We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel. Highly recommended”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel. Highly recommended”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Stayed in this hotel with my mother last weekend for my birthday. We stayed as part of the Spa Break which included dinner for the both nights. Our room on the third floor was very nice - comfy beds, good variety of teas/coffees etc and the bathroom towels were the fluffiest I've ever known in a hotel. The breakfast was excellent - choice of cereals, juice etc and a good varied choice of hot food cooked to order. Some interesting breakfast choices that you would not usually be offered including Eggs Benedict which was delicious. It was good that they gave you the spa tickets on arrival and had left the towel and slippers in the room as it meant you were all ready for your spa visit. We chose to take our Champagne cream tea after our spa visit - the warm scones were fabulous. Dinner each evening was also excellent with a good choice of dishes. The staff were helpful and efficient. The hotel location was also excellent as it is directly opposite the railway station and the bus/coach station is next to this.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    382
    135
    43
    33
See reviews for
158
575
78
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corse Lawn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

If you want good old-fashioned personal service then this is the place to stay - but remember - this hotel traces its roots back to I.K. Brunel and the railway he built over 170 years ago, and thus reflects that era in layout and design. Soak up the atmosphere in the bar - the comings and goings of people passing by for a quick drink before catching their train. Our evening meal in the restaurant was excellent - a minor glitch with the vegetables was promptly and efficiently dealt with. Much more fun staying in hotels like this rather than modern, boring and predictable "chain" hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We chose to stay at the Royal Hotel on 7th April as it was our wedding anniversary and we wanted to visit Bath again. We booked a superior room which was very nice, very traditional. The room was very clean, the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was spotless and had a wonderful power shower.The staff were all very efficient and as they all seemed to be local were very knowledgeable. Special mention must be made of the receptionist she was so friendly and welcoming. We ate in the restaurant and the service was excellent, the food very good. Breakfast was just as enjoyable. We paid for a parking space which was very reasonable and we could leave the car until 1pm the following day, which is a bonus in Bath. We hope to visit Bath again soon and will definitely return to the Royal.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We have just returned from a weekend break at The Royal Hotel in Bath...Fri and Saturday nights.We had a superior room (309) which was HUGE,clean quiet and all you could ask for to get away.The staff-without exception-were lovely, helpful and friendly....Emillie and Mike deserve a special thanks as they were the ones we had most to do with.But they were all a pleasure to deal with-the housekeepers also went out of their way to help me choose a room for our next stay!!! But only as I wanted a smaller room-as I am not a lover of zipped beds.The hotel is old and antiquated, but not tired or tatty.If you are looking for clinical or modern, book into a travel lodge.Our room was overlooking the train station, but even though we live in a rural area, we were not disturbed in any way-from traffic or people.
The food, was sublime...really....It was all so good! We had a spa package-beware-the SPA gets incredibly busy and you may have to queue for an hour or more! so go early or avoid weekends??? We are saving our tickets for our next trip....The deal included a cream tea and champagne.So we went into the bar, which was heaving!! and yet it wasn't too much trouble to get it for us, and it was lovely,fresh and HOMEMADE. The service was wonderful, and everyone treated you as if you were the only guest. We can honestly say, we look forward to returning for many years to come.
It is also very close to visit all of the city-Debenhams is across the road, and links right into the heart of everything-so no need to have a car as its all within walking distance.Book a car parking space in advance if possible-as space is limited.But only around the corner if needed.
Thanks to all and see you in the Autumn-can't wait :0)

Room Tip: King size bed means zipped 3ft beds-if you don't mind
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed in a superior room on 4th & 5th April 2013. At first I thought the room was a bit dated but on reflection it's in keeping with the 'traditional' style of the hotel. I think the price reflects the fact that you are in Bath City Centre, yes for £120 a night you can get much nicer rooms but NOT in Bath city centre! The room was fine, if a little hot but we managed to get the window open. The only complaint with the room was the floor boards were SO creaky, those in the room above us were too! It didn't spoil anything just made us nervous of making too much noise walking to the bathroom in the night! Now for the rest.... the receptionist, Emily, was a joy, so happy, obliging, knowledgable and friendly, absolute first class service. The restaurant...I booked a dairy free diet, at breakfast not only did they provide Soya milk but dairy free margarine as well, NEVER had that in any other hotel, milk yes, margarine no, always had to take my own but not here. Breakfast was lovely, service first rate. Evening meal, they altered my menu choices to provide a dairy free version, it was delicious and again, service was great. You have to book one of the few parking spaces, we managed to book for one night £8, but had to go to the nearby car park for the second day/night, that was £12, note, the clock stops from 8pm to 8am, this is not clear, so if you park at 5pm and want to stay until 11am that is 6 hours.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pedestrian crossing which is constantly beeping!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomersetSueTaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torquay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I Booked this hotel after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. I travelled by train with my elderly mother so the location was ideal. When we arrived it was too early to check in so we left our cases and found somewhere for lunch. The hotel is well situated for places to eat for lunch or alternatively it seemed popular itself for lunch.
When we returned to the hotel to check in it was smooth and quick. We were given all the information we needed and asked if we would like to eat in the restaurant that night and a table was booked for us. My mother is a diabetic so her spare insulin was put in a fridge for her.
The food was excellent and of good quality and always hot. There was plenty of choice for both breakfast and the evening meal. We ate in the restaurant twice and had a bar meal once.
The room was close to the lift as I had requested and had an efficient shower. the room had central heating that was controlled in the room which was ideal as we chose the coldest three days to visit Bath.
The hotel is well situated for all the sites and we used the city tour bus which stops outside the hotel.
We intend to visit Bath again when the weather is better and will definitely stay at The Royal.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front so therefore some noise. Once we went to bed we were not disturbed by it,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valmTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in March 2013. The staff were very nice, friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Stayed in a twin room with large ensuite. The special touches like a bottle of wine and mineral water in the room were lovely. The room was very clean. Proper feather pillows on the very comfortable beds which is always a thumbs up from me. Proper sized bath towels in the bathroom.Very good location. Just opposite the railway station but didn't hear any noise. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1966diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing