We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“extremely rude receptionist. tables reset for breakfast around you during dinner, very unwelcoming.”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2012

booked for two nights dinner but after the dining room staff being more interested in getting ready to go home, resetting tabled for breakfast around us, despite them giving us a 9pm booking, we cancelled the second.
when the bill was incorrect the receptionist was not only rude but aggressive.
shame that the customer service let the fabulous building down so badly.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jwb1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
recp, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Guest

This review has me baffled.
Breakfast tables are only laid up when the last dinner guest has left the restaurant, never before then.
It is impossible to envisage any of the receptionists being rude. It is not in their nature and I would
not tolerate it from them.

Kind Regards

Mike MacDermid
Genera Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

991 - 997 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

We have now eaten at this restaurant 5 times and are unlikely to do so again. I am vegetarian along with a proportion of the population, and we are very poorly catered for. There is a pasta meal which is poorly described and is tasteless. The following evening there was the same meal and a mushroom rissotto meal. As these are usually overly full of mushrooms I looked for something else - even an expanded starter, but no luck. It would be so easy to extend the menu. We were told that the menu is only changed every few months so good luck to any vegetarians who wish to eat there!
My partner commented that the Men's toilets on the ground floor were absolutely disgusting, and there were no hand- drying facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Tricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
recp, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for dining with us on several occasions. Our menu which is featured on our website has
10 starters of which 6 are vegetarian. The main courses have a selection of 13, of which 2 are
vegetarian. On reflection I believe we should increase that number. We regularly change the menu
in line with the seasons and we are always happy to accommodate guests if they have a particular
dish they would like us to cook for them. Provided they give the chef advanced notice to ensure he
has all the ingredients. Our toilets are thoroughly cleaned every night and they are constantly
checked by management throughout the day. The gents toilets have 2 hand driers located next to the sinks and they are in perfect working order.
We sincerely hope to see you both back at The Royal.

Kind Regards

Mike MacDermid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Staff very friendly and helpful. Our room was right on the corner by the traffic lights so was quite noisy, but as the hotel is a city hotel this type of noise is to be expected. We booked for bed breakfast and evening meal. The meals were all lovely, well presented and tasty. Our only comment is that the menu was not very big and was the same for the 5 days we were there.
Hotel recommended but maybe think about going out in the evening if you are there for longer than a night or two and want variety in your food.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Decided on a whim to jump on the train and spend a night in Bath,we chose the Royal due to its location to the station,not knowing the layout of the city,we thought this would be a good choice as we could dump our bag and explore.We need not have worried as everything is on the doorstep,shops,pubs,restaurants,attractions,all within comfortable walking distance.

Check in was friendly and stress free,we were given the keys for room 204,we were more than happy with our room,decorated in a tasteful victorian style,with a canopy and pleated drapes around the head of a HUGE bed,good quality linen and pillows.We had double aspect windows overlooking the station (not a great view,but is city centre).We loved all the little extras,robes ,slippers,chocolates,biscuits,and my favourite,the caffietere with twinnings ground coffee (bliss).The bathroom was spotless! With both bath and shower,and once again all the little extras,besides the usual shampoo etc,we were provided with a sewing kit,shower cap and shoe shine kit.

Plenty of choice at breakfast,the main menu offers,cooked breakfast,kippers,smoked haddock,eggs benedict,unlimited tea and ground coffee.

TIP- The night we stayed,we had the windows open and due to the proximity to the station,you will experience some noise (bing bong,the next train to arrive etc).Also night time revellers chatting and laughing on there way for taxis.This did not bother us at all,and did not affect our sleep quality.But if you are sensitive to external noise,it might be worth asking for a quiet room.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Royal and would definately stay again

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdmakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Lovely warm reception on arrival, nothing is too much trouble for the staff. we met our family who were over from Australia. there isn't a single negitive thing to be said about this hotel. The rooms are clean, comfortable and fresh looking, great pillows! the reception area is a great place if you just want to chill out and have a coffee, chat to friendly staff who are very informative of all the different locations available to visit which are right on the doorstep. The restaurant is excellent, what a choice of food and again the staff who serve breakfast, lunch or evening meals have all the time in the world for you, meals are hot too. I never comment on my stay anywhere , dont miss out on staying at this fine hotel, i will be making my next booking very soon. DIOLCH YN FAWR ( THANK YOU IN WELSH) .....

Room Tip: Just ask the friendly staff when booking, they will cater for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We booked the Royal Hotel for a short break to celebrate our 10th wedding aniversary. The location was excellent for us as we travelled by train - directly opposite the station - with all the major shops across the road and stops for both bus sight-seeing tours (highly recomended) outside the door. The room was very nice, comfy bed and spotless bathroom. The staff were very helpfull. I had contacted them earlier in the week to arrange for flowers to be delivered and everything went very smoothly. Breakfast was very nice with a bit more choice than usual, including kippers - always a winner for me. When we go back to Bath we will certainly be stopping at the Royal again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ICB_Burton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Have just stayed for 2 days in this hotel. The decor is fresh and the staff are friendly and very professional. All the staff were wonderful from my initial call to reception to see if i could place a booking and we were able to also book car parking at the rear (only 6 spaces) which is not available if you book via a website. The restaurant staff were happy to bring more toast and coffee at Breakfast and more bread at the evening meal (to mop up the delicious sauce with the mussels). The rooms were clean and in good order with comfy beds. Even the cleaner was very friendly and happy with a lovely Scottish accent. They were able to accomodate my son's need (he has autism and a limited diet- which i arranged over the phone). One item of note was the fact there was also a cafetiere and tin of ground coffee in the rooms - a very nice touch! It is very central just across from the station so perfect if you are travelling by train. The hotel was designed by Brunel (of the Clifton Suspension bridge and SS Great Britain) so was another added attraction. It is close to the station and shops so ideal for tourism but this means it comes with some noise - but if you are booking a hotel in the middle of a city I would suggest that is to be expected. If you want peace and quiet you should be looking for somewhere in the country.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleNHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,313 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £115 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing