides the usual shampoo etc,we were provided with a sewing kit,shower cap and shoe shine kit.

Plenty of choice at breakfast,the main menu offers,cooked breakfast,kippers,smoked haddock,eggs benedict,unlimited tea and ground coffee.

TIP- The night we stayed,we had the windows open and due to the proximity to the station,you will experience some noise (bing bong,the next train to arrive etc).Also night time revellers chatting and laughing on there way for taxis.This did not bother us at all,and did not affect our sleep quality.But if you are sensitive to external noise,it might be worth asking for a quiet room.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Royal and would definately stay again

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdmakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    383
    135
    43
    33
See reviews for
159
576
79
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Lovely warm reception on arrival, nothing is too much trouble for the staff. we met our family who were over from Australia. there isn't a single negitive thing to be said about this hotel. The rooms are clean, comfortable and fresh looking, great pillows! the reception area is a great place if you just want to chill out and have a coffee, chat to friendly staff who are very informative of all the different locations available to visit which are right on the doorstep. The restaurant is excellent, what a choice of food and again the staff who serve breakfast, lunch or evening meals have all the time in the world for you, meals are hot too. I never comment on my stay anywhere , dont miss out on staying at this fine hotel, i will be making my next booking very soon. DIOLCH YN FAWR ( THANK YOU IN WELSH) .....

Room Tip: Just ask the friendly staff when booking, they will cater for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton-upon-Trent, Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We booked the Royal Hotel for a short break to celebrate our 10th wedding aniversary. The location was excellent for us as we travelled by train - directly opposite the station - with all the major shops across the road and stops for both bus sight-seeing tours (highly recomended) outside the door. The room was very nice, comfy bed and spotless bathroom. The staff were very helpfull. I had contacted them earlier in the week to arrange for flowers to be delivered and everything went very smoothly. Breakfast was very nice with a bit more choice than usual, including kippers - always a winner for me. When we go back to Bath we will certainly be stopping at the Royal again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ICB_Burton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Have just stayed for 2 days in this hotel. The decor is fresh and the staff are friendly and very professional. All the staff were wonderful from my initial call to reception to see if i could place a booking and we were able to also book car parking at the rear (only 6 spaces) which is not available if you book via a website. The restaurant staff were happy to bring more toast and coffee at Breakfast and more bread at the evening meal (to mop up the delicious sauce with the mussels). The rooms were clean and in good order with comfy beds. Even the cleaner was very friendly and happy with a lovely Scottish accent. They were able to accomodate my son's need (he has autism and a limited diet- which i arranged over the phone). One item of note was the fact there was also a cafetiere and tin of ground coffee in the rooms - a very nice touch! It is very central just across from the station so perfect if you are travelling by train. The hotel was designed by Brunel (of the Clifton Suspension bridge and SS Great Britain) so was another added attraction. It is close to the station and shops so ideal for tourism but this means it comes with some noise - but if you are booking a hotel in the middle of a city I would suggest that is to be expected. If you want peace and quiet you should be looking for somewhere in the country.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleNHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Just returned from a weekend trip with friends and cannot find anything negative to say about this hotel. I found the service, staff and cleanliness of the rooms outstanding – the bathrooms are spotless (we had three rooms – so a reasonable cross section). The staff are warm, friendly and helpful and the food is excellent, very well cooked and presented. The hotel’s proximity to the station and all main attractions of Bath make it ideal for a weekend break without the need to drive, so ticked all boxes for us. We are already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobb296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Royal Hotel in Bath and, unfortunately, were not very impressed. On the plus side, the room was clean and the bed comfortable. The reception staff were very friendly and it is in a central location.

However, I would suggest that the photos on the hotel website are rather misleading as the room we were allocated was absolutely tiny and the wallpaper was peeling a bit in places. The bathroom window didn't fit the frame properly and rain water had leaked inside soaking the bathroom floor causing a strong musty smell. The hotel is clearly poplular with hen and stag parties, so we definitely wouldn't recommend it for a quiet, relaxing break. We were kept awake most of the night by a hen party staying on our floor which the hotel seemed to do little to manage. The food at breakfast was ok, but my husband ordered some toast which arrived completely burnt. Overall, it definitely wasn't worth the money we paid and we wouldn't stay here again or recommend others to do so.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Guest
I was disappointed to read you were not impressed with The Royal.
Every room at The Royal is different in shape, size and design. Some are standard, superior or
Four poster rooms all at different price ranges.The one you saw on our website is a superior room,
which is larger than the standard room you stayed in. All rooms have been refurbished, as have the
shower/bathrooms and are continually maintained. I have checked the room with my maintenance man and we can find no trace of peeling wallpaper. The recent heavy downpours have caused the
bathroom window to swell thus causing seepage on to the bathroom floor during heavy rainfall.
This has now been rectified and I do apologise. Had we known about this issue , we would have dealt with it immediately. I can assure you we are not popular with hen or stag parties and we would
not knowingly accept such a party because of the fear that they may upset other guests.When you
called the night porter from your room to report noise, he dealt with it immediately and the noise
stopped.Once again may I apologise as you should not have had to do that.
I am baffled as to why your husband was served burnt toast at breakfast. All of our toasters are
programmed to toast at a medium level and all staff are instructed never to serve overcooked toast.
It did happen and it should not have and I do apologise.I am delighted that you found the staff friendly.
the hotel clean and the bed comfortable. I do hope that you will decide to give us another try should
you decide to revisit Bath.

Kind Regards

Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed overnight while on a driving tour and were very pleased with the well appointed room and bathroom with terrific modern shower. Room was clean and bed comfortable. Best thing though is the location to Bath shopping area and Roman baths all within an easy walk. Staff were friendly and arranged for us to leave our hire car in a designated parking spot at the rear of the hotel for a nominal fee. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Idleroam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#13 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing