We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Central Location”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2013

My partner and I stayed at The Royal Hotel last month for a weekend break. We had room 109 the four poster which was very comfortable and a nice room to spend any time in. There is an ensuite bathroom with bath and shower over, toilet and sink. When I am away its a real treat to spend time in the bath reading. This bath was lovely and big with the taps in the middle. The only down side was that on one occasion at about 6.30pm there wasn't enough hot water. Such big fluffy bath robes too. We really appreciated having lots of tea and coffee facilities and a cafetiere in the room and fresh coffee was a treat.
One of the best things about this hotel was the reception staff and barman. They made us feel very welcome and that nothing would be too much trouble. The bar was well stocked for my whisky loving partner.
Breakfast was good and it was nice to try Eggs Benedict as I have never had it before.
Yak Yeti Yak Nepalese Restaurant is just a few yards up the road and we would highly recommend it. We did however have a lot of trouble on the Saturday night finding somewhere special to eat as all the highly rated places on TripAdviser were fully booked. So although there are lots of places to eat nearby I would suggest you plan ahead.
Very central location. Only a short walk to the Roman Baths and nice shops.
We came by car and had to pay a fair bit to park each day which was definately a downer but if you come by train its perfect as it is literally on the other side of the road to Bath Spa Station.

Room Tip: 109 is a four poster on the main road side (road not a problem with windows closed, in the warmer mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandSallyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

841 - 847 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2013

Excellent hotel with second to none customer service. Warm and friendly welcome from all the staff from arrival and throughout the whole stay. We stayed in a 4 Poster Room which was very luxurious and spacious and very good value for a 2 night break with included breakfast and a 3 course meal in Brasserie Brunel, which was fantastic too. Perfect location for visiting all of Bath's wonderful attractions, all within walking distance of the hotel, including the Thermae Spa, Jane Austen Centre, Royal Crescent and all the shops and Restaurants.

Room Tip: The lift is very small so choose 1st floor and use the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue210413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This was an excellent choice in hotel for me. Being my first time in England from America, I was nervous. I was greeted warmly at the reception desk by Zoe (without a y) and given tips on the best places to sightsee and eat. The room was better than I had imagined and the breakfast was very good. The hotel is a good HQ for getting around. Near a lot of shopping as well as the train and bus stations. While you can take the many possible transports through the town, I found the best way was walking and the location of the place made it easy. A truly enjoyable stay and a great welcome to England. Thank you Zoe and Mike for helping me.

Room Tip: Find out how much time you will be spending in your room. I only used mine for short breaks and slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Excellent service from booking on the phone with Charlotte and on arrival Emily was very helpful.
The food was very good with a good selection at dinner and breakfast.Are room was excellent very spacious cleaned to a very high level.The Hotel has character and not to big,just a short distant to Roman Baths,Thermae Bath Spa,and New Shopping Center just around the corner.
A very pleasent stay excellent service and yes good value

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nalawop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Excellent location for this Hotel, right on the edge of the shopping centre, lots of restaurants and a buzzing night scene.
Hotel was fantastic, staff very pleasant and helpful, and the food was brilliant. Breakfast superb - all food in the lovely restaurant. Hotel has a lot of character, built by Isambard Kingdom Brunel.
Short walk to the Roman Baths, the Thermae Bath Spa, and the Abbey. Slightly longer, but still not far, walk to the Royal Crescent and Circus.
Tip - park in Station Car Park just across the road, currently £6.90 for 24 hours, and you can pay by phone if you can't be bothered to go back to your car! We left the car all weekend as plenty to do within easy walking. Great coffee and cake shops too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenryandMarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We had originally gone to the Bailbrook Lodge (this is their sister hotel) this was a big disappointment so we transferred to here. We were shown a standard room and a premier room to choose from. They gave us a good deal with the price and we chose the premier room. The receptionist was extremely pleasant and helpful. Her name was Zoe, throughout our stay all reception staff were as nice and friendly too. She was sorry we had trouble with the other hotel but did her best to settle us in quickly.

Room was spacious and very clean, Nice little extra touches like toiletries, bathrobes and slippers etc. Cleaning staff very pleasant and friendly. Rooms cleaned to a very high standard every day. Bathroom was airy and modern. Rooms were warm and secondary double glazing made it fairly quiet considering you are in a city.

Very well located for exploring Bath. Parking is not good as if you cannot book with the hotel (very limited spaces) then you need to park in the train station car park. There is another car park near to the hotel with charges.

Food at hotel is very good, breakfast has lots of choice and staff are very nice. In the evening you can have a meal deal for the restaurant but you can also just pay from menu as required. They do a 3 course special for £12.95 which is quite good value.

All in all a very pleasurable stay and we will be going there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eddon1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I took my mother on a Spa Break with Champagne cream tea from 10 - 13th April 2013. The hotel was brilliant. The receptionist, Emily, could not do enough for us. From our arrival to our departure, we received excellent service. Our cases were taken to our room without us having to ask, which may seem a small thing, but it shows the high service level and the care staff took. The staff took an interest in what we were doing and were able to add tips which added to our enjoyment. This was particularly helpful when we were planning our visit to the Thermae Spa.

The Superior bedroom was extremely comfortable. The hotel was able to move us to a room with a shower rather than a bath, which was very helpful as we both have mobility problems.

The restaurant was excellent. All courses were of the same excellent standard and the menu choices were sufficiently varied for us to be challenged for choice every evening. The breakfasts were well prepared and again, the choice was excellent. Everything was very fresh.

The champagne cream tea was a highlight, It was great fun to be presented with the champagne. The scones were to die for. They were excellent, some of the best I have ever tasted.

Overall, I would highly recommend The Royal Hotel for value for money, comfort and care.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margi_levy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £123 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing